Dorothea

Thinking about my Uncle Ted lately. I miss him (he used to live much closer) and while I completely love the name Theodore, I can’t use it. Leo, Simon, Josephine & Theodore? Nope, having a Simon killed Theodore for me. So I started thinking about the girly versions: Theodora & Theodosia and realised I really don’t like either of them. And then I remembered Dorothea & Dorothy. Dorota is the Polish form of Dorothy and was my Babci’s second middle (Cecylia Anna Dorota). Dorothy ends with the same sound as my surname and Dorota sounds completely awful with my surname but Dorothea sounds pretty fabulous. So I talked to Him about Dorothea and he couldn’t find anything wrong with it. Did comment that I seem to be preoccupied with Dots lately (meaning polka dots on fabrics, I’ve been making polka dot ruffles for Josie’s shirts, pants & skirts like mad the last few weeks). But yeah, a Dorothea of mine would likely be Dot at least while she little. I can see Thea as a nickname when she’s a bit older. Easily. 🙂

So I went digging for combos and came up with a good dozen that charm me in one manner or another. I don’t have an favorite one so I thought I’d toss them out to see what you all thought of them. Without further ado: Dorothea!

Dorothea Xanthe Iris (if anyone recalls, I had Xanthe Iris Dorothea at one point)
Dorothea Xanthe Adele
Dorothea Lily Jane
Dorothea Cleo Jane
Dorothea Romilly Violet
Dorothea Lucy Violet
Dorothea Poppy Elanor
Dorothea Esme Cecile
Dorothea Clio Isobel
Dorothea Saffron Adele

So, what do you think? Josephine, Josie & Dorothea, Dot/Thea?  Or am I completely off base?

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christina Fonseca
    May 19, 2009 @ 19:20:43

    Josephine and Dorothea – yes
    Josie and Dot – cute
    Josie and Thea – absolutely great together!

    Dorothea Xanthe Iris gets me tongue tied into saying Dorothea Santiago instead!

    Dorothea Xanthe Adele – love it! perfect IMO – ’tis my favorite from the group.

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 21, 2009 @ 09:04:22

      Thanks Christina, I think Xanthe Iris Dorothea flowed better, which is why I ended up with Dorothea Xanthe Adele. Truly a stunner, that one!

      Reply

  2. babynamelover
    May 19, 2009 @ 21:26:14

    Dorothea Lucy Violet & Dorothea Cleo Jane are pretty 🙂

    Josie & Dot are gorgeous 🙂 I love Dora 🙂

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 21, 2009 @ 09:18:39

      Anna, I hadn’t even thought “Dora” until you mentioned it! But I still prefer Dot & Dottie as well as Thea to Dora, believe it or not. I grew up hearing bith my Grandmothers use the phrase “Dumb Dora” so it’s got a bit of a hurdle for me. I thoroughly like Dorothea Cleo Jane too.

      Reply

  3. Emmy Jo
    May 20, 2009 @ 14:30:52

    I love Dorothea! I really like it paired with Jane, especially after suggesting Charlotte Dorothea Jane for someone in my first advice column post. That makes me want to pick Dorothea Cleo Jane or Dorothea Lily Jane, but if I can get around that bias, other ones that appeal are:
    Dorothea Xanthe Adele
    Dorothea Lucy Violet
    Dorothea Esme Cecile

    Josie and Dot sound adorable together. And Josephine and Dorothea complement each other perfectly.

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 21, 2009 @ 09:07:46

      Really, Emmy Jo? That’s cool! Dorothea Cleo Jane is one of my favorites. But I think everyone knows how obsessed with Cleo I am. 🙂 And Dorothea Xanthe Adele is definietly gorgeous. I’ll answer your email in a short bit!

      Reply

  4. Baby Name Brainstorm
    May 21, 2009 @ 08:50:30

    Dorothea Romilly Violet stands right out at me. I also like Saffron, but not sure this is the most ideal setting.

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 21, 2009 @ 09:13:22

      Thanks Lach! I seem to be mildly obessesed with Romilly Violet together in the middle. I don’t thinkthey’re *quite* right with Dorothea, but you’re right, they’re pretty stand out all together. 🙂

      Reply

  5. Laura
    May 22, 2009 @ 03:08:08

    Dorothea is cute! I’m not sure about in America but In Australia they would go wild for the name- Dorothea the Dinosaur (The wiggles). My favourite combo is Dorothea Cleo Jane it mixes new names with old names and works out really nicely. I think it sounds good together!

    Reply

    • Polly
      May 26, 2009 @ 22:16:53

      It is Dorothy the Dinosaur – not Dorothy!

      Reply

      • Polly
        May 26, 2009 @ 22:17:10

        *I mean not Dorothea

      • Lola
        Jun 02, 2009 @ 13:54:38

        I knew what you meant! 🙂 It’s been while since I’ve watched “the Wiggles” but I do remember them. Josie lost interest about the same time Greg left & Sam joined, so there’s a frame of reference for you!

        Thanks All, Dorothea’s staying on the Wildcard list! 😀

  6. Lola
    May 22, 2009 @ 08:40:00

    I thought the Wiggles had Dorothy the Dinosaur? Heck, it’s been at least a year since Josie watched it (they air on Disney in the easly AM here). Oh well. It doesn’t hurt Dorothea for me.

    Dorothea Cleo Jane seems to be the overall favorite off the list, you’re the third person to say that’s your favorite! So it’s definitely down to Dorothea Xanthe Adele & Dorothea Cleo Jane now.

    Reply

  7. Polly
    May 26, 2009 @ 22:18:18

    I like the sound of Dorothea ______ Cecile – but not Esme for some reason. I do like Esme, but think something else would go better here. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Dorothea Eriksson
    Jun 16, 2009 @ 15:11:00

    Hello
    I am a 35 years old women living in Stockholm Sweden and my name is Dorothea.
    The name is not common at all here but everybody loves my name so I feel blessed with it!
    I can tell you that the name means “Gift from God” and comes from Greece,
    Doro = gift
    Thea= God

    Good luck from Dorothea in Stockholm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

