And now for something completely different!

Tavish. Scottish Thomas. Thomas is off limits in my house thanks to the numerous alcoholics named Thomas still staggering around.  But Tavish would honor my favorite of the sots (he really is a sweet guy, even soused) and neatly sidesteps the “You named him Thomas” thing, I’d likely get from family.

 I’ve got him paired with my two favorite classics, Edward & George and several of my favorite oddballs. Here for your perusal, Tavish.

 

Tavish Edward Finian
Tavish Edward Lysander
Tavish Edward Albion
Tavish Edward Alaric
Tavish Edward August

Tavish George Peregrin
Tavish George Rohan
Tavish George Maxfield
Tavish George Gavriil
Tavish George Maximilian

 

I like all of these for various reasons, Finian because he’s dashing next to Tavish Edward, Lysander because he’s one of my favorite Shakespearean characters, Albion because I love the over English feel of the combo, Alaric because I love all things Medieval and he goes quite nicely here, August for Mom, as always. Peregrin because it’s slightly more masculine than Peregrine, for me and still is recognisable as my favorite LOTR character (non human, anyway). Rohan because he’s sleek and I love saying him (Rowan, not Ro-HAN), Maxfield for my favorite artist, ever, Gavriil for Great Uncle Gavriil and Maximilian just because I love his overblown style. 

 

So there you have it. Anything jump out at you as pretty neat? Let me know!  Thanks!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. appellationmountain
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 14:30:24

    I love that Tavish made your list! Tavish Edward Finian gets my vote – just for his dashing sound! Tavish George Gavrill is a close second – quirky AND classic. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 14:43:27

    Thanks Verity! I’ve got him stewing on the possibilities too. Funny you picked to of his three favorites (Tavish Edward Albion’s his third). I think Tavish is just funky enough to suit him and the middle stabilises him some for me. This is going to be a fun compromise name! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Cat
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 16:50:45

    Tavish isn’t my favorite, I must say. I didn’t comment over at ApMth yesterday (must do that next!) but it’s not my thing at all. Reminds me of dervish and I don’t care for the sound. That considered, I like Tavish Edward Lysander best, probably because Edward Lysander was an old combo of mine, wasn’t it? Tavish George Maxfield is my fave of the Georges; the flow just seems right.

    Reply

  4. Emmy Jo
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 23:51:39

    Hi! I love your Tavish combos. I’m most drawn to Tavish Edward Finian. My second favorite is Tavish George Maxfield.

    I started my own blog a couple days ago and just finished a post that includes Alaric (so it was fun to come over here and see Alaric on your list, too). Here’s my brand-new blog, if you want to see it:

    http://muchadoaboutnaming.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  5. Lola
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 09:55:17

    Thanks Emmy Jo, You nailed my favorite, Tavish George Maxfield. TEL is my favorite Edward combo and TEF is his. Hmm, time to flip a coin!

    Reply

  6. Channelle
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 02:44:49

    Tavish is really nice! I only like Thomas because I adore the nickname Tam, I think Tavish nickname Tam would be really cute. I think Tavish George sounds better than Tavish Edward, though I love Edward a teeny bit more than George. I say Tavish George Maxfield (is Maxfield for Parrish? He’s my favorite! I have a copy of Ecstasy in my bathroom, and Stars in my bedroom! And another one that I bought at an auction, that I think is his, but can’t find the name of it!) I also really like Peregrin in this combo, but Tavish George Maxfield feels very distinguished.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jan 25, 2009 @ 09:18:36

      Yes, Maxfield’s for Parrish, I have ‘Aquamarine’ in my living room & ‘Reservoir at Villa Falconieri, Frascati’ in my bedroom! What looks like Parrish could also be Alphone Mucha, their styles were very similar. Mucha’s a bit more polished where Parrish was a bit more open & airy. But they do look similar! Thanks. If Tavish is staying on the list, he’s going to be Tavish George Maxfield. He’s my favorite and I don’t think he’s very sold on him just yet. So I’ll push. 🙂

      Reply

  7. chaneltara
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 11:16:24

    It could be a Alphone Mucha, I’ll have to look. I went through every Parrish work of art I could find and couldn’t find this painting, it’s driving me crazy. It’s the same feel as a Parrish, of naked women sitting around in an airy like place with pillars, but these women are chubby, and I can’t seem to find it. Thanks!

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jan 25, 2009 @ 11:23:17

      Hey, no problem. 😀 Chubby could defintely be Alphonse Mucha. His women generally are chubbier than Parrish’s. But try googling a description of the painting. You’d be surprised what sort of answers you’ll get.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

