The Official Girls List!

After three weeks of neverending name discussions we have a tenative girls list!
And boy, do I mean neverending. They start before breakfast, ” Which do you like better, Poppy, Penny or Nell”. Continues throughout the day in texts/chat/email, “What do you think of Philippa Andromeda”? and winds down over supper, “I still like Maud, could we give her initials that spell it out”? So I’m happy to report that from here on out, it’ll be a less intense discussion. 🙂

The list has 7 names plus 2 wildcards, one for Him (1) & one for me (2). Without further ado, the
‘Official’ Girls List!’

Penelope Juno Alice
Cecily Pandora Jane
Beatrix Juno Frances
Winifred Elinor Plum
Elspeth Scarlett Jane
Ottilie India Violet
Jemima Lucy Frances

(1) Philippa Guinevere Alice
(2) Clementine India Jane

Noot a bad set of 9,if I do say so myself. What do you think? Aw, c’mon, you know you wanna say something!

As always, thanks for reading! 😀

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meryl
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 05:54:21

    I love Ottilie India Violet! India Violet conjures up such exotic images, and with vintage Ottilie it has a lovely old-world charm too. Beatrix Juno Frances is another great set. I also love Cecily, Winifred (esp with the nickname Win) and Clementine. However, while I like the look and sound of Pandora I couldn’t bring myself to use it. It just reminds me too much of Pandora opening the forbidden box and unleashing disease, famine and disaster upon the world.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 08:24:55

    Sorry, Meryl, Pandora stays. It’s his Mom’s name. She doesn’t go by it, but is rather tickled that we’ve put it in the middle. 🙂

    Thanks for the props on Beatrix & Ottilie. Ottilie’s the one I worry about. She seems hard to deal with on a daiily basis. But goodness, I love her! My Winifred would be Winnie, Win only if I’m feeling very lazy verbally. Clementine’s *my* love. He’s not so thrilled with Clementine though, so she sits on the *wildcard* list, along with the Philippa combo *I* am not a major fan of. Funny though, I just yesterday ran a poll at behindthename.com, running off Clementine India Jane & Philippa Guinevere Alice. Cleo came in ahead of Pippa by something like 1 vote. So at least I know they both are about equal.
    But thanks for stopping by & for commenting!

    Maybe you’d like to take a peek at my boys list? 😀

    Reply

  3. Names4Real
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 10:04:22

    Love Penelope Juno Alice, Ottilie India Violet and Clementine India Jane. No wonder you are having a hard time deciding.

    Good luck!

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 12:59:08

    Thanks Names4real! I figure it’ll be easier to decide once we either know which we’re having or when we see him/her for the first time. We’ve never failed to finalise a choice yet! Sometimes it takes awhile, but before our 3 days are up, we’ll figure it out.
    But wow, I guess we’re going to have to take the whole list with us yet again! Thanks for the votes on Penelope, Ottilie & Clementine! I appreciate it!

    Reply

  5. rockingfetal
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 21:47:05

    Huge congrats on the pregnancy! How exciting! I saw your Clementine post on AM and hurried over here to see. 🙂

    Clementine is my very favorite name right now, but I’m not sure I’ll ever convince him of it. 😦 Beatrix is our ultimate compromise name, and Penelope, Winifred, Maud, and Frances have been tossed around tons too. Ottilie is another I can’t convince him of, and I fell in love with Philippa a few months ago. I’d try to add it to the list, but I think it’s just bad with Willa. I think Winifred (that one seems a little close for comfort with Willa too.) would be my favorite for you, but I’d obviously love any of these.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Apr 22, 2011 @ 09:25:53

      Thanks Trisha! We’re pretty excited ourselves. Never thought it would happen.

      Clementine’s a true love of mine. It’s been on my list for what, 5 years now? I’d just about kill to use it. I’m mulling the differences between Beatrix Juno Frances & Beatrix Io Frances. Juno seems easier to live with but I just may go with Io because she pleases Him so! Lovely compromise name! 😀

      Winifred’s a huge pleasure for me. A lovely Aunt. My waffle? She’s still alive and my general rule is “dead or deader” to repeat a name. But I find her so appealling!

      For you, I’d definitely agree Winifred’s too close to sweet Willa. Maybe Flora? Frida? That’s what Winifred’s likely to be called here: Freda/Frida. I think Frida’s awesome!

      Thanks so much for stopping by! 😀

      Reply

  6. Charlotte
    May 02, 2011 @ 11:20:24

    Hi there huge congratulations on the pregnancy. Me too so I will be paying even more attentoin to your blog. Clementine India Jane is my favourite (delicate but not in a wimpy way) but what happened to Maud? I love Maud. Husband thinks it sounds like a fat old lady but I think of Maude-Clare and Christina Rossetti.

    Reply

  7. Sara
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 23:23:35

    I’ve been following your blog from time to time for the longest time. I would have found you when I googled my daughters name to see what came up. Ottilie Winifred, she’s 3 1/2. We use the French pronunciation of Ottilie – sounds like utterly with an O, I think I have read somewhere that you prefer the German pronunciation more like Oh-till-ee-uh. Most of the time we call her Ottie – rhymes with Lottie. Sometimes she decrees she’s “Winnie today”, sometimes we call her ‘Fred Legs’. One of our dear friends always calls her Lottie, the grandparents always refer to her as Ottilie. I, of course adore her and her name and love the people gush so much over it though there are no others around. The only thing I didn’t count on (and perhaps it’s just an Australian/slacker thing ;0) is how many people don’t pronounce the t’s and call her “Oddie” – you know, like Garfield’s dog! That said, I wouldn’t change a thing.

    Unfortunately I am personally scared by a Philippa (Pip) of days gone by but apart from that I would gush at every single one of your choices, they are just to die for and I could only wish that everyone put as much thought into their child’s name that they will carry forever, as you do! I mean, Winifred Elinor Plum…..how YUMMY!!

    I wish you well!

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jul 12, 2011 @ 05:33:32

      why, thank you Sara! your daughter has a fabulous name, herself. The list, as is still stands but we’re having trouble keeping one. Bear with me/us as we work on it!

      Thank for commenting. I too wish that people spent a little more thought in their kids names. Being a Yank, I fear yet another Madison Rose or Makenzie Grace!

      Reply

  8. Andrew Martin
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 23:54:54

    Beatrix Juno Frances
    Jemima Lucy Frances
    Clementine India Jane

    are my favs from your list. congrats on the pregnancy btw.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

