Much Maligned Lettice…

I adore Lettice. No, not the green, leafy veggie (although I like it well enough), Lettice is the medieval variant of Laetitia/Letitia/Leticia. Lettice Knowles is where I first found her and while she’s not the best namesake, I do so love her name!

I even found a combo I’m incredibly pleased with: Lettice Coralie Jane. I know Lettice Coraline Jane flows better, but I’m really not thrilled with Coraline. But Coralie makes me sing. So Lettice Coralie Jane stays as is. I think it’s *so*8 perfect. Lettie is a love. I’ve tried Laetitia out before, as well as Leticia & Letitia. The whole *tit* thing bugs me in two versions and Leticia feels too Spanish to be comfortable for me. So again, Lettice appeals most.

I really don’t see the problem with the similarity to the veggie, I mean, other kids are given outright vegetable/fruit names (Hello: Apple)
So why pick on the green one? And if she’s Lettie 99% of the time, where’s the problem? I swear, if there ever another girl, the two going with me are Maud India Scarlett & Lettice Coralie Jane.

And as a small note: The girl informed me that her girls will be Violet & Lily yesterday. 😀

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marilyn
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 15:11:54

    I like Lettice, and I don’t think sharing a veggie name would be too weird. I personally still have hopes of naming a daughter Violet and _calling_ her “Lettie.” I think it’s so beautiful—the perfect mix of spunky and feminine. But with Violet on the rise in popularity, I don’t know if it will ever happen. I like Viola okay, but it’s Lettie I really love, so I think it would have to be Violet. Anyway, I already have Daisy, so Daisy and Violet would probably be too much. But wouldn’t Daisy and Lettie just be so cute?

    Reply

  2. Andrew Martin
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 12:16:28

    I’m not that fond of the name Lettice but with your combo it flows great together.

    Reply

  3. Celia
    Apr 08, 2010 @ 01:03:55

    I think Lettice is very pretty, but I do think of lettuce, and then lattice. But there are much more worse things to be associated with! Lettice Coralie Jane is absolutely lovely, and Lettie is adorable.

    Reply

  4. Sebastiane
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 14:16:17

    Lettice Coralie Jane is really sweet.

    Reply

  5. Lilias
    May 30, 2010 @ 13:02:53

    Lettice Coralie Jane is lovely! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Kelly Beth
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 17:01:51

    Lettice! It looks so pretty on the page. Sadly, I think, when spoken it can only conjure up the vegetable. Lettice Coralie Jane is perfectly darling. ANYTHING Coralie Jane is pretty damn cute.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

