Philippa redux

After Elisabeth so helpfully (and eloquently!) pointed out that Philippa Guinevere Alice sounded like she lived in a library with a dozen cats, I went digging for less heavy, more appealing pairings.

I found half a dozen that appeal for various reasons. If you’re at all familiar with me, you’ll know why. So without further ado, The Philippas:

Philippa Saffron Alice
Philippa Lucy Godeleve
Philippa Saffron Jane
Philippa Frances Loveday
Philippa Ruby Llanfaire
Philippa Ruby Valentine
Philippa Io Violet
Philippa Juno Adele

So, what do you think, any winners there? There’s at least two I really like and one I can live with. Wanna guess which ones? πŸ˜€

As always, thanks for stopping by and reading!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda
    Apr 24, 2011 @ 16:13:42

    Philippa Juno Adele just captured me! I think the flow is wonderful and I love Juno and Adele. Runners up for me are Philippa Frances Loveday and Philippa Ruby Valentine.
    Great Choices πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Apr 24, 2011 @ 18:33:47

    Thanks Amanda! So does my other half. All those goddess names really float His boat! Adele is the one name that I just love. He can’t stand it, says it’s “too simple” *sigh* that’s exactly what I like about Adele! So my offering was the two paired. Philippa’s his love. I find her a bit too choppy for me (I’d rather Penelope). But I’m humoring him.

    Philippa Ruby Valentine is one of the ones I love. Ruby honors me (it’s mybirthstone). I think it’s time to get a little ‘me’ in there! Thanks!! πŸ˜€

    Reply

  3. English Kate
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 18:06:55

    I found myself watching a documentary about the impending Royal nuptials the other night (the nation has gone completely raving Royal Wedding mad or maybe that’s day-off-work mad – I can’t quite decide!) anyway they mentioned Kate Middleton’s sister Philippa – known as Pippa and that got me thinking about Philippa…

    I know she’s far more unusual to the American ear but we’re not exactly overrun with Philippa’s over here either and I do love her sound so I’m delighted to see Philippa appear on your list Lola πŸ™‚ I think I like the light sound of Philippa Saffron Alice the most, but then I do have a penchant for Alice in the middle spot. Philippa Io Violet has a spring in her step too.

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 08:45:30

    Oh, Kate! Philippa Saffron Alice is hands down my favorite combo! I’d rather Philippa Alice Saffron, ideally but philippA Alice is hard to say.
    So Philippa Saffron Alice she stays!

    Io is one that *really* apeals to Him. One of his favorite of the lesser goddesses. I should be happy. At least it’s not something like Aphrodite He loves. Io’s clean and spare while remaining pretty and clearly feminine.
    In case you pop back, canI have your thoughts on Imogen Ottilie Frances, nn Io?

    And the Royal Wedding! I can hardly wait to see. I was a kid when Charles & Diana married (and I watched that) and was about 13 when Will was born. Yeah, I’m old! πŸ˜€
    I heard something on the radio this morning about trees being dug up to line the way to the ceremony and then after, they’ll be replanted. Struck me as a fabulous idea, and I can barely wait to watch! (it’ll be the middle of the night here but I’ll still watch!)

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

  5. neschria
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 10:25:18

    Philippa Frances Llanfaire… Totally not on your list, but hey. And I know it is ‘F’ heavy, but I have a thing for fricatives.

    Reply

  6. Andrew Martin
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 23:43:32

    Philippa Frances Loveday
    Philippa Ruby Llanfaire
    Philippa Ruby Valentine

    those are the ones that stood out to me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

