The Kids at the Mall

Went to the mall this morning, to take advantage of some of the sales and these are the names I overheard while there:

Tyler
Jason
Larry
Penelope
David
Byron
Thomas
Liam                                                                                                                                   
Salvador
Anna
Petra
Lorelei
Diana (she was the sweetest little thing!)
Winnie
and
Troy

It was an interesting listen today, for sure!  (all spellings are assumed, I only overheard these, didn’t see them written down)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. appellationmountain
    Dec 28, 2008 @ 16:11:15

    Oh, I love Petra! And I’ve always wondered why there aren’t more Dianas out there.

    As for Lorelei? I think that name is going to be huge in the next few years.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Dec 28, 2008 @ 16:27:47

    I know! 🙂 For the most part, I was pleasantly surprised bt Diana. She was cute liitle brunette with tiny little pigtails. Petra’s neat but not for me. Winnie utterly charms me right now. I think I need to rethink Winifred!

    Reply

  3. youcantcallitit
    Dec 28, 2008 @ 20:09:12

    Oh I love Petra, Penelope, Lorelei, Diana, and Winnie! Good name day for sure. Byron, Salvador, and Troy are all handsome in their own way too, though not my style.

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Dec 28, 2008 @ 20:28:35

    Thanks for stopping by Elisabeth! I agree with you, the guys weren’t my cup of tea either, but I sure can appreciate that none of these were the Emily, Emma, Jacob, Michael variety!

    Reply

  5. JNE
    Dec 30, 2008 @ 12:45:15

    I loved Lorelei, but it screams Gilmore Girls to me. Still, it’s a pretty name that’s fun to say. I’m surprised to hear it out there – I haven’t heard it at all here in NC (maybe I don’t get out enough?) Petra is beautiful. It’s one of those names I love that the hubby just blocks out completely (too exotic, he says – really?) Penelope is lovely. Winnie too. But I am simply not a fan of Diana. I knew a lot of Di’s in the UK (I know it doesn’t need the apostrophe, but Dis looks weird). I don’t think it’s as “absent” a name there as here… maybe b/c of princess Di. In any case, it’s not a favorite of mine. Byron is nice. Surprised that I like it, actually. You ran across a Larry? That’s not too common with this generation I’d have thought… interesting.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Dec 30, 2008 @ 13:27:42

      I did think “interesting” with Larry. 🙂 to the point where I almost asked if he was really a Laurence/Lawrence! Mine doesn’t mind Petra (but makes petra-fied jokes) but really dislikes Penelope. He thinks it’s too sexy, of all things! Diana makes me think ‘princess’ too but you’ve got it pegged that we’re not quite so saturated on this sode of the pond. It sounds lovely over here. Stately and lovely. Byron lives nearby with his folks, we run into them in the nearby park at least once a week. It was fun seeing them in the local mall too. He’s a little blonde cutie. Lorelei’s one I cant warm up to myself. It definitely says “NOW” to me and I’m not so much a fan of “now”. I’d rather “then”, if that makes any sense. And I’m close enough to Boston to really hear all sorts of things. Next time we go into Boston, I’m sure I’ll have another list. And if we hit the North End, expect Irish & Italian!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

