Penelope, Araminta & Elspeth

Beyond Cecily, Cleo & Maud, these three are top favorites for both of us:

Penelope: She’s galloping, sweet and I love the potential for Poppy & Nell and she can always go by Lola should I stop using it someday! I love her mythical counterpoint and the fact that Penelope’s familiar to almost everyone but not very common.

Araminta: Has long fascinated me. I think She’s strong but oh so lush & rich. I adore Minna/Mina & Min as possible nicknames and I love how Araminta seems familiar to most but it’s so rarely heard for real. It’s stunning in full, too!

and

Elspeth: Charming, feels other-worldly. Completely feminine but no fluffy thing, Elspeth has a steel core. And she would honor Grandma Lily and me, as the Scottish form of Elisabeth, which we both had/have. I adore Elsa
& Elsie as possible nicknames (not to mention the far flung Bess & Lily)!

I have combos I love for each of them:
Penelope Violet Jane
Araminta Lucy Violet
Elspeth Scarlett Jane

Now, my dilemma. Should I move these onto the primary list or leave them as wildcards? What should I toss if I did move them to Primaries? Do you like these better than the ones already there or not? What? Just help, because we can’t decide what goes where beyond Cecily (or Cleo)ย at #1 and Maud at #2.

Anyone have a theory why boys names come so easily to us but girls names we have to struggle with? I’m baffled!

So any thoughts are most welcome, indeed. As always, Thanks for stopping in!

๐Ÿ˜€

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sebastiane
    Jun 30, 2009 @ 16:05:55

    They are all absolutely beautiful. I am especially excited to see Araminta, I love her esoteric feel. My favorite nickname for her is Minty.

    Reply

  2. appellationmountain
    Jun 30, 2009 @ 18:56:26

    I love Penelope – But Penelope VIolet Jane doesn’t thrill me. Penelope Elspeth Jane, maybe?

    Reply

  3. Sarah (nfate)
    Jun 30, 2009 @ 21:26:39

    Are you Kidding!?!?! My boys list is so sparse! My girls list on the other hand looks like Santa Claus wrote it.

    Edward was an old favourite but this time round the only two that seem to be hitting us both nicely are Theodore and Remy! And even Theodore is becoming unusable as Dorothea climbs up the list for girls! Boys names are just SO hard! I envy that you find them easy.

    Not too keen on Maud though – Matilda on the other hand might be number one if she wasn’t so darn popular here! She allows for flexibility in nicknames too – Maud included. What ya say?

    Whether you choose to put these on the primary list or the wild cards I don’t think it matters. I mean whats to stop you from choosing a wildcard in the end anyways?

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Jul 01, 2009 @ 08:07:05

    Thanks Sarah! Theordore is out for us, we already have a Simon, who wants two Chipmunks? ๐Ÿ™‚ W
    By Easy, I mean we agree on what we like easily. We fight over girls quite a bit more!

    Matilda, nn Maud may end up winning out but I really love Maud’s combo much more than Matilda’s. At least right now. Maud India Scarlett is far more “us” than Matilda Esme Violet, which is lovely but a bit sedate. Plus, Maud is the family name, Matilda’ jst a happy incident.
    It’s still a “Hey why not” thought so you never know!

    As for “what’s to stop me from choosing a Wildcard in the end anyway”? I think you’re right. I mean, it’s all in what fits the kid, not the other way around. It’s more a dividing line for my head: more usable vs a little more unusual.

    Remy charms me to my toes! So suave & dapper! He’d make a lovely brother for Edward, I think. Give them both a bit of French flavoring.

    Reply

    • Sarah(nfate)
      Jul 01, 2009 @ 22:52:55

      I really like Matilda. I would love to see you use it – unfortunately there is an ubundance of Matildas here so I *just* can’t. She is VERY high on the middle name ladder though (that is if the first name matches it). Actually Matilda, nicknamed Maud, might just be our way to get around the popularity.

      I know I have said this before but India and Scarlett are mortal enemies in GWTW.

      Glad you like Remy and Edward together. At this stage he is the winner for boys. I’m still really hoping for a girl though. All our boys feel like Wildcards to me. But there is a definite top 10 for our girls (if I could just make him let go of Phoebe).

      Plus we already have a boy.

      Reply

  5. babynamelover
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 00:01:44

    You could swap Edith and Elspeth so Elspeth is in the top ten?
    hmm you have so many nice combos I don’t know how you choose ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  6. Laura
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 02:55:23

    I really love Araminta and Penelope but I’m not sold on Elsbeth. Elsbeth its just as if something is mising from it.
    Araminta and Penelope are sophisticated enough to go dashingly with Josephine, and they are such sweet names which with fantastic nichnames! I also think they would stay relevant and fresh from young to old. My favourite combinations
    Penelope Violet Jane.
    I like Araminta Violet Jane also or Araminta Lucy Jane.

    Reply

  7. Jayna
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 23:33:40

    I love Penelope. It’s what we named our daughter. It’s the perfect combination of class, spunk, uniqueness, and yet everyone knows how to pronounce it and spell it and Penny is just adorable as a nn. I recommend it! I also LOVE Mathilda nn Tilly. But it rhymes with my last name so it won’t work! I also love violet and scarlett but not too keen on your other names.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

