Happy Memorial Day to all!

So there. Enjoy your BBQs, picnics or potlucks. I’ve got a BBQ planned for tonight but am kicking back and relaxing. Reminiscing about the Vets in my family, My Uncle Jim, a Vietnam vet, My Pop, an Air Force vet (he was in before Vietnam, was married with a  kid on the way when it started so he got left out, lucky me!). Grandpop was in the Navy for WW2, My Aunt May was a WAVE.  My OH was an Army guy for 10 years but is thankfully home safe and staying home these days.  I hope you & yours are Safe & Happy today.  🙂

 

So I was being weird yesterday  and posted a poll at BtN, Thinking about a few names specifically that I like with Josephine. Here’s what I posted, and the total # of votes each got, following:

Josephine & ? Which would you like to see most?

Josephine & Helen: 8
Josephine & Frances: 13
Josephine & Violet: 22
Josephine & Elinor: 8
Josephine & Cecily: 18
Josephine & Jemima: 11
Josephine & Imogen: 7
Josephine & Winifred: 11
Josephine & Ottilie: 12
Josephine & Edith: 6

 

What do you think of the final outcome? Which would you have voted for (it was a pick all you like poll) and tell me, am I still crazy for loving Ottilie and wanting her in first place?  Talk to me, tell me whatever you think, I’d love to hear! 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. babynamelover
    May 25, 2009 @ 21:14:38

    Josephine & Frances is my favourite 🙂
    Oh Lola i have some combo’s I need help with they are under combo’s 🙂

    Reply

  2. Laura
    May 25, 2009 @ 23:21:56

    There are some cute combinations Lola. I love Josephine and Imogen, Josephine and Jemima and finally Josephine with Ottolie!

    Reply

  3. Polly
    May 26, 2009 @ 22:06:00

    Although Cecily is a favourite of mine at the moment, I don’t think that it goes too well with Josephine.

    Josephine and Frances sound great, as do Josephine and Ottilie – you aren’t crazy!

    Reply

  4. Emmy Jo
    May 26, 2009 @ 22:57:10

    Hi, Lola. WordPress isn’t letting me respond to your “Josephine & …” post for some reason, so I’ll post my response over here. If the problem is fixed later, I can copy and paste my answer to the right section, and then you can feel free to delete it here.

    The one that strikes me as a perfect pairing is Josephine and Cecily. All of them sound good, though. Other favorites:
    Josephine and Elinor
    Josephine and Imogen
    Josephine and Helen

    Josephine and Ottilie works as well. Ottilie really brings out the French side of Josephine. I usually see Josephine as a Victorian/Civil War-era name (along the lines of Josephine March) and thus likely to pair with other English choices like Margaret, Eleanor, or Cecily. But her origins are French of course, and when you pair her with something like Ottilie, the French side really comes out. No, you’re not weird for liking Ottilie up front. It’s a pretty name, and it seems like one of those that truly belongs to you, if you know what I mean.

    Reply

  5. Eva
    May 29, 2009 @ 07:11:33

    I’m surprised Josephine & Violet got the most votes! It’s definitely not a bad pairing. I absolutely love Violet. But Josephine seems so much more sophisticated than Violet. I think Josephine also has more substance to it than Violet.

    I love Josephine & Cecily! They work so well together – they are both French but are well known in English in too. Josephine & Cecily are my favorites.

    My second favorite is Josephine & Imogen. I think they are fabulous together! I’m not sure why though.

    I also love Josephine & Helen and Josephine & Frances. They bring out the softer, old fashioned part of Josephine.

    Reply

  6. Eva
    May 29, 2009 @ 12:54:31

    hmmm … Cecily isn’t French, is it? I just looked that up. Oh well, it sounds French to me! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Bizzy
    May 30, 2009 @ 19:43:46

    Frances, Violet, Cecily, and Ottilie are my favorites! There is something so polished yet spunky about Jospehine and Cecily. Violet is pretty and spunky, too, which makes it a great match for Josephine. Frances is one I’m just dying to see used, and I’d do it myself if I could ever get DH on board. Ottilie is just lovely and probably the most unexpected.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

