Presenting: the Family Girls on my list!

Here they are, the Family names on the list:

Cecily: honors Babci Cecilia, who’s already been honored & in use by three different cousins, Cecilia, Celia & Ceil. Cecily is the only girly variant that hasn’t been used. I’m closer to the cousin Cecilia and think she’d be tickled to have a “namesake”, so to speak. I like that she’s three syllables and not common but familiar enough that she won’t get strange looks. Her combo: Cecily Pandora Jane, honors all the way through, just like Josie’s.

Tallulah: Was my Paternal Great Grandmother, my Grandpop’s mother. I never knew her. But I like Tallulah’s galloping rhythm quite a bit. I like that her combo honors beginning to end too, it’s: Tallulah Frances May.

Elspeth: Was my Great Aunt. Same Grandpop’s (from above) sister. I always knew her as Aunt Elsie. My Grandma filled me in long after both she & my Grandpop were gone. Elspeth charms me to my toes, she’s Scottish and so matches my surname very well. I like nn’s Bess, Elsie, Lily & Elsa best. But I like that she’d have about a dozen to choose from, should she want. Again, like Josie. I found the lovliest combo for her too: Elspeth Scarlett Jane.

Margery: Margery’s a lovely cousin I haven’t seen since we were 14 or so, but I remember her well. I’d probably nn Margery, Daisy or Maisie/May. Margey, which the cousin got, does not appeal, nor do the countless Mag- nicknames. Mag- is so masculine a sound to me. I’ll have a Magnus to nn Maggie before I’d use it on a girl! I found a lovely combo that honors thoroughly too: Margery Elspeth Violet.

Winifred: My lovely Auntie. Yes, really. Uncle Skip’s wife. Pop’s youngest brother. He’s a flake and a half, but she’s lovely! She’d be tickled too, if I used it. I found the perfect combo for her too: Winifred Elinor Plum. Elinor honors His side (a cousin) and Plums are His favorite fruit. And Plum is such a luscious sound!

So, there they are. What do you think? 😀

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. appellationmountain
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 02:25:59

    Cecily is my favorite, at least with Josephine. Winifred Elinor Plum is my favorite combo, and Elspeth on pure style points.

    Would you use a nickname for Cecily?

    Reply

    • Lola
      Apr 12, 2011 @ 07:13:36

      Thanks Abby, I appreciate the thoughts!
      I would probably call Cecily: Celie or Cece. Those are the only two Ceil- type nicknames left open in the family! She’d probably also get things like C-bear too. I’m a weird nicknamer. Almost all food related (what am I, French?) 😀 Josie gets cuppycake, pumpkin, sweet pea, honey bear, you get the idea. But Celie (like “”The Color Purple”) is most likely. Cece’s a nice option, rather like Fifi. So there ‘s that, too.

      Reply

Leave a comment