The Merits of My Boys

My boys. I love them dearly. There are days I think I was really meant to be a mother of just boys. I am not a girly girl and I have one. It can be trying at times. ๐Ÿ˜€

So I’ve really been stewing over boys names, These are the ones that not only have approval, he wants them near the top. But he can’t tell me which one he likes best, so I want some honest opinions on these 5 that are absolutely going to be ordered 1-5.

Barnaby Edward Rex – Barnaby is so happy!ย  I actually like Barney but my lazy tongue will most likely make him Barns/Barnes more often. There’s also the Bex possibility, should he end up as jazzy as his big brother Simon. I adore Rex but think the world’s not ready for him upfront, so here he resides next to Edward for my Uncle.

Rufus Wilder John – Rufus is just a love of his. He can definitely see himself calling for Rufus, playing with Rufus, tucking Rufus in. Wilder is His Aunt’s surname. His Pop’s sister. It’s the closest we can get to honoring his Pop’s side of the family (His Pop was beyond awful to him and caused a lot of problems that took a long time to work through & past). So Wilder it is. Stan’s sister was Agatha, and I love that enough to put on the girls list, at least as a wildcard, but her surname pleases me on a boy immensely. And John is for Him.

Cosmo Henry Dashiell – Cosmo was my Great Granddad. What a cool guy he was too.ย  I love Cosmo’s open, airy sound and the way he looks. I do not care if anyone links it to Kramer, the mag, the drink or the word Cosmopolitan, Cosmo is definitely staying.ย  If I’d thought a bit more when I was pregnant with the boys, one of them would be Cosmo, probably Leo.ย  Iย  love Cosmo. Henry was his Grandpop and Dashiell just feels snazzy with them both, doesn’t he?ย 

Cassius Barnaby Rex – Cassius strikes him as a strong and He-man sort of name. Most of the -us names give me that He man feel (Ignatius notwithstanding)ย  so I concur and let him be. Barnaby’s my fun sounding name. I adore him. If I could make Rufus Barnaby Edward work for him, I’d be happy. Unfortunately he thinks Rufus Barnaby is a bit OTT. I think it is too, but it would be a solution to our minor dilemma here.ย  I like Cash too, as a nickname, at least once n a while.

Alasdair Barnaby George – Alasdair charms me to my toes. He’s warm, friendly (not as friendly as Barnaby, but that’s why he’s the middle!) and charming. And sounds awesome with the three syllable Mac surname.ย  Barnaby, well, I think I’ve gone into enough detail about him, I don’t want to bore anyone. ๐Ÿ™‚ย  George is one of my favorite classics, really, I swear. It reminds me of St. George, who sat on my Pop’s dresser for decades and is now on mine. So, George also reminds me of my Pop. Hence his inclusion here.ย 

ย 

So now you’ve seen why they’re on my list, what do you think. How should they be numbered? Which would you put in first, and why?ย  ย And most importantly, what do you think? Am I completely crazy? ๐Ÿ˜‰

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 11:51:09

    Rufus Wilder John is my favorite; I think it’s at once hip and familiar, mellow and rugged. The names balance beautifully and it’s not OTT at all.

    My second is Alasdair Barnaby George. I prefer Barnaby in the middle and the combo has the right amount of stern vs fun.

    Third is Cosmo. I think green-haired dimwit fairy myself, and I think the name isn’t as easily wearable as Rufus and Alasdair. However, I like it better than Barnaby and the combo is nice and grounded.

    Lastly, Barnaby. I’m not fond of it in the first spot and Rex isn’t my thing. I think it could work but I also think the other combos are more handsome.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jan 19, 2009 @ 17:03:35

      Thanks Cat! Looks like he wins this round then. Rufus Wilder John does sound pretty cool, now that I step back & really look at him in all his glory. Wow, I hope he can live with us squares! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Reply

  2. Kate
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 18:11:00

    Alasdair Barnaby George is my favourite, gosh isn’t he handsome! But I can totally see you with a Barnaby or a Rufus and both would go smashingly with the sibling set. What’s more, the combinations of Barnaby Edward Rex and Rufus Wilder John are delightful, truly. To echo Cat’s sentiments, I would happily let you name my children if for some reason I couldn’t! Honestly though Lola, as I read this it feels like your edging further towards Barnaby, correct me if I’m wrong?!

    Just a thought, what about Barnaby Edward Rufus?!…

    Reply

  3. Kate
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 18:13:50

    On second thoughts I think it’s better as Barnaby Rufus Edward and now that we’re on the subject I don’t think it’s too OTT if you really want both those names. That said, I really like the restraint of Rufus Wilder John and Barnaby Edward Rex. Fat lot of help I am!

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 19:14:28

    ๐Ÿ˜† Kate! yeah, I’m sunk deep into Barnaby. I love saying him and really don’t mind Barney (but as I said earlier, He’d most likely end up Barnes because I’m lazy verbally). I think the combos will stand, as-is just because we actually agree on them as-is. It’s turning into a draw between Barnaby & Rufus, with Cosmo in third, just because we like the other two a teensy bit more. But Cosmo’s been on the list for nearly three years, I can’t bring him any lower without feeling awful. I’m still not happy with his combo and am thinking again, Cosmo Willem George, possibly. *sigh* and to think, the boys are easier! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply

  5. Lydia
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 22:06:42

    Hi Lola! I found you through Appellation Mountain, and I’ve been lurking here for quite awhile. It’s baffling how similar our tastes are! Especially when it comes to girls; I have a lot of your top female names somewhere on my short list too. As others have said before me, I’d certainly have you name my kids if I couldn’t! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Anyway, my favorite out of those is Cassius Barnaby Rex. Ever since reading Shakespeare’s Julius Ceasar at the age of fourteen, I’ve been in love with Cassius (despite the fact that my crazy English teacher insisted on pronouncing it like Cass-ee-us. I much prefer Cash-us, and I hope that’s the pronounciation you’ll use). The meaning does deter me a little bit, but hey, if people can name their kids Mary (bitter) and Emily (rival), why not Cassius (empty/vain)? I love Barnaby with Cassius, I think it balances out Cassius’ slightly overbearing masculinity with all it’s peppiness and happiness. I’m not crazy about Rex, myself, but it sounds alright in this combo.

    Rufus is a close second. It sounds tough and happy at the same time, if that makes any sense. I’d love to meet a little boy named Rufus. Barnaby and Cosmo’s combos are a tie for third place for me; I love Barnaby and the nickname Bex is adorable, and Cosmo is very handsome. I actually know a man named Cosmo; he’s Greek and has a very cheery personality to match his name. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  6. Lola
    Jan 20, 2009 @ 08:47:00

    Hi & welcome, Lydia! Thanks for the Cassius vote, yes cash-us is how we’re saying it. Julius Caesar is where I first fell in lve with Cassius too. My family’s huge on all things Shakespeare. I suppose I should post about the “Shakespeare game” we play. When it comes to meanings, I generally don’t worry about them if I’ve got another assocation. How cool you know a guy named Cosmo! It was my Great Grandpop’s name and I think it’s awesome. Cheerful and strong. I also can clearly imagine it on a grown guy (All I have to do is look at Leo!) But he loves Rufus, so we just may end up with a Rufus. (Red hair does run in the family, we just haven’t been lucky enough yet) Thanks for stopping by and speaking up, I appreciate it! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply

  7. Channelle
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 02:04:33

    This was a hard decision, if it was based on first names, I would choose Cosmo, obviously, with Barnaby (I love Barney) and Alasdair a close second. If we are talking combos, for some reason I’m not 100% feeling any of the complete combos. I like all the parts, just nothing sings to me as a whole. I wish your combo was Cosmo Barnaby Alasdair. I love that! They are all handsome though!
    Rufus Wilder John is quite handsome and very balanced, very hip.

    Reply

  8. Catherine
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 08:42:36

    Hi, just wanted to say hi and proudly announce that I have a Barnaby George! I love Cosmo and go on and off Rufus.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Mar 26, 2009 @ 08:45:37

      Congrats! Isn’t Barnaby grand? ๐Ÿ˜€ Barnaby George is very handsome indeed, Enjoy him!

      Thanks for the votes for Cosmo & (sort of) Rufus. They round out my top three!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

