and now for Henrietta!

Happy Mother’s Day to all the Moms & Mom to bes that I know and love! 

Yes, Henrietta. I’ve loved Henrietta since I was at least 4 (anyone know when “New Zoo Revue” aired? I’m too lazy to look it up).  It neatly honors both Henry & Harriet without much fuss and lends itself  to a handful of lovely nicknames: Hattie, Hettie, Etta, Ettie, Harriet!, even Heiko, should I be in the mood for it. It even meshes nicely with Josephine, they’re the same style of name and feel frilly without being fluffy. Definitely works for me.  I’ve had a handful of combos over the past 8 months to year:
Henrietta Ruby Lilias
Henrietta Xanthe Violet
Henrietta Beatrix Lily (but I like Beatrix too much to relegate her to the middle)
Henrietta Lily Violet
Henrietta Poppy Amabel

Are what I’ve had in the past. After digging around a bit, I came up with these few more:

Henrietta Mina Elinor
Henrietta Iris Mary
Henrietta Luna Faye(Faye was a childhood friend, she lived two doors down to my left. She died of breast cancer about 7 years ago.)
Henrietta Saskia June (just trying to fit the MIL in somewhere)
Henrietta Cleo Marigold (a bit of whimsy, not sure how sold this is. And I’ve got Cleo up front: Cleo Portia Rupinder! so… Maybe not this one)
Henrietta Sylvie Violet
Henrietta Ottilie Violet

Henrietta Daisy Amabel
Henrieta Lucy Pearl 

 

If it were up to just me, I’d go with Henrietta Xanthe Violet and leave well enough alone, but I also like the other italicised ones. He has no preference and is just tickled that I’m even considering Henrietta. He knows how much I dislike Harry which is why Henry ends up in the middle. He says Harriet is lovely but Henrietta’s gorgeous, so I definitely think I’m on the right track here! 

What do you think? Anything up there jump out at you? Or should I go back to the drawing board?  Any think at all is more than welcome!  😀

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caitlin B
    May 10, 2009 @ 10:45:27

    Hi Lola! I love these combinations. Wow. I think if you are so into Henrietta Xanthe Violet, that you should go with your gut! She is beautiful, after all. However, my favorite is probably Henrietta Saskia Violet. She’s interesting, beautiful, and different. Also, you’re quite right about Henrietta and Josephine, they’re perfect companions. On a final note, Henrietta Iris Mary makes me smile. (Happy Mom’s day!)

    Reply

  2. Lola
    May 10, 2009 @ 12:49:39

    Aww, thanks Caitlin! I posted this not thinking anyone would see it today, of all days. Just killing time before lunch (which was pretty awesome, they made cheeseburgers, salad and ice cream!)

    I have to mentione Henrietta Xanthe Violet to him, first! He’ll like Henrieta Saskia Violet, because Sakia’s his Mom’s middle. It might come down to those two, in the end. But then, I may end up surprised!
    I’m liking Iris Mary by itself, so I just might drag that somewhere else!

    Thanks for stopping by Caitlin! 😀

    Reply

  3. Julia
    May 11, 2009 @ 06:53:25

    You know how much I love Henrietta 😀 Definitely agree with you that she is a good match for Josephine. These combos are stunning, all of them are so colourful and lively. Henrietta Xanthe Violet is just gorgeous, as is Henrietta Saskia Violet. Henrietta Sylvie Violet and Henrietta Beatrix Lily are also standouts, HBL in particular – she’s unique has a lovely vintage vibe and I get nice bright colours from her in particular (I’m a synasthete). But yeah, Henrietta Saskia Violet is (as Caitlin said) beautiful, different and interesting, and if she honors then what’s not to love?
    Happy belated mothers day, and keep up the good work!

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 11, 2009 @ 18:30:08

      Thanks Julia! Henrietta Xanthe Violet is a finalist, as is Henrietta Saskia Violet. it’s coming down to a His & Hers favorites, go figure. 🙂

      Yeah, Beatrix is a front girl, I absolutely love her to pieces and she sits on the list, somewhere around #8, but will move up on a whim.

      Thanks again! And I’ll try! 😀

      Reply

  4. Sarah (nfate)
    May 11, 2009 @ 09:18:47

    Oh Henrietta Xanthe Violet is my favourite as well. But I can’t say I’m mad about Henrietta. She feels a bit flighty and silly to me – far too overstated. I think its the numerous consonant sounds.
    Others that tickle my fancy are Henrietta Sylvie Violet and Henrietta Ottilie Violet.

    I know what you mean about Beatrix as well. She is number one on my list. I am just enamored with her. I love her nickname possibilities too – Bea, Bea, Trix, Trixie. Not to mention she is a swell match with Edward.

    Reply

  5. neschria
    May 11, 2009 @ 18:28:39

    I like Henrietta, but it is hard for me to hear without mentally inserting “Pussycat” after it. (Having a little Mr. Rogers moment there.)
    Henrietta Xanthe Violet is awesome! Henrietta Luna Faye is fantastic to me– it appeals to my sense of whimsy, in a safe way (with Henrietta up front to keep it from getting too far out there), and you know I love me some Faye. 😉

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 11, 2009 @ 18:36:41

      Aww, that’s one of the reasons I love Henrietta, Sarah! I could call her “Kitty” affectionately! 🙂 You are the onlt other person I know who loves Faye, really! I think she’s darling, and reminds me of my neighbor. But it’s definitely coming down to a tie between Henrietta Xanthe Violet (me) and Henrietta Saskia Violet (Him). And there doesn’t look to be an easy decidion here. Xanthe’s been a favorite for years, and if I thought a sister to Josephine could pull it off, I’d use it up front, whereas Saskia’s his Mom’s middle name. I’ve already got her first in the middle of Cecily Pandora Jane, so I’m not entirely thrilled with using yet another of her names but may just give in becuase I’ll at least have Henrietta & Vioelt in there for me. *sigh* But I do so adore Xanthe!

      It’ll be a drag out, this one! 😀

      Reply

  6. babynamelover
    May 12, 2009 @ 00:37:51

    I prefer Harriet, I like Henriette Sylvie Violet the best 🙂

    Reply

  7. Lola
    May 12, 2009 @ 09:46:03

    Thanks Anna! I just can’t like Harriet when I’ve also got Henrietta to love. It’s my love of all things a bit frilly. Can’t help it. I’d love Harriet on someone else’s girl, but can’t get into it on a potential one of mine. Weird, but true.

    Henrietta Sylvie Violet is lovely but bewtween the two of us, an also run. Henrietta Xanthe Violet & Henrietta Saskia Violet are easily the finalists. But thanks! 😀

    Reply

  8. Polly
    May 26, 2009 @ 21:58:46

    I love Henrietta! Henrietta Beatrix Lily is great, though like you, I prefer Beatrix in the fn position.

    Henrietta Ottilie Violet is stunning also.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

