Wilhelmina

On top of Raphael, I’ve been thinking about Wilhelmina yet again. I can’t help it! She’s been a love since I was a kid. That cartoon of the little girl walking and saying “Willa-Mina”!

 

Wilhelmina  (I can’t get the actual video to embed, but here’s the link! It’s still so cute!)

Okay, so maybe a bit odd, but I do love the sound of Wilhelmina and am absolutely enthralled by the possibility of a Mina. I’ve gone on about Wilhelmina before;  anyone who’s been here for more than a week should know about my love of Wilhelmina’s sound. I do think her look is a bit heavy, but I have no problem writing it out, and even enjoy it’s swooshes upwards as I write. I also like how stern and almost severe she looks in type. How formidable!  I think a Wilhelmina would be feminine and sweet but no pushover. And even a bit of a broad, if that makes any sense. I rather like that. She’s got a bit of attitude, a bit of oomph and a whole lot of verve & style. She even honors my Pop in a realted sort of way. He was Wayne, loved his W, wished he was William (Which would have gone better with brothers: James, Theodore & Richard). So In an odd sort of way, I think Pop would be very pleased indeed with Wilhelmina.

 

I have a few combos I came up with that make me smile. I’ve tried to balance the length of Wilhelmina with light and airy looking or sounding middles.  Here’s what I came up with, what do you think of these beauties?

 

Wilhelmina Poppy Amabel
Wilhelmina Romilly Violet
Wilhelmina Lucy Adele
Wilhelmina Saskia Jane
Wilhelmina Lily Jane
Wilhelmina Daisy Elinor
Wilhelmina Esme Frances
Wilhelmina Viola Honey

 

(Honey is what the kids call Grandma Pandora: Nana Honey. See how much she hates her name?!)

So, what do you think of Wilhelmina?  And which combo do you like, or do you have something in mind that might be better? Tell me! I’d love to hear what you think of Wilhelmina!

 

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. babynamelover
    May 22, 2009 @ 19:47:44

    My nan’s sister is Wilhelmina nickname Mina 🙂

    I like Wilhelmina Daisy Elinor & Wilhelmina Lily Jane

    Mina & Josie is cute or Minnie?

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 24, 2009 @ 09:56:57

      Oh, Mina or Willa, Anna. Minnie is cute and maybe a sometimes nickname but it’s just a bit too “mouse” for me. Wilhelmina Lily Jane is a simple, sweet favorite. 😀

      Reply

  2. Ysa
    May 22, 2009 @ 20:15:21

    Wilhelmina is so very pretty, and Mina makes her perfectly usable. Wilhelmina Romilly Violet is perfect, actually. The R in Romilly creates a good, strong backing for Wilhelmina, which is very long. My second favorite is Wilhelmina Saskia Jane! Saskia matches Wilhelmina in enthusiasm. No no, not Honey! Pandora is beautiful, even in the gran doesn’t like it. Wilhelmina Pandora Violet, maybe?

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 24, 2009 @ 10:01:32

      Thanks Ysa. I appreciate the thoughts. I have loved Mina for years, and Willa is prefectly acceptable to me. Wilhelmina Romilly Violet may just be our winner, a home for Romiily! Huzzah!
      Saskia’s Pandora’s middle, so it would honor her just as well, and maybe even a bit more comfortably, even. Wilhelmina Pandora Violet works for me, but feels a bit more OTT than I seem to be comfortable with. I’ll have to run it though my head for a while. Thanks! 😀

      Reply

    • Polly
      May 26, 2009 @ 22:09:26

      I second Wilhelmina Romilly Violet! This is my favourite combination, though I like almost all of them. I don’t like Saskia with Wilhelmina however – they have completely different sounds to me.

      Wilhelmina is a fabulous name, very refined. You can feel safe too, knowing that it won’t ever become top 10 material – at least not in our lifetimes!

      Reply

  3. Emmy Jo
    May 23, 2009 @ 21:48:56

    Wilhelmina is lovely! I love the nickname Willa, and I like Mina.

    My favorite combos:
    Wilhelmina Lucy Adele
    Wilhelmina Daisy Elinor
    Wilhelmina Lily Jane
    Wilhelmina Saskia Jane

    I do get the feeling that none of these are quite right though. They don’t stick with me the way Maud India Scarlett, Sylvie Mimosa Jane, and Euphemia Elinor Glory do. If I think of any other amazing combos, I’ll come back and repost.

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 24, 2009 @ 10:07:09

      I agree, Wilhelmina is lovely. Sorry you don’t find any of the combos particularly memorable. Maybe I need to go back to work on them then?

      Reply

  4. rockingfetal
    May 24, 2009 @ 16:20:26

    I’ve recently made the official change from longstanding Willa to Wilhelmina nn Willa on my list. I love the long form and the options it brings. It was mostly brought about by the fact that the co-namer insists we use Matilda first. Matilda and Wilhelmina nns Maud and Willa sound miles better to me than Matilda and Willa.

    Romilly Violet, Lucy Adele and Esme Frances are my favorites.

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 24, 2009 @ 18:15:36

      Thanks Trisha! You’re the one I think of when I hear or see Willa, honest. I lean heavily towards Mina. Not only does the dracula fan love the idea, I like the multi-ethnicity of Mina. She’d fit in with the Brasilians & the Indians here, all while honoring Grandpa Willem. (His maternal Grandad). So it definitely works for me. I don’t think Wilhelmina’s leaving my list this yime. She’s awesome. And you’re right, Trisha, Matilda/Maud & Wilhelmina/Willa are absoletely perfect together! 😀

      Reply

  5. rockingfetal
    May 24, 2009 @ 22:17:57

    Thanks for the compliment. I’m happy that I’ve found a way to make our two favorite names work together. I think the nn Maud and long form Wilhelmina will help them to stand out if the names take off. How I am sad over Matilda’s debut on the SSA. I was sure it was coming, and it’s not so much the popularity as the nowness that brings me down.

    I think Wilhelmina is quite perfect with Josephine as well. Very regal together. If Grandad is Willem, Willemina might interest you. Several people (on the boards) suggested it to me, finding it softer and more intuitive. They were quick to point out that it is legit and Dutch. Wilhelmina doesn’t bother me any though. Willemina seems watered down and takes away from part of its charm, IMO.

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 25, 2009 @ 09:44:22

      I don’t think Matilda’s very “now” exactly. More retro “now”, like bellbottoms, you know? And Maud as a nickname takes away any “now” Matilda has!

      Willemina looks funny to me. “Watered Down” is a perfect descriptor! Wilhelmina’s got the heft I like and retains the light sound. Yeah, I think I’ll be sticking with Wilhelmina. She pleases me far more. Matilda/Mathilda’s on my list too, but way down in ‘Wildcards’. There are other things I like better still. (Always subject to change, of course). 😛

      Reply

      • Polly
        May 26, 2009 @ 22:12:11

        I live in Australia, and Matilda is popular here, far more so than it is in the US – I think it’s in the top twenty in several states actuallt, including Western Australia [where actor Heath Ledger was from, and he named his daughter Matilda].

        I do like the name, it’s just funny to see that it’s only just now entered your top 1000!

  6. Emmy Jo
    May 25, 2009 @ 12:25:40

    Hi, Lola. WordPress isn’t letting me respond to your “Josephine & …” post for some reason, so I’ll post my response over here. If the problem is fixed later, I can copy and paste my answer to the right section, and then you can feel free to delete it here.

    The one that strikes me as a perfect pairing is Josephine and Cecily. All of them sound good, though. Other favorites:
    Josephine and Elinor
    Josephine and Imogen
    Josephine and Helen

    Josephine and Ottilie works as well. Ottilie really brings out the French side of Josephine. I usually see Josephine as a Victorian/Civil War-era name (along the lines of Josephine March) and thus likely to pair with other English choices like Margaret, Eleanor, or Cecily. But her origins are French of course, and when you pair her with something like Ottilie, the French side really comes out. No, you’re not weird for liking Ottilie up front. It’s a pretty name, and it seems like one of those that truly belongs to you, if you know what I mean.

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 25, 2009 @ 18:28:52

      Sorry Emmy Jo, somehow my settings changed. All fixed now! Thanks for rationalising Ottilie out for me, I knew there was a reason I kept coming back to Ottilie!

      I’ve been trying to sell myself both Helen & Elinor, lately. I like their simple elegance.

      If you move your post, I’ll move my comment! 😀

      Reply

  7. Bunny
    May 26, 2009 @ 23:55:51

    Love Wilhelmina! Gorgeous name. I was wanting to use it to honor my grandmother, Billie Jean, and Great Grandmother, Aminta “Minnie” but I never got a good response to it whenever I posted it in combinations. So not I have switched over to the lovely, Scottish, Willamina.

    Wilhelmina Romilly Violet and Wilhelmina Lucy Adele are stunning!

    Reply

  8. Bree
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 14:18:02

    Wilhelmina Poppy Amabel popped right out at me 😀 I think its spunky and lush

    ~Bree

    Reply

  9. Bree
    Jun 23, 2009 @ 14:20:23

    I meant Wilhelmina Poppy Amabel, sorry ^^

    Reply

Leave a Reply

