Linus

Yeah, he’s back. It’s actually quite a likeable name. And reminds me of Mom; she called my brother & I,  Lucy & Linus for 18 years  (so why she named us Laura & Steven, I’ll never know, exactly). But he works in another, more subtle way for me. See if you can find the link between the boys: Leo, Simon & Linus. The best list I can find, suprisingly, is a Yahoo! Answers: “How many Popes Have there been since Simon Peter”

 

So it works for me on several levels. I love that he’s an -us ender. I think anyone who’s stopped in here more than once can attest to my love of -us enders. I love that he’s also a Pope name (I did the boys inadvertently, I wasn’t thinking “Pope Names” with them, I was thinking “Family names” and had never linked Leo to Popes in my head, ever. Simon Peter was a giveaway for this Catholic school girl, but Simon was still a family name first & foremost.  Now Linus isn’t a Family name, exactly but because Mom called Steve:  Linus for as long as she was alive, yeah, it feels like Family. And I adore that he doesn’t nickname easily, like Leo. I know he’s an L too, like me (and Leo) but I think I can figure out which is which these days. Maybe because I had practice separating Leo & I on the calendar already, Linus doesn’t feel like a huge hassle. 

 

I spent most of yesterday out in the garden, thinking about Linus. Came in and started digging for combos. Came up with a few that absolutely blow me away:

Linus Raphael John
Linus Henry Gavriil
Linus Willem Aurelian (Willem is His Mom’s Father)
Linus Arthur Taliesin
Linus Maximilian James
Linus Xavier John
Linus Arthur Porfirio (Pope, King & playboy.. how awesome!)
Linus Morgan Valentin
Linus Casimir John
Linus Henry Algernon

 

I like a good handful of those, which do you like and, if you don’t mind, why? I’m just about sold on Linus (even though my brother is groaning right now!).  😀  I’d love to hear your thoughts on him and the combos!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caitlin B
    May 15, 2009 @ 13:05:18

    Linus Arthur…Taliesin. Linus Henry Algernon. And, Linus Casimir John are my favorites. Linus is an adorable pick. Similar in feel to Leo, Simon, Graham, etc. Manly, strong, but not aggressive – he fits right in there. I could also see him easily with Josephine. Love that those three are all Popes – that’s so funny!

    Reply

  2. Lola
    May 15, 2009 @ 15:50:35

    Linus Henry Algernon is so much fun, isn’t it? 🙂 My favorite up there is Linus Willem Aurelian, Willem honors his Maternal Grandfather (Henry was his Paternal Grandpop) and Aurelian’s one I’d use up front if He’d let me (he thinks it sounds a bit girly). But Linus Henry Algernon is bristly fun and oh so happy. I absolutely am charmed to pieces by that one!

    Linus Arthur Taliesin feels very Arthurian and then some, to me. (pardon the play on words). Linus is an old name, really old. Pope Linus followed Peter: AD (67-76). I also like Linus Arthur Porfirio. Porfirio adds a cheerful note in there!
    My favorite of the Pope names left is still Lucius and he’s still on the list but brisk little Linus is creeping into my heart.

    ISn’t it funny that I did that? I really wasn’t thinking about Popes when naming them and really only recently (within the last year or so) realised that the boys both have Pope names. It just seems logical to consider another one!

    Thanks for stopping by Caitlin! 😀

    Reply

  3. babynamelover
    May 15, 2009 @ 17:15:59

    I like Linus Casimir John 🙂
    I think it would be nice to have three Son’s joined together with theme of Pope’s names 🙂
    Glad you go the green light, lots of sticky baby dust 🙂

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 15, 2009 @ 19:36:26

      I think it’s kind of a neat, sort of subtle theme myself. I wonder though, How many other people would “get it”? Probably few to none. No one’s ever mentioned Leo & Simon are both Pope names, to me, anyway. Thanks for stopping by, Anna. I’ll be headiing your way shortly! 😀

      Reply

  4. Christina Fonseca
    May 15, 2009 @ 18:37:08

    Linus and Josephine. Leo, Simon, Josephine and Linus sound right together.

    Reply

  5. neschria
    May 15, 2009 @ 19:39:52

    I love Linus. Linus Henry Algernon is really nice. Linus Arthur Porfirio is nifty too.
    Linus Willem Porfirio, while not one of your combos, makes me happy.

    Reply

  6. Lola
    May 15, 2009 @ 21:07:23

    Aww, thanks Mia! I think Linus is pretty snazzy myself. If Linus Willem Porfirio makes you happy, swipe him. Willem’s Dutch, Porfirio’s Italian, together with Scandnavian Linus, it’s a bit too culture clashy for me. LHA & LAP (not worried there, it’s a second middle, never shows up in monograms) are easily two of my very favorites up there. LWA is my favorite but getting Aurelian past him is going to be tricky! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

