Lurverly Elspeth one more time!

I can’t remember when I started loving Elspeth. Elsie was my Grandpop’s sister. What a lovely woman! It never occurred to me that it was short for anything but Grandma Lily told me when I was in my late 20’s that Elsie was Elspeth.

So at least 20 years Elspeth’s been a love. I’ve had her in the middle of combos, at the end of combos but I’ve only tried her as a first name a handful of times. But nothing has stuck.

That changed three days ago, purely by accident. Elspeth was yet again on my mind and somone at Nameberry said they heard a mom on the playground yell out “Scarlet/t Rose! (no idea of Scarlet/t’s spelling). And my brain went: “Scarlett! The perfect first middle for sweet, sedate Elspeth!”

So, I went to Him with Elspeth Scarlett and said “what next?” He thought for a split second and said “Jane, Jane’s perfect; spunky, sweet, smart and Your Mom”

So, Elspeth Scarlett Jane is now on the list. She could be nicknamed Bess, Elsa, Elsie or even, gods help me, Ellie.
There’s a couple right behind us with kids named Dylan & Ellie. We know them but aren’t super friendly with them. Dylan’s 5 to Josie’s 7 and Ellie’s almost 2. How confusing would it be to have a Bess, Elsa or Elsie next door to an Ellie? Maybe just Bess or Lily (since Grandma Lilian Elisabeth was “double Lil’ “quite a bit).

So, what do you think of Elspeth Scarlett Jane? Too sedate? Pretty? Not regal enough to be the little sister of Josephine Rosamel Anne? or what?

Can I have some thoughts on Elspeth Scarlett Jane? Anything? All would be very appreciated.

And, as always, thanks for reading! 😀

Leave a Reply

