Most Recent Loves

Here for your perusal are the names that sit highest in my estimation right now, wanna give me your thoughts on them?

Without further ado:

Araminta
Jemima
Lettice (Leticia)
Ottilie
Sibyl
Xanthe

Cosmo
Rufus
Angus
Fergus

Yeah, all those -gus names thrill me. I must really be liking Gus as nickname option! 😀

So, what do you think? Anything up there you’d like to see used? If I ever get a positive, this kid is going to get a name I love, to heck with convention! So, talk to me! 😉

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julia
    Dec 04, 2009 @ 12:22:26

    Lola! Glad to see you’re posting again! I actually LOVE all of these names, apart from Sibyl. I especially love Jemima. Such a pretty sound, and the meaning is gorgeous. I would recommend you use it, but I would love to have a little Jemima one day (does Jemima and Octavia work as a sibset, I wonder? my two fave names in the whole world), and I don’t want there to be too many. Meh, actually, use it 🙂 – the world could do with more Jemima’s and I won’t be having wee ones for a long time yet.
    Also, Xanthe is a gorgeous name. It helps too that all of the Xanthes I have known (yes, there’s more than one!) are lovely, intelligent girls.
    From the boys list, once again, love all of your picks, but especially Angus and Fergus. Have a bit of a soft spot for all things Scottish.
    Have you thought about using Arthur or Anton? It seems as though you might like those two names.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Dec 04, 2009 @ 17:58:41

      Thanks Julia!

      I think Jemima & Octavia would be stunning sisters! I adore Jemima but wonder though: Josephine & Jemima, too much J?

      I’m going to have to make a seperate post about Sibyl. I cannot figure why she gets little love. Rather like Maud, but there I know why she appeals to me buttnot many others. Maybe Sibyl fits in the same group?

      Xanthe is one I’d kill to use, but she seems a bit much next to the existing kids: Leo, Simon, Josephine & Xanthe. See what I mean? But I’m tempted nonetheless. She’s gorgeous!

      Maud & Ottilie still top our girls list, Cosmo & Rufus the boys, but I’m always on the lookout for different names. Arthur & Anton both have appeared briefly on our lists before. Arthur for a great Uncle, Anton for yet another on the other side of the family. I don’t think either will be used but I do like them both. 🙂

      Reply

      • Julia
        Dec 06, 2009 @ 10:35:01

        Thanks, Lola!
        I think you’re right about Sibyl and Maud being in the same sort of group (in saying that, however, I love Maud but I’m still not the hugest fan of Sibyl. It has grown on me, though). I also think that, given they’re relatively uncommon, all it would take is a cute little Sibyl/Maud to change people’s minds?
        RE: Jemima and Josephine, I don’t think it’s too much J. Especially since they both contain such different sounds. Although, practically speaking, as someone who has the same first initial as my mother (and still lives at home), it can be a wee bit confusing when letters come addressed to “Ms J Surname”. I imagine having the same initials would be even more confusing if the two children are sisters who are at the same school. Things might get a bit mixed up administration-wise. OK, that makes no sense whatsoever. Off to get a coffee, methinks.
        Good to hear from you 🙂

  2. babynamelover
    Dec 06, 2009 @ 04:13:11

    Jemima, Cosmo & Rufus 🙂

    Reply

  3. Laura
    Dec 07, 2009 @ 05:18:22

    I’m loving Jemima at the moment. Its definatly an overlooked name!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

