Raphael

I’ve been spending a fair bit of time with Raphael as a first name. I’ve got Rafael in the middle in several combos because that’s how the G. Uncle spelled his name. But Raphael is more standard a spelling, I see several Raphaels on pictures hanging on the walls of the school Josephine will be attending this fall, so yeah.ย  I think Raphael is handsome, suave, charming and more than a bit jazzy.ย  He’s an archangel , so soothes the Catholic family and has jaunty Rafe as a possible nickname. So what’s not to love? ๐Ÿ™‚

I came up with a dozen or so combos that please me in various ways but over the last day or so, we’ve whittled them down to 6. Here, for your perusal is Raphael:

Raphael Edward Wilder
Raphael Oliver Bede
Raphael John Porfirio
Raphael Arthur Willem
Raphael Arthur Peregrin
Raphael Inigo Francis

I have my favorite in there and He’s got his, can you tell which is whose? ๐Ÿ˜€ย  It’s funny how we go back & forth so much easier with the boys. Neither of us can narrow our girls list! ย 

Anything up there jump out at you as pretty good? I’d love to know!ย  Please, do tell!ย 

ย 

and as always, thanks a million for stopping by!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Wilhelmina « Lola’s Onomastic Fits
  2. babynamelover
    May 22, 2009 @ 19:49:30

    I love Raphael ๐Ÿ™‚ its been on the huggies baby name forum part lately but spelt Rafael.

    I like Raphael Edward Wilder ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 24, 2009 @ 09:50:48

      Rafael has? Wow! I figure it’d give the kid fits spelling wise so decided to keep Rafael in the middle but use Raphael up front, if I can. As for Raphael Edward Wilder, you picked His fave! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

  3. Sarah (nfate)
    May 22, 2009 @ 23:26:27

    Oh I love Raphael Oliver Bede!

    I mean LOVE! I don’t like 2 middle names (plus you can’t really have one child with 2 and ther other with 1) but Oliver, who has long been a favourite of mine, teamed with Bede just might be perfect for me! Edward Nole and Oliver Bede – I think so.

    Oliver Bede. Oh lovely. Please choose Raphael Oliver Bede. Oh what a dear little name.

    Reply

  4. Lola
    May 24, 2009 @ 09:55:09

    Sarah, Oliver Bede is darling with Edward Nole!

    Raphael Oliver Bede is a nod to my brother, whose middle is Oliver (well, one of them)And is MY favorite combo up there (but I’m more than passingly fond of Raphael John Porfirio & Raphael Arthur Peregrin as well). It’s going to come fdown to a battle between Raphael Edward Wilder & Raphael Oliver Bede, I think! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply

  5. Sarah (nfate)
    May 25, 2009 @ 07:14:33

    Lola this is getting scary. Is it possible for us to disagree on which is the favourite? And glad you like Oliver Bede with Edward Nole. I’m trying to stay with in the style of Edward’s name and I think Oliver and Edward are quite suitable. As well as Bede and Nole. Matching number of letters too.

    Although we might always agree on number 1 but I can’t say I’m in love with Porfirio. He looks like a misspronounciation of profiterole. Sorry.

    Reply

  6. Lola
    May 25, 2009 @ 09:32:30

    Porfirio’s a tough sell. He’s Greek, and means “purple dye”. He was an ancient playboy (Porfirio Rubirosa) and the name of several saints. I first heard Porfirio somewhere between the ages of 2 & 3 and fell in love with his swooshy sound. I know he’s a bit much which is why I tend to put him in second place and also put a solid classic next to him. I’ve had John Porfirio, George Porfirio & Edward Porfirio at several given points in time. It’s definitely a tie between Raphael Edward Wilder & Raphael Oliver Bede. We’ll be discussing the pluses & minuses today, I think!

    Reply

  7. Kira
    Jun 17, 2009 @ 11:42:48

    I absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the name Raphael. But my fiancรฉ will never agree to it, he says he knew such an awful Raphael in school. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Raphael Edward Wilder is my favorite of your combos!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

