Elspeth redux

I’ve been loving Elspeth, nn Elsie forever, it seems. I’d thought Elspeth Scarlett Jane was pretty perfect. Sweet, lovely Elspeth, spunky Scarlett, refined Jane. But the more I said it, the more I thought ‘I can do better’.
So I went digging and found a few that appealled a bit:
Elspeth Juno Violet
Elspeth Guinevere June

and then I stumbled upon perfection:
Elspeth Iris Guinevere.

Irises were my Grandmother’s favorite flower. She had them all around the house. When I was 11, Grandpa died and Grandma moved. Before she did, I asked her for some Iris bulbs from the yard. I got a dozen. And I brought them with me when we moved north. I now have a hundred purple Irises ’round the yellow house! It looks so lovely in the Spring.

Granted,*if* this one’s a girl, (or a boy), it’ll be born in early November. Irises aren’t around then but the thought is still nice. 🙂

Guinevere charms Him,who’d rather Guinevere/Gwen up front/. She’s too much for me in front, but I can handle her as a middle. Hence Elspeth Iris Guinevere.

What do you think? I’d love to hear any thoughts.

And, as always, thanks for stopping in and reading!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stace8383
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 04:15:45

    Wow, that is a lovely set of names! I just stumbled across this post because my daughter’s name is also Elspeth. 🙂 Best wishes with your pregnancy!

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jul 03, 2011 @ 22:09:48

      Thanks a million for stopping by, I think Elspeth is an absolutely beautiful name and one that will age well with a girl. After all, I grew up with a Great Aunt named Elspeth/ Elsie, so I’ve already known an ‘old lady’ with the name ! Yours is adorable!

      Reply

  2. Author
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 16:32:31

    I love Guinevere in the first name position, I’d use nick name Winnie personally, rather than Guen/Guin. Though I’d like to keep an eye on the Guen/Guin names I can see them becoming very fashionable, especially after small increases in popularity this year.
    Elspeth is nice too, as is Iris, but I always expect a Scottish connection with the former.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jul 30, 2011 @ 16:52:19

      thanks Sarah! The surname’s verra’ Scottish, so all blends well. I too prefer Winnie over Guin/Gwen but He dislikes unintuitive nicknames, says Guinevere’s “Winnie” is more a “Wennie” or a “Wendy”. Wendy’s actually very appealing to me, and Wendy from Guinevere beats Wendy from Gwendolen right now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

