Cecilia/Cecily

My Babci was Cecilia (well, Polish: Cecylia, anglicised when she was 5). I have three cousins named Cecilia, none of them are actually related to her, their Grandpop married her second.  Celia, Ceil & Cecilia they go by. So I put Cecily on our list, as it’s one variation not taken. And in that instance, it’s like Josephine seeing as how she’s named after that Grandpop, Joseph and there are no other Josephines in the family, just 12 Josephs.  Odd, but true  (the one there was died when I was 14).

I’ve had Cecily Pandora Jane (Babci, His Mom, My Mom)  as a standing combo for at least half a year, if not longer. I still think it’s absolutely aces and love it to pieces. But I still like Cecilia quite a bit. It was nearly my name (Pop’s suggestion, Mom didn’t want to) which would have been funny because my very first school friend was a Cecilia (and she’s been my BFF since kindergarten),  whose Grandmother was a Laura (which is the name *I* got! Weird, no)? 😉

So I went digging. I knew I wanted to keep it mainly family, so Cecilia Violet was my first instinct.  And then I stumbled across Petronel again, Medieval Petronilla, which is from Latin Petronus, now Peter. And Peter was my Babci’s favorite brother.  So it definitely works with Cecilia in my mind. So Cecilia Violet Petronel is the overall favorite, so sweet & charming. What do you think of her next to Cecily Pandora Jane?

And just in case you think coming up with Cecilia Violet Petronel was easy, here are the other tries:

 

Cecilia Iris Adele
Cecilia Iris June
Cecilia Iris Valentina
Cecilia Iris Angelina
Cecilia Oona Rosemary
Cecilia Ivy Elspeth
Cecilia Ruby Jane
Cecilia Primrose June/Cecilia June Primrose
and

Cecilia Ivy Anouk

I still prefer Cecilia Violet Petronel over them all. I’m just not sure I like it better than sprightly Cecily Pandora Jane.   Either way she’d be Celie or Cece easily.  What do you think? Cecilia, to be one of now four or Cecily, to stand apart slightly?

 

And, as always, Thanks a million!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. neschria
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 15:53:59

    I prefer Cecily Pandora Jane over Cecilia Violet Petronel, but the latter is probably my favorite of your Cecilia list.

    Cecilia Ivy Elspeth and Cecilia June Primrose are pretty, too.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Apr 16, 2009 @ 18:21:53

    aww, thanks, Neschria! I think I’m going to keep Cecilia as an alternate for Cecily (they aren’t interchangable to me) just like I have Clementine & Cleo as alternates for each other.

    Nice to see that my Cecily love isn’t unwarranted! 😀

    Reply

  3. Jane
    Apr 17, 2009 @ 04:32:11

    My favourites on your list are Cecilia Iris Adele, Cecilia Iris June, Cecilia Ruby Jane and Cecilia Primrose June. I like Cecy as a nickname as in ‘What Katy Did’. I think just between the two first names though I find Cecily prettier, but I’m not really a fan of Pandora. Also, the meaning of Cecilia is not so nice.: (

    Reply

    • Lola
      Apr 17, 2009 @ 07:46:21

      Thanks Jane! Cecilia Ruby Jane may be an alternate for Cecilia Violet Petronel. Pandora’s not everyone’s cup of meatballs but it’s his Mom’s name, and I’d like to honor her if I can. She’s darling.

      You say you dislike the meaning of Cecilia and I don’t blame you. “”Blind” is not the most attarctive meaning. But she’s the patron saint of musicians (which means something to us) and Cecilia is a family name, which trumps meaning. And Cecily , as a variant of Cecilia, means the same thing!

      But I appreciate you stopping by, Thank you! 😀

      Reply

  4. Emmy Jo
    Apr 18, 2009 @ 14:11:38

    I love both Cecily and Cecilia. I think I like Cecily just a wee bit more, especially with Josephine. It’s so lively! And I do like that no one in your family has used it yet.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Apr 18, 2009 @ 15:59:05

      Thanks Emmy Jo! I appreciate the vote. I agree with you, I think I like Cecily just a little bit more than Cecilia too. And I definitely like that no one else in the family has used her yet! 😀

      Reply

  5. Laura
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 05:41:27

    Cecily and Cecilia are cute. I like Cecilia Iris but I’m not sure about Adele or June after are a bit of a mouthful, i like them but I’m not 100%

    Reply

  6. Lola
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 11:51:00

    Thanks for trying Laura! Cecily’s won this round, I’m certain. But Cecilia’s on the wildcard list as a “just in case” sort of thing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

