Jemima

I’ve been thinking about Jemima a lot recently. I think it all started with me thinking twinny again (they do run in the family and I’ve already had one set.. so I figure, potentially planning isn’t an awful thing to do).  So I asked him what he’d name girl twins. He said Clementine & Jemima.  Which surprised me. They’re sweet, but have history as a grownups name and I like the thought of Cleo & Mimi when they’re small. Why not?  (Boys we already know would be Rufus & Cosmo).

 

Now, I have a Clementine combo I am completely happy with: Clementine India Jane, so that’s not where my head went. It headed for Jemima. Where I have a combo: Jemima Frances Ruby.  I like her sentiment but I’m not sold, entirely, on her feel.  So I went digging again. And came up with a very few that I *do* like:

 

Jemima Romilly Elinor
Jemima Louisa Caroline
Jemima Lucy Maud*
Jemima Elinor Blythe
(And of course: Jemima Frances Ruby)

I really like Jemima Lucy Maud. I have had Lucy Maud together in other combos (Ottoline Lucy Maud, Agatha Lucy Maud, Araminta Lucy Maud, Cecilia Lucy Maud, Matilda Lucy Maud, Sibyl Lucy Maud) But I think this one is where she shines. 

 

Well, now you know which one appeals most to me! Which of these appeals to you, most?  I’d love to  hear thoughts on them! 

As always, Thanks a million!  😀

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Apr 19, 2009 @ 04:46:04

    I would have to agree about Jemima Lucy Maud. Definately my favourite of the Lucy Maud combos and the Jemima combos.

    I know just how much you love Maud and I think this might be her perfect spot!

    I actually think she might be one of my favouites from all your combos ever. Except for Phillippa Mimosa Jane and Clementine India Jane she is probably the best match with Josephine.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Apr 19, 2009 @ 09:24:47

      Thanks Sarah! I think Jemima’s awesome, she’s at #3 right now. Philippa’s just not working out for us, so if you want to steal it, feel free. I would love to see someone use her!

      I think you hit upon exactly why she appeals so much, she’s an awesome fit with Josephine. 😀

      Reply

  2. Baby Name Brainstorm
    Apr 19, 2009 @ 05:57:36

    Clementine India Jane is definitely a winner. As for Jemima, my favourite from your list would have to be Jemima Louisa Caroline. I think that Louisa in particular is thematically compatible with Clementine. Clementine always reminds me of the song ‘oh my darling…’ So for me they both suggest a kind of country-western feeling.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Apr 19, 2009 @ 09:34:11

      Funny, I get a more polished vibe from Clementine. Probably becuase Clementine Churchill comes to mind first. The song is a tiertiary thought. Oranges come before the song.

      At least the song doesn’t bother me. 🙂 I have songs with my name in them, Josephine has at least a dozen (and that doesn’t count the ones that have Josie in them!) so what’s one more? I figure it’s a nice link between all of us. A country western vibe on the East Coast (We’re in New England) is a funny one! 😀

      Thanks for stopping by Lachlan! How things with you? Hopefully good!

      Reply

  3. Emmy Jo
    Apr 19, 2009 @ 11:23:33

    For me it’s a tie between Jemima Lucy Maud and Jemima Frances Ruby. As Sarah said, I do think it’s a great place for Maud — she feels bright and happy in this combo instead of old and fusty.

    I do like Jemima Louisa Caroline, but I think it’s just because I’m fascinated by Louisa at the moment. I don’t think this combo is quite as good as the others.

    Jemima is really growing on me. I didn’t like it at first, but I think I’m sold on her now.

    If you wanted to annoy them, you could always call them Clem and Jem. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Apr 19, 2009 @ 12:55:32

    Thanks Emmy Jo! Jemima is one of those types of names that the more you think about it (or say it aloud/write it down) the more you end up liking it.

    I’m still liking Louisa, I just have to find a better place for her. It’s a close run between Jemima Lucy Maud & Jemima Frances Ruby too, Lucy honors Mom backhandedly, Maud honors Pop’s side, while Frances honors Mom directly and Ruby honors me (my birthstone). So it really is a tough choice. I do love Lucy Maud together and Frances Ruby is one I think might serve better in some other combo. I’ll have to dig in on that one, too! 😀

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

  5. Laura
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 05:37:49

    I like Jemima Lucy Maud, I think those names go well together.
    Suggestion perhaps of
    Jemima Lucile
    Jemima Pearl
    Jemima Alice

    But giving these suggestions saying the names out loud I love Jemima Lucy Maud I’m glad your ranking it high 😀 😀

    Reply

    • Lola
      Apr 20, 2009 @ 11:53:54

      Thanks Laura!

      Jemima Alice is one I tried out and ended up discarding. I just don’t like anything stacked up next to it. Jemima Pearl has some potential but I still think Jemima Lucy Maud’s my winner here. It just flows beautifully. 😀

      Reply

  6. Autumn
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 08:35:10

    Jemina Caroline and Jemina Elinor are pretty. I’m sorry though – I just really don’t like the boys names you listed. We have very different tastes. I wrote a blog Name the Kid Something Good about choosing baby names wisely and there are 3 cardinal rules that should be followed when choosing a name, check it out if you want.

    Reply

  7. Lola
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 09:54:39

    Thanks Autumn. 🙂 I’ve already named three kids so it’s not like I haven’t been exposed to possible teasing or freaking out over a particular name. I’m so not a fan of the -aidan names or the top 10, I hear them so often already they bore me to tears. I like what we’ve chosen as possibilities and don’t think they’re as horrible as yet another Zlayden (yep, I’ve seen one of those) and they’re not misspelled nonsense either. *shrug* so we have different tastes. That’s what makes the workd go ’round! 🙂

    Thanks for the votes for Jemima. She’s already been finalised and put on the list. 😀

    Reply

  8. neschria
    Apr 22, 2009 @ 20:28:49

    I am not normally a fan of Maud, but I do like Jemima Lucy Maud. I like Jemima Elinor Blythe even more.

    Reply

  9. Lola
    Apr 22, 2009 @ 20:58:25

    Well, I can ask him about Jemima Elinor Blythe, but he came down on Jemima Lucy Maud Like a madman, it was pretty cool, actually. “Lucy would honor your Mom’s memory, right? And Maud was your Great Grandmother… so I can have Jemima as a “fun”, right”? Too funny, watching him try to justify Jemima to me, as if I hated it. 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

