Revisiting Araminta

I’m still quite stuck on Araminta. Every time I think I’m over her, I turn around and find something else I love about her.

This little Araminta doesn’t hurt the name any, either. ๐Ÿ™‚ Isn’t she just precious?ย ย 

ย 

So with that said, I’ve had Araminta floating around on my list for what, a year or more now? And while I’ve had combos that reigned for a short time each, there’s never been one that lasted for more than a few months. Araminta Alice Green hung around the longest and is still the one that’s hanging around the edges. Araminta’s the loveliest silvery shade and goes very well with the forest green surname, I think.ย  Here’s what I’ve come up with most recently:

Araminta Iris Llanfaire
Araminta Helen Ophelia
Araminta Tilley Violet
Araminta Portia Ruby

Araminta Lucy Violet
Araminta Clara Anouk
Araminta Lavender Blythe
Araminta Coraline Violet
and like I said, Araminta Alice Green is still hanging on by a thread.ย  Anything up there better than AAG?ย  I’m rather liking the italicized ones a bit better than the others, ย especially Araminta Portia Ruby. But then, I’ve been rather stuck on Portia lately, she’s been showing up everywhere these days!

ย 

So, anything there jump out at you? Should I try yet again? Give up entirely? What? Talk to me, tell me what you think, I’d love to know!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JNE
    May 13, 2009 @ 16:30:03

    Lucy Violet is my favorite from the list, with Portia Ruby close behind. Alice Green is very nice as well, though.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    May 13, 2009 @ 19:01:28

    Thanks Jade! Consoder your vote(s) counted! She’s been *the* topic of conversation tonight, especially since we got the solid green light once more yesterday! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply

  3. JNE
    May 13, 2009 @ 19:08:54

    Congratulations! Very exciting, and I will keep you in my thoughts.

    Reply

  4. Mia
    May 13, 2009 @ 20:13:22

    Araminta Iris Llanfaire is my favorite.

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 15, 2009 @ 09:32:24

      Thanks Mia! She’s my favorite too but He keeps saying “Llanfaire is too ponderous” which puzzles me, He like Llewellyn, right? Huh? And I can’t get him to elaborate just yet. It’s come down to these 4 combos, it seems:
      Araminta Helen Ophelia
      Araminta Portia Ruby (which is clearly my favorite)
      Araminta Lucy Violet
      And
      Araminta Tilley Violet (because Tilley herself honors).
      The Poll’s up at BtN already. Not that I’m going by it too much, I already know what I like, it’s more to see what rises to the top in general. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Reply

  5. ysaxenia
    May 13, 2009 @ 21:01:10

    Yay, Araminta! I’m stuck here… Portia is encroaching on my thoughts lately as well, so Araminta Portia Ruby is waaay up there. Then, Helen and Ophelia are some of my favorites, so I don’t know! Araminta Iris Llanfaire is so medieval, I love her, too.

    Bwah! Just can’t decide!

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 15, 2009 @ 09:40:18

      Isn’t Araminta just lovely, Ysa? ๐Ÿ™‚ Portia’s been on my mind for a good while (remember Cleo Portia Rupinder? She’s still on the list as an alternate if Clementine gets too popular). And Ruby honors me (it’s my birthstone).
      Helen Ophelia is lush and Helen honors, I have 3 Aunts named Helen (well, one is Helena, but she goes by Helen too). One is my mother’s half sister, the other two married into the family (Ed’s HElen & Benny’s Helen) I swear, it’s too funny! Mom’s half sister isn’t doing well, has Altzheimers and is just generally failing too. I’m sad, she’s the last of the :”original” Michaliks (Mom’s maiden name was Michalik). The rest are “The kids” and there’s the inlaws left, but She’s it. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ So Helen is really appealing at the moment. She’s a bit too simple for first place, but if I find the right combo, maybe…).

      Iris Llanfaire is divinely Medieval, but he came out with a nay for Llanfaire the other day, too ponderous. which puzzles me a fair bit. Maybe I can get him to explain later.

      Reply

  6. babynamelover
    May 13, 2009 @ 22:50:36

    what does solid green mean Lola?
    I like Araminta Lucy Violet ๐Ÿ™‚
    I miss you commenting on my combos :(.

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 15, 2009 @ 09:41:59

      Solid Green, I went to the doctor for my checkup and he said there’s no reason we couldn’t have one more. I miscarried in January, so I finally got the okay for us to try again!

      Araminta Lucy Violet is sweetly simple and really lets Araminta show off, doesn’t it? ๐Ÿ™‚ She’s a favorite for that reason alone, nevermind the possible Mina-Lou just charms the socks off me! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Reply

  7. Eva
    May 14, 2009 @ 15:32:51

    Ooh I love Araminta! My favorites are Araminta Helen Ophelia, Araminta Lucy Violet, and Araminta Lavender Blythe! This past week, I have been absolutely obsessed with Ophelia! I have no idea why! She’s all I can think about lately. haha ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyways, Araminta Helen Ophelia sounds very regal to me. I think Araminta Lavender Blythe is just so interesting! It has a very soothing sound. With Araminta Lucy Violet, the spotlight is all on Araminta.

    My vote is for Araminta Helen Ophelia!

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 15, 2009 @ 09:49:31

      Consider the doubling gone, Eva! You’ve got two of the finalists up there. Ophelia’s charmed me for years by sound alone, It took “Pan’s Labrynth” to really get me to like it, overall though. Huzzah for pop culture, hmmm?!

      Lavender Blythe is off the lists for Araminta, but I have them noted together, I think they’re quite lovely next to each other. They may ghet a new “home”.

      I agree that with Araminta Lucy Violet, Araminta really shines alone. All the attention is on her.

      But as I said a bit earlier, the four finalists are:
      Araminta Helen Ophelia
      Araminta Portia Ruby
      Araminta Lucy Violet
      and
      Araminta Tilley Violet .
      The poll is here: http://www.behindthename.com/polls/view.php?id=145238
      Go check it out, if you’re so inclined.

      Reply

  8. Sebastiane
    Jun 07, 2009 @ 18:27:20

    Araminta is such a sweet name. I love all of its possible nickname options. From your list, I like these combos

    Araminta Iris Llanfaire
    Araminta Lucy Violet
    Araminta Clara Anouk
    Araminta Lavender Blythe

    Reply

Leave a Reply

