The Shakespeare Game

Thought I’d post this since it comes up so often when I mention Shakespearean names.

When I was little, my Grandmother and her sister May used to hate doing the dishes, so their mom came up with this to get them to work it out equitably and to get them to read (as well as do a chore!). Whomever is washing gets to quiz; quote a line of Shakespeare and the dryer has to guess where it’s from, bonus points if they can tell who said it and extra bonus points for act and line. It makes us re-read our Shakespeare quite often and keeps us laughing while we do the dishes. A weird but fun game from our family, to anyone who wants to start doing it themselves.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate
    Jan 20, 2009 @ 17:09:29

    Love it Lola! But alas I’m not sure my younger brothers will be as enthralled! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Lydia
    Jan 20, 2009 @ 18:17:30

    I’d love to play this, but I doubt my family would be worthy opponents. None of them have read more Shakespeare than they were required to for school. Worthless knaves. 😉 We’d probably alter it a bit and quote lines from episodes of 24 or something. 😀

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Jan 20, 2009 @ 19:06:05

    Anything that gets the family talking and doing something at the same time’s a grand thing for me. Doesn’t matter if it’s Beverly Cleary books or as you put it, Lydia, episodes of ’24’ Bonus points for knowing who said it and when! 😛

    Reply

  4. Channelle
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 02:09:17

    This is fun. My mother read “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn” when she was younger, and took it to heart-the part where the main character’s mom read one page of Shakespeare’s greatest works and the Bible each night to her children and that’s what I did growing up. We read Shakespeare and the Bible every night, so I grew up with Wills. I have a great respect for him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

