My “style”?

I am apparently all over the map, style wise. I really looked at my top lists the other day and was struck by the fact that I seem to have at least 2 separate styles. Weird and funky.  here, I’ve grouped them in similar piles:

Group 1
Maud India Scarlett
Ottilie Alice Ghislaine
Zelda Lucy Violet
Edith Zenobia Violet
Lilias Mehetabel June
Sylvie Mimosa Jane
Xanthe Iris Dorothea
Cleo Portia Rupinder
Cecily Pandora Jane

 

 

Group 2
Clementine India Jane
Jemima Lucy Maud
Lucretia Ruby Iris
Winifred Elinor Plum
Matilda Frances Ruby
Imogen Violet Jane
Beatrix Violet Jane
Euphemia Elinor Glory
Philippa Saskia Violet
Cecilia Violet Petronel

and those are just the girls!  I can do that to the boys too, to a lesser extent. See:

 

Group1
Rufus Wilder John
Remy Edward Xavier
Cosmo Henry George
Bruno Edward Rafael
Barnaby Edward Rex
Ignatius Edward George
Clarence Arthur Finlay
Caspar James Porfirio
Alasdair Barnaby George

 

Group 2
Arthur Henry Llewellyn
Oscar Valentin George
Linus Willem Bleys
Harvey Edward Augustin
Francis Henry Porfirio
Edward Balthazar George
Rafael August Anselm

 

So, do you agree, I’m mildly crazy? or do you see these in different groups?  Which group appeals more to you? Which ones? Anything really jump out at you up there? Let me know! 

 

And, as always, thanks for stopping by!  😀  

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Esme
    Apr 19, 2009 @ 16:21:31

    Are the Group 1s weird and the Group 2s funky? I’m confused! Well, although I love almost all of these names, I’d have to go with the Group 2s, simply because they feature my favourite boy’s name ever (Arthur) and my second favourite girl’s (Beatrix). However, I love Maud India Scarlett for you; if there was one combination to sum you up, it would be that!

    Ps. I feel a little embaressed asking this, but I’ve been desperate to know your son’s full names since you revealed Josephine Rosamel Anne (which is lovely, of course). If you wouldn’t mind sharing, it would be much appreciated!

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Apr 19, 2009 @ 16:29:42

    Yep, Group 1 is weird, Group 2 is funky! Thanks Esme! No beed to feel odd, The boys are: Leo Sebastian Coe & Simon Ambrose Nash. I don’t mention them overmuch because they’ve asked me not to gush online. So i try not to. 🙂

    Thanks for the ‘votes’ as they are. Lovely to see!

    Reply

  3. Emmy Jo
    Apr 19, 2009 @ 17:12:19

    I’m having a bit of a hard time seeing the division here. I think I see it in the girls’ names. The #1 list feels more oddball/edgy/spunky/short. The #2 list feels more old-fashioned/sophisticated/edgy. I think I like the #2 list better, but plenty of group 1 names and group 2 names would sound just fine in a sibset.

    I’m having a harder time seeing the distinction on the boys’ list. I would have put Clarence, Caspar, and Alasdair in with the group 2 names. And I probably would have put Rafael with the group 1 names. The group 1 names feel more continental/high-fashion/artsy/funky and the group 2’s feel more English/aristocratic/hipster/edgy. Does that make sense at all? I’ve probably confused the issue even more.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Apr 19, 2009 @ 18:19:36

      You got it for the girls! The boys are a little different. More like Uncommon/unusual/weird vs. Classic/familiar but not common/funky.

      Only Clarence straddles the line and may be more at home on group 2, but I think he’s got a funky edge that calls for him to be in group 1. Otherwise, Caspar & Alasdair definitely belomng where I have them, Alasdair is starting, just starting to get familiar but when was the last time you met a Caspar (any spelling)? 😀 See what I mean? And Rafael is definitely a group 2, I could go downtown to the big park and find not one but three of them, easily!

      And that’s sort of how they got broken down. Thanks for the thoughts though, you made me think a bit more about the whys of the boys! 😀

      Reply

      • Emmy Jo
        Apr 19, 2009 @ 18:21:37

        I HAVE met a Caspar. He was an English boy, the roommate of one of my good friends. He makes the name seem more usable and less friendly ghost to me.

      • Lola
        Apr 19, 2009 @ 19:59:58

        You have? AWESOME! 😀 Now that’s cool (and makes me see why you wanted to put him in the other group) . Last one I knew was a friend of My Great Uncle Bernát (Bernard). He was probably close to 90 when I met him (since it was his [the Uncle’s] 90th birthday party) And I was what, 10? Maybe 8? Somewhere in there. I haven’t seen or heard of one since!

        We do live in different areas, I’m outside of Boston. You’re apparently on the West coast.
        Oscar’s everywhere here, I swear I live in an Oscar hot zone! And there’s a 30 something Harvey, runs the comic book shop downtown.

        There’s a Linus down the street from me. Granted, he’s the Dad (of little Byron, whose little sibling will make an appearance in less than 2 months now)!

      • Emmy Jo
        Apr 19, 2009 @ 18:25:49

        And I think Alistair/Alasdair is very familiar, though it’s hardly used over here. I did actually meet an Alistair with this spelling two weekends ago. He was a college-aged Asian man working at the information desk of the aquarium in San Francisco.

        We’re probably from very different parts of the country. I’ve never met a Linus, a Harvey, or even a little Oscar.

  4. Esme
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 16:19:03

    Fabulous, thank you! Well, then, I shan’t mention them again :).

    Reply

  5. Bizzy
    May 17, 2009 @ 23:05:34

    I taught a five-year-old Caspar a few years back! His family was from Sweden, and he was such a handsome, spunky guy. It really made me feel like Caspar was totally workable IRL, and wonder where they all are! Unfortunately, due to the husband, I’ll have to settle for Jasper.

    I am pretty firmly in the funky camp, although I can appreciate weird, too. : )

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 18, 2009 @ 07:55:39

      That’s where the Caspar’s seem to be: Sweden/Finland/Denmark!. 🙂 Jasper’s nice, but mine associates Jasper with one of the bad guys in 101 Dalmations, which is a favorite in this house (I love Perdita!). So Jasper’s out for me. I have always waffled between Funky & weird! 😀 I’ll answer your email in a little bit.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

