Philippa Guinevere Alice

What exactly is wrong with this combo?

Philippa Guinevere Alice

I think she’s beautiful, but she gets no love anywhere. Even He loves it, thinks Guinevere is just different enough in the middle. And it was one of Grandma Lily’s favorite names and how we wound up with a Lilivere hanging in our tree. I’d use Philippa Lilevere but think it’s far too ‘l’ heavy for daily use. Philippa Guinevere flows better. And Alice was my Mom’s first pick for me!

So: Philippa Guinevere Alice. No longer than:
Josephine Rosamel Anne, I think.

So, what’s wrong with her that I’m missing? 😦

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. marilyn
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 15:17:49

    Do you pronounce Philippa with the accent on the first or 2nd syllable? I say PHILippa, like PHILip (my brother’s name). So for me, PHILippa GUINevere ALice has a nice rhythm and I like it. But PhiLIPpa GUINevere is harder to say; maybe that’s what is bothering people? (I don’t know the “correct” way to say it.) I honestly don’t know, I think she’s lovely and I love Pippa and Pippa-gwen (I would inevitably call her Penguin too) 🙂

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 09:46:28

    Thanks Marilyn! It’s PHIL-ip-pa to me. Philip, with an a.
    She’d be Pippa-Gwen, or Pippi-Gwen, most like. Or maybe just Pip! I’m not certain yet, but Philippa Guinevere Alice is moving up in my estimation. She’s a lovely sister for my Josephine! 😀

    Reply

  3. youcantcallitit
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 07:58:52

    They’re all lovely names, it’s just that the whole combo feels a little heavy, like she’s cooped up in the library and likes cats better than people.

    Maybe try:

    Philippa Ottilie Alice
    Philippa Clementine Alice
    Philippa Lucy Guinevere
    Phlippa Guinevere Lucy
    ???

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 10:08:05

    Hmm, I think you’re right, Elisabeth! I’ll have to go back & rethink Philippa/Guinevere together. He really likes the pairing though, so it’s ggoing to be a tough sell. See, that’s why she’s a wildcard! I just can’t warm up to her as a whole and she’s hard to pair. Look for more Philippa soon. I want to like her, really! She’s pretty fabulous in totality. Philippa Ottilie is interesting. I could call her Po,for short! 😀 (I need more teeth in this smiley!) Ha! I’ll definitely have more Philippa soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

