Ottilie Again

I’ve been thinking about Ottilie. How soft and charming she is, how pretty. yes, I still love Ottilie.

What I have been rethinking is her combo. Ottilie Alice Ghislaine is pretty stunning and isn’t going anywhere just yet but I wanted to try Ottilie out with my Mom’s name. Ottilie Frances feels a bit more grounded than Ottilie Alice, to me. I think it’s the F, that consonant is quite down to earth.

So I went digging and came up with a handful that please me in various ways, from the simple to the elaborate. Here they are:

Ottilie Frances Jane
Ottilie Frances Loveday
Ottilie Frances Valentine
Ottilie Frances Violet
Ottilie Frances Adele
Ottilie Frances Elanor
Ottilie Frances Isadora
Ottilie Frances Kathleen

I’m really digging Ottilie, for her Tillie potential, also for her overall look & sound. So pleasing both to see & hear. makes me smile.

Now I’ve been leaning towards the sweet & simple Ottilie Frances Jane but He likes a few of the more flowery pairings more. Which of these would you pick, if you had to and why did you pick that one (if you don’t mind telling me)?

I’d love to know your thoughts on these, better or worse than Ottilie Alice Ghislaine?

As always, thanks for stopping in, I greatly appreciate it!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sebastiane
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 20:29:49

    I love Ottilie Alice Ghislaine. Its very continental princess.

    Reply

  2. marilyn
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 22:31:25

    I like Ottolie Frances Jane best too. I think the way it tapers off from three syllables to two to one is melodious.

    Reply

  3. babynamelover
    Jul 07, 2009 @ 01:56:35

    I too like Ottilie Frances Jane the best πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. armydad38
    Jul 18, 2009 @ 18:05:07

    I also like Ottilie Frances Jane the best πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. Kate
    Aug 17, 2009 @ 16:50:41

    Hi Lola, it’s English Kate here – I’m still reading the blog, I just haven’t had as much time of late to put my thoughts into words. I’m still loving your naming style…

    I think my favourite are Ottilie Frances Elanor (although I prefer Elinor) but I love the calming, balancing effect Frances and Jane have on Ottilie.

    Reply

  6. Christina Fonseca
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 01:52:46

    Just checking in. I have missed you, Lola!!!

    Looking forward to your next post, whenever you are ready.

    Reply

  7. Mookie
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 17:46:27

    Ottilie truly is growing on me, but I’m not much a fan of her paired with Frances. Perhaps Ottilie Violet Adele or Ottilie Violet Jane flows better? Either way, Ottilie is very lovely, and goes wonderfully with Josephine.

    Reply

  8. Susan Chesney
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 21:30:39

    Hi, Lola, I miss you on Nameberry. Love Ottilie!
    From Susan

    Reply

  9. lucykrueger25
    Aug 26, 2009 @ 16:37:21

    Ottilie is lovely, although I prefer the nickname Tillie. I like Ottilie Frances Jane, and maybe Ottilie Violet Adele. I haven’t heard of Ghislaine, but its quite original and pretty. Here’s my blog:

    http://lucykrueger25.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  10. LyndsayJenness
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 02:15:41

    Ottilie Frances Loveday is my pick, how sweet and happy! But with Frances in there, she’s grounded.

    It’s been three and a half months since you posted this, I hope you’re alright.

    Reply

  11. ClareyfromCornwall
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 05:59:46

    We have an Ottilie Mary — I find we really need the down to earth second name — while I still love the name, she finds it hard because no one can spell it, or even pronounce it (she gets Oatily a lot…??).
    So personally I would go with Ottilie Frances Jane (also loving the semi-rhyming with your surname). Ottilie Alice is very pretty though.
    I do love Loveday, very Cornish pronounced Luvdy!
    Oh, have just seen this is a looong time ago – sorry! What did you go with?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

