Mina

I have loved Mina since I was a tiny little girl. Yeah, really. I’ve been a ‘Dracula’  fan since I was 6. (Don’t scare me with Nosferatu, though.. woah, that was creepy!) and lucky me ended up with another ‘Dracula’ fan!

 So Mina’s on the table. I had Wilhelmina on the list last time around and she shows up at least somewhat frequently on my girls lists but honestly? She’s only there for her Mina potential. And I started thinking, “why not just Mina”? Which is the point of this post.

Mina is strong, the littlest bit sweet and clear, crisp and lovely. I think she’s aces and really don’t mind her next to Josephine in whole. It’s unusual to say the least.  And Josie &  Mina/Fifi & Mina/Posie & Mina/Poppy & Mina?  Can’t resist! 🙂

I like her with Alice & Lucy, so here’s what I’ve come up with in the last hour or so. If you like any of them, feel free to tell me!

 

Mina Alice Clementine
Mina Alice Clothilde
Mina Alice Minerva
Mina Alice Cleopatra (I figure she can’t hurt too much in third place, can she?)
Mina Alice Bluebell
Mina Alice Raphaela
Mina Alice Magdalene

And these:
Mina Lucy Eleanora
Mina Lucy Tamerlaine
Mina Lucy Raphaela
Mina Lucy Bluebell
Mina Lucy Clotilde

 

 I have several favorites, I love the feel of  Mina Alice Bluebell (I don’t think Bluebell in third place is going to cause any problems, really) and the bright crispness of Mina Alice Clothilde.

Conversely, I like the depth of Mina Lucy Raphaela and the clear feeling of Mina Lucy Clotilde.  (yes, I pretty much adore Clotilde with any spelling.   But I’m willing to hear any arguments for any others, if you’re so willing to put them forth. 🙂 What would think if you ran into a Mina?  Still trying to find something that rivals Maud India Scarlett, since she will be moving to #1 shortly if I can’t find anything that thrills me just a little more.  Would someone help? 

As always, Thanks !

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 16:53:13

    I like Mina. I think it works as a full name and is pretty enough. Of your combos, Alice Magdalene and Lucy Tamerlaine strike me. What’s Tamerlaine? I think I’ll need to know if it’s legit before I make a call. I think Magdalene lends the combo a good weight; Mina can get a bit flighty without a good grounding, and Alice is very airy to me too.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 17:33:41

    Well, Tamerlaine is an alternate spelling of Tamerlane, which is Historical. Tamerlane will be found at BtN, if you’re bored.

    Mina Alice Magdalene is rather nice, And Lucy Tamerlaine’s one of his favorites, easy, but I’m still fighting for Mina Lucy Raphaela, I think Raphaela’s lush and heavy and grounds Mina very well. And overall gives me a vampire sort of feel, Victorian too. She’s rapidly turning into a favorite because of that. Mina Alice Is giving me fits because I like Magdalene, Bluebell Cleopatra (The first name I ever wanted to rename myself, is it fair that one historical B**** ruins it for all time?) And Clothilde.

    I think Mina Lucy___ is going to be the clear winner, at least tonight, anyway. Mina Lucy Raphaela gives me shivers she’s so lush!

    Reply

  3. Channelle
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 02:30:17

    Ooh, Mina is a favorite of mine, so much power packed into such a tiny body! I actually prefer Mina Alice over Mina Lucy. Altogether Mina Alice just sounds more… innocent maybe? It just feels right to me, like they belong together. My favorites are Mina Alice Cleopatra, Mina Alice Bluebell, and Mina Lucy Raphaela. All three are so different feelings, Mina Alice Cleopatra sounds more dramatic and rich to me, where Mina Alice Bluebell sounds more sweet and lighthearted, almost like the tinkling of little bells, very melodic. And Mina Lucy Raphaela sounds so spicy and svelte. I think my favorite is Mina Alice Bluebell. All three names just seem perfect together.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jan 25, 2009 @ 12:40:41

      🙂 Mina Alice Bluebell is sweet and very lightweight. I think she’s a bit too light for me, actually. I think if I was to stick with Mina Alice, it would have to be Mina Alice Cleopatra as Cleopatra is not only one of my very favorite names, sh grounds pretty well/is solid next to the light and airy Mina Alice. My favorite is definitely Mina Lucy Raphaela. Very much so now.

      Reply

  4. Bree
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 14:30:45

    I like Mina Lucy Eleanora 😀

    ~Bree

    Reply

Leave a Reply

