Marilyn

Marilyn is my favorite Auntie. She’s the exact same age as my lovely (long gone) Mother which makes me think of her as a sort of surrogate Mom. 🙂

I’ve been toying with Marilyn for awhile now, thinking it would be nice to honor her (her girls, my cousins, haven’t yet, and between the 3 of them, they have 3 kids, two girls & a boy). I think she’d be tickled pink even if I used it as a middle. So I mixed it up:

Iris Marilyn
Elinor Marilyn
Ivy Marilyn
Marilyn Isis
Jane Marilyn/Marilyn Jane
Marilyn Ruby
Marilyn Primrose
Marilyn June
Viola Marilyn
Juno Marilyn
Esme Marilyn
Marilyn Anoush
Lucy Marilyn
Flora Marilyn
Marilyn Poppy
Saffron Marilyn/Marilyn Saffron
Isobel Marilyn
Cleo Marilyn
Marilyn Plum
Ottilie Marilyn
Xanthe Marilyn
Lily Marilyn
Daisy Marilyn
Violet Marilyn/Marilyn Violet
Sylvie Marilyn
ETA: What about Winifred Marilyn/Marilyn Winifred?
I surprised myself a bit, there are a few up there that are quite pleasing to me. What I’m asking is this: Are there any up there that please you in any way? Do you think Marilyn’s ready to come back?
I’d love to hear opinions!

As always, thanks a million for stopping by!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. marilyn
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 12:32:26

    Wow, it’s so weird to hear my name with all those fresh combinations! (I’m Marilyn Marie—not too original!) I love Winifred Marilyn, Marilyn Primrose, Jane Marilyn, and both Violet combos. Really interesting. I never meet anyone my age with this name (but everyone has an aunt or grandma named Marilyn), and I’ve always thought it was kind of out-of-date. But I don’t know, in some of these combinations I think it sounds pretty cute. I have a daughter named Daisy Aurora, and we never even considered Marilyn for a middle—but it’s pretty cute there too. Ooh, I like Iris Marilyn too. I guess I’m partial to the nature-related ones!

    Thanks for this post—it was really fun to read!

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jan 26, 2010 @ 20:09:47

      Marilyn, I’m so glad you enjoyed this post! While my Aunt is *my* impetus to use Marilyn, I do know a 23 year old Marilyn, easily the youngest Marilyn I know. She’s a knockout, too, which doesn’t hurt the name at all! 🙂

      Winifred Marilyn is a double honoring for me: both are Aunts. And I could expand it still further with my Mom’s first middle: Winifred Marilyn Jane.

      But I’m absolutely loving Iris Marilyn. She’d make a stellar sister for your lovely Daisy Aurora! For me, the combo would have to expand: Iris Marilyn ____ (not sure what I could put there yet) Maybe Iris Marilyn Adele, Iris Marilyn Violet (too flowery, perhaps), Iris Marilyn Elanor (might have the same problem as Violet) Aaah, I’ll have to think on Iris Marilyn _____ some more. Look for more Marilyn in the near future!

      Reply

  2. Sebastiane
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 12:48:56

    I must admit, I find Marilyn quite appealing. Its not something I’d use personally, but I would appreciate it on someone else.

    Iris Marilyn is really lovely.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jan 26, 2010 @ 19:53:42

      Thanks Sebastiane! I’m really loving the way Marilyn fits in the middle. You’ll be seeing more of Iris Marilyn! 🙂

      Reply

  3. Eva
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 13:25:28

    Marilyn is lovely! I definitely think it’s ready for a comback.

    Iris Marilyn is definitely my favorite. I actually just started liking Iris a few days ago! I like how it feels exotic but simple.

    Cleo Marilyn, Marilyn Ruby, Esme Marilyn, Ivy Marilyn, Violet Marilyn, and Marilyn Anoush also really stand out to me. I love Anoush, it’s sounds so lushs. It’s one of my favorite Armenian names. (I’m Armenian) 🙂

    Fabulous combos, Lola!

    Reply

  4. babynamelover
    Feb 10, 2010 @ 19:02:23

    Winifred Marilyn Jane is lovely!
    I like Marilyn both up front and in the middle.

    Iris Marilyn
    Marilyn Plum

    Reply

  5. Celia
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 00:18:59

    I like Marilyn a lot! My favorite is also Iris Marilyn. What about Winifred Iris Marilyn or Winifred Marilyn Iris?

    Reply

Leave a comment