Loverly Elspeth!

I’m completely taken with Elspeth. Sweet, pretty and fun to say & spell, the possibilty of Elsa or Elsie just makes me sing.
So I sat down the other day and came up with something like three dozen combos. Then we weeded through them, tweaked a few and the following (that I’d like you to look at) are the ones that survived. A mere 6 combos. Would you please give me your thought on them or at least tell me which one You’d choose & why?
I’d appreciate it immensely!

Without further ado, Elspeth:

Elspeth Coralie Jane
Elspeth Violet Elinor
Elspeth Cleo Violet
Elspeth Poppy Elinor -my favorite
Elspeth Honey OphΓ©lie – his favorite
Elspeth Honey Aurelia

And that’s all folks. I really appreciate the time it takes to comment or just read, thank you so very much! πŸ˜€

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Jan 15, 2010 @ 03:29:57

    Elspeth is quite cute. I prefer however for a combination Elspeth Coraline Jane compared with Coralie.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jan 15, 2010 @ 09:34:14

      Really, Laura? I had toyed with Elspeth Coraline, but found the sing songy-ness a bit much for me, hence the light but less songlike Elspeth Coralie. I’ll run the thought past him again, later today. Maybe it’ll appeal to him more. He’s quite stuck on the idea of “Honey” as a middle name. The kids call his Mom “Honey Sue” and he thinks it would be a neat-o thing. I’m not sold, as that’s what I call HIM, but I’m thinking about it. And I think his fave combo’s rather elegant already.
      Thanks for stopping by, Laura. You’ve given me something to think about! πŸ˜€

      Reply

  2. Salome
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 09:06:02

    Hi Lola!

    I know I’ve never posted, but I just LOVE reading your blog. Your taste in names is inspiring!

    Anywho, my favorites are Elspeth Coralie Violet (goosebumps!) and Elspeth Honey Ophelie. Both of those names ooze charm and sweetness to me. But I admit, I’m biased. All of those names have made the rounds on my lists. lol.

    Elspeth is just a darling. I adore Elizabeth in pretty much all her forms but Elspeth represents innocence to me. I think of someone forever child-like (in a good way). She sounds like a Lucy Maud Montgomery heroine, doesn’t she?

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jan 26, 2010 @ 20:18:40

      Thanks Salome! Elspeth does feel a bit LM Montgomery to me too. πŸ™‚ Just a little. Which is why I tried to ground her a bit. But it looks like Elspeth Honey OphΓ©lie is our clear winner. She’s gotten more positive thoughts than any other combo we’ve come up with! (but I will be keeping Elspeth Poppy Elinor in my back pocket for now, she feels so sprightly and pretty).
      Thanks for the compliment and much more thanks for stopping by & commenting. I really appreciate it! πŸ˜€

      Reply

  3. Cleo
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 12:45:54

    Elspeth Poppy Elinor πŸ™‚ such a nice mix!
    Poppy is more modern sounding and Elinor reminds me of Sense and Sensibility!

    But the Honey story is really sweet too!

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jan 22, 2010 @ 20:37:33

      Isn’t Honey just sweetness & light? Thanks a million for the input Cleo (I am still pushing for Cleo/Clio whether in full or as a nickname, just so you know…) ;D

      Elspeth Poppy Elinor works best for me too. Sprightly, sweet & modern feeling taken as a whole. Yeah, she’s the keeper, I’m certain. πŸ˜€

      Reply

  4. Charlotte
    Jan 25, 2010 @ 13:32:38

    Lola, I love your site! You have such similar taste in names to me, I had to look at your profile to try and explain why (I live in London but am a Cancerian, maybe that is it). By the way my very much loved (by everyone) grandmother was called Alice and her dear husband called her Araminta Alice.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Jan 26, 2010 @ 11:55:14

      Hi Charlotte! It could be that I’m a severe Anglophile too! πŸ™‚

      I love English names, medieval especially. 1570 is one of my favorite years. πŸ™‚ (yes, I’m odd)

      Araminta Alice is adorable! Mind if I swipe that and run with it?

      Reply

      • Charlotte
        Jan 26, 2010 @ 15:51:19

        Please do! I would be honoured. In fact I rather like the name Honor. I will reading your blog regularly now. Medieval, nice, now you have me thinking.

      • Lola
        Jan 26, 2010 @ 20:22:39

        Thanks Charlotte, consider it swiped! I posted about Medieval names awhile back, feel free to dig it up in a search and have fun with it!

        I’ll be happy to see you around! πŸ˜€

  5. Ysa
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 03:25:50

    Long time no comment for me! Elspeth is simply charming. Elspeth Violet Elinor thrills me especially, but Elspeth Coralie Jane makes me want to like Coralie more. Elspeth Coraline really would be excellent, not sing-songy at all!

    Reply

    • Lola
      Feb 02, 2010 @ 12:54:46

      Hi Ysa! πŸ˜€

      Good to “see” you again! Maybe Coraline is sing-sngy to me because He’s stuck on the movie. It plays about once a week around here and Dad’s song rather sticks in my head, making Cor-a-line definitely singable to me. I just can’t not sing Coraline! πŸ™‚ Which is why Elspeth Coralie Jane stays. Seems silly but there it is.

      Thanks for the vote for Elspeth Violet Elinor too, she’s gorgeous!

      Reply

  6. babynamelover
    Feb 10, 2010 @ 18:57:59

    Elspeth Coralie Violet for me (love Elsa)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

