Sibyl Godeleve

It’s a gorgeous pairing. Sibyl Godeleve.  Mia asked if she could see it with something else up front, if I didn’t like it with Harriet (which I just can’t get behind a thousand percent). I went digging (and asked for His help too). I only came up with a few where Sibyl is the first name:

Sibyl Esmée Godeleve
Sibyl Louisa Godeleve
Sibyl Flora Godeleve 
Sibyl Ivy Godeleve (not sure about sibyL Ivy but I rather like saying it aloud)

 

He came up with a little over a dozen with Sibyl Godeleve in the middle. I’m not fond of them, but see if there are any you like, that I may be passing over:
Dorothea Sibyl Godeleve
Louisa Sibyl Godeleve
Mathilda Sibyl Godeleve
Romilly Sibyl Godeleve
Agatha Sibyl Godeleve
Laetitia Sibyl Godeleve
Coraline Sibyl Godeleve
Araminta Sibyl Godeleve
Gloriana Sibyl Godeleve
Beatrix Sibyl Godeleve
Flora Sibyl Godeleve
Penelope Sibyl Godeleve
Winifred Sibyl Godeleve
He also had Lucy Sibyl Godeleve, but Lucy Sibyl is far too hissy for my comfort.

 

Sibyl is harder to pair than I thought she’d be, but there’s a fair try. Which do You prefer? Sibyl up front or Sibyl Godeleve in the middle? Anything at all jump out at you?  I’d appreciate the input! And, as always, Thanks a million for stopping by!  😀

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    May 13, 2009 @ 04:10:06

    Hi Lola thought not my choice i think it is very unique and has a lovely sound to it. It would go perfectly however with Josephine. My favourite picks would have to be Sibyl Esmée Godeleve. Esmee is such a beautiful name, its so sweet and peaceful.
    I like also Beatrix Sibyl Godeleve and Louisa Sibyl Godeleve. They are very understated and strong names. These names have character and sound wonderful together. Godd luck cutting this list down 😀

    Reply

  2. Lola
    May 13, 2009 @ 09:40:30

    Thanks Laura! Yeah, it’s going to be a headache cutting this set down. I think I’ll leave this one to Him, this time. Because I’m very biased here. Sibyl Esmée Godeleve is the only one I truly love. I know he’ll take that into account when evaluating each pairing, so I suppose we’ll see which one ends up on top. 😀

    Reply

  3. Mia
    May 13, 2009 @ 19:57:03

    I actually really like all of the Sibyl-first combos. Sibyl hasn’t been on my list, but I really like those a lot. Of the others, I like Beatrix Sibyl Godeleve and Coraline Sibyl Godeleve quite a bit.

    Thanks for humoring me. 🙂

    Reply

  4. ysaxenia
    May 13, 2009 @ 21:05:53

    Sibyl doesn’t grab me, and I never know how to spell it (Sybil or Sibyl). However, I do think she looks better up front and slightly separate from Godeleve. Sibyl Lousia Godeleve has the L’s running into each other, though I do like it. I can’t say I like Ivy at all, though she does add a certain feel to the combo that is appealing. My favorite is Sibyl Flora Godeleve. Fl- eases the whole thing up and makes it flow easier.

    Hey, Ken is pretty good with combos! I like Penelope Sibyl Godeleve and Dorothea Sibyl Godeleve.

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 15, 2009 @ 09:11:32

      Thanks Ysa! I showed him your comment, he beamed all night! Dorothea Sibyl Godeleve was the winner in the “Sibyl Godeleve together” category, but simple Sibyl Esmee Godeleve is the winner in the “Sibyl up front combos. I’m still looking for Dorothea’s proper feeling combo. I’m really liking her a lot lately!

      I know what you mean about the spelling, Sibyl predates Sybil, and Sybil is more common, in modern times but that Y up front there bugs me. I much prefer the looks of Sibyl. I suppose using Sibyl makes her one of those kids that has to spell her name for one & all, so that may keep her out the running altogether but I do like Sibyl enough to enforce. Maybe. 🙂

      Reply

  5. babynamelover
    May 13, 2009 @ 22:45:57

    I prefer Sylvie too Sibyl she just doesn’t sound pretty to me, sorry Lola.

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 15, 2009 @ 09:18:37

      S’okay, Anna, Sylvie’s lovely but I got tired of arguing Sylvie is not a nickname, it’s a proper full name in France, so it should be considered one here too. Go to http://appellationmountain.net/ and seach for Sylvia and you’ll see the argument in full. Bah, humanity bothers me sometimes! 😛

      Reply

  6. Eva
    May 14, 2009 @ 15:36:32

    Sibyl Esmee Godeleve is definitely my favorite! I love all the first names paired with Sybil Godeleve, I’m just not sure I like Sybil Godeleve as the middles. I think Sibyl _____ Godeleve. I also like the repeated v sound in Sybil Ivy Godeleve.

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 15, 2009 @ 09:21:26

      Thanks Eva! (I LOVE your name!)

      I think you pegged my problem a bit with Sibyl Godeleve. it’s very, very medieval feeling and pretty much anothing paired with them sounds “off” a bit. I like them separated myself and Sibyl Esmée Godeleve is clearly the winner! Sweet, simple and elegant! 🙂

      Reply

  7. Eva
    May 14, 2009 @ 18:32:14

    I meant to say “I think the Sibyl ____ Godeleve combos sound better” 🙂

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 15, 2009 @ 09:22:53

      S’okay, Eva, I sort of figured that’s what you meant. My brain filled it in automatically and didn’t even think it was wrong until I finshed answering you and scrolled down to the next! 😛

      Reply

Leave a Reply

