Weirdness

Or maybe just free thinking today. Cat mentioned  that my Maud India Scarlett is different from everything else on my list (which may be why I’m thinking of bumping her to first place, I love her to pieces) so I started really looking at my lists and went digging.  I adore Maud, always have. I remember my first baby doll, I was 3 and she was supposed to be Goldilocks in a blue nightgown and a crade. I promptly reanamed her Maud. My mother asked me why Maud? I don’t remember saying anything but Mom used to say I said “because it’s the most bea-u-ti-ful name in the world!” Which does sound like something I would have said as a kid.  I accentuated words oddly when I was little. Enough of that!

 

 I found several names that repeat on my lists that feel like Maud to me: Zelda, Edith, Esme, Mina, Clio/Cleo, Lucy, Genevra.  So I went digging some more to make combos with those that  felt more like Maud India Scarlett and this is what I came up with:

Edith Esme Violetta
Zelda Ivy Blithe/Zelda Eleanor Odetta
Mina Imogen Odette/Mina
Clio Laetitia Plum/Clio Laetitia Isobel
Lucy Gwendolyn Isadora
Edith Genevieve Blithe
Genevra Ruby Mehitabel
Cleo Portia Isolde
and
Mina Alice Rosamonde

I’m particularly fond of the Minas,  the Clio/Cleos and the Ediths. Zelda intrigues me here too.  I know they don’t”go” with Josephine overmuch, but remember, she does go by Fifi at least half the week, so I think they do fit somewhat.  What do you think? Any better? Maud India Scarlett is definitely moving up my ranks, why not one of these?  Or have I gone loopy? 😀

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Jan 21, 2009 @ 15:56:09

    I don’t particularly mind Maud with Josephine, but let’s just say I’d feel shafted that my sister got a more versatile and more widely liked name. I think Zelda and Lucy best match Josephine, but my favorite combos are Clio Laetitia Plum and Edith Genevieve Blithe. They match Josie’s name in beauty, I’d say. The first names are much shorter, but they have nice, flowy names in the middle and it makes up for it. I’m very charmed by both combos, I must say!

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Jan 21, 2009 @ 16:30:40

    Wow! I thought you’d hate most of these because they are a bit more OTT than I usually go, but Ken helped me with a few of these. It’s nice having him home in the middle of the week once in a while. 🙂
    What do you think of Zelda Ivy Blithe over Zelda Iris Grey? Or am I just thinking Zelda too hard again?

    I must admit, Clio Laetitia Plum makes my heart stop. Really. I think she’s gorgeous and I would kill to use her. I’ll have to casually mention her, don’t know if he’ll like her nearly as much. He was very anti-Clio when I was pregnant with Josie. He’s much more accepting this time around, as a nickname for Clementine, but I wonder if he will for a standalone? Hmmm, supper conversation! 😀

    If I had to list my top three:
    Clio Laetitia Plum, Mina Alice Rosamonde & Edith Esme Violetta (I can excuse this OTT one because Esme & Violetta can be used for honoring purposes).

    Reply

  3. Channelle
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 02:21:08

    These are beautiful. I love Maud, and I think you are spot-on with choosing names that have the same feel as Maud.
    My favorite is without a doubt Mina Alice Rosamonde. I love Mina all by itself, and this whole combo is stunning really. I also love Genevra Ruby Mehitabel. I love how the spunky Ruby balances this combo out so well. I adore the name Edith (one of my great-great-grandmother’s name was Edythe, I love this spelling), and Edith Esme Violetta is just lovely. I would love Edith Esme Valentine/Valentina a bit better, it adds some spice to it.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jan 25, 2009 @ 10:24:50

      Thanks, Channell. 😀 I’m rather partial to the Victorian laced up feel of Mina Lucy Raphaela and think she’s the keeper. Feel free to steal Genevra Ruby Mehitabel, I doubt she’ll end up on the list, He doesn’t like Ginny. She’s equal to Henry for him. Edith Esme Violetta is one I’m going to try to sneak onto the list, I like her quite a bit. Ottilie here bea out Ottoline, and Clio & Mina are definitely going on the list somewhere.

      Reply

  4. chaneltara
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 11:10:40

    I would love Genevra Ruby Mehitabel, but not sure if I could use it yet. Erik really wants to use his mother’s name, Virginia with the nickname Ginny. I might just steal Mina Alice though. I couldn’t find anything to pair with Mina that sounded right, and then Alice, which I was just so-so about, just clicked!

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jan 25, 2009 @ 11:18:54

      Maybe he’d be amenable to Genevra, nn Ginny, seeing as how the nickname/outcome’s the same? maybe not. My guy thinks outsede the box far more often that I’m comfortable with but I can sympathise in the opposite direction too. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

