Margery Elspeth-Elspeth Margery

I mentioned this combo a few days ago on Cat’s blog. And of course, that made me start thinking again. As if I’m not already up to my ears with girls names I like and can’t choose between!   😀  So anyway,  I’m trying a few combos out with this pair. Margery Elspeth or Elspeth Margery. I can’t decide which way I prefer it. Margery would be Daisy as it’s the one Marg- nickname that hasn’t been used yet in the family or maybe Pearl once in a  great while. Elspeth is for my Elisabeth, which was for Grandma. Elspeth would likely get Lily (again, for Grandma) or Elsa/Elsie or maybe even Bess. I like them both together, either way I turn them. I added a second middle but still can’t decide which way I like them. See, here:

Margery Elspeth Jemima
Margery Elspeth Lenore
Margery Elspeth Primrose
Margery Elspeth Louisa
Margery Elspeth Violet

Elspeth Margery Jemima
Elspeth Margery Lenore
Elspeth Margery Primrose
Elspeth Margery Louisa
Elspeth Margery Violet

 

And now you see my dilemma, I like them both ways! Margery Elspeth Violet in particular and Elspeth Margery Primrose.  The Jemima ones I almost want to flip again and make them Jemima Elspeth Margery or Jemima Margery Elspeth, but that’s a whole different post, apparently. 

I think Elspeth fits with Josephine the tiniest bit better, but That doesn’t make me like Margery any less. Margery’s been my favorite form of Margaret for years. I have a cousin named Margery that I haven’t seen in at least 20 years  (one of the many hazards of a great big family).  And the possibility of the lovely medieval Margery, nn Daisy is almost too pleasurable to bear.  So sweet yet grows up well.    Elspeth charms me. I find her strong with a storybook feel. Not much, just a touch. I think it’s the -speth that does it. I think Bess is my favorite nickname for any of the Elis/zabeth variants and Elis/zabeth. Bess charms me with her bounce and verve, yet feels soft and ladylike. My Mom would approve of Elspeth, nn Bess  I bet.  Lily &  Elsa/Elsie would be alternatives like Fifi & Posie are for Josephine.

So you see my dilemma. I couldn’t decide flipping a coin.  Anyone want to help me decide? I’d appreciate it greatly!  😀

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paige
    Jan 18, 2009 @ 13:23:10

    Elspeth gets my vote: she’s unusual, pretty, and a tad fairy-tale sounding, in a good way. I’m not the biggest Margery proponent, but I do like the spelling Marjorie. And Margery nn Daisy is extremely appealing!
    My favorite combos of yours are Elspeth “Bess” Margery Violet and, in 2nd place, Elspeth Margery Louisa. Very classy 🙂

    Reply

  2. Cat
    Jan 18, 2009 @ 13:40:27

    Margery Elspeth is darling, like I said before, although I do love it flipped as well. I think Lenore fits best in the end, but Violet does equally well and adds a bit of spunk. Actually, I think I like Violet there better. Adds a punch of color.

    Jemima Elspeth Margery/Margery Elspeth is absolutely lovely! I think I like it better in the latter incarnation, but it’s great!

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Jan 18, 2009 @ 17:18:08

    He just spoke up for Margery Elspeth Violet. He particularly likes Elspeth Violet, says his Mom will have fun saying that. So despite my liking for Elspeth, it may very well end up like this. Maybe Elspeth Margery Violet instead… nah, I think I like Daisy better than Bess, Lily or Elsa. And maybe Daisy-Bess once in awhile? ooh, I like that!

    Reply

  4. Channelle
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 01:54:07

    My favorite is probably Margery Elspeth Violet. It has such a pretty flow and feeling. I prefer Margery over Elspeth, it’s so sweet, and Daisy is an adorable nickname. Daisy-Bess is just adorable, like Daisy-Boo, but less sickening.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jan 25, 2009 @ 12:43:02

      Thanks Channelle! Margery Elspeth Violet is our fave too. I like the possibility of Daisy Bess over Bess- Daisy. And I can easily picture Daisy on a girl of mine. I can picture Bess too, but prefer the Daisy in my head picture.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

