Revisiting Harriet

I’m still working on Harriet, I should really like her, she’s got all the traits I generally like in a name but I don’t. Maybe because she reminds me far too much of Harry and I loathe Harry. So I’m thinking maybe if I work on combos, I might warm up to Harriet a bit more.  I tried some yesterday. and Harriet Lucy Angelina was the clear winner overall, between here and there but Angelina is something I can’t warm up to either. Too Jolie, too sweet, too fluffy. Too, too, too. So Harriet Portia Adele was my backup.  But I digress. Trying Harriet on again, to please Him.

Some more combos:
Harriet Lucy Imogen
Harriet Rowena Elinor
Harriet Sibyl Godeleve (go-deh-leave)
Harriet Lily Apolline (I like Apolline far more than Angelina!)
Harriet Daisy Pascale
Harriet Xanthe Pearl (too color-y?)
Harriet Saffron Amabel (I’m really digging Saffron Amabel!)
Harriet Elinor Mehetabel
Harriet Jane Rupinder (still stuck on Rupinder even though she’s already in a combo that’s a keeper)
Harriet Ottilie Pearl

Anyone think I’m on the right track?  Anything there feel better than Harriet Lucy Angelina/Harriet Portia Adele? Or just strike you as better, overall?  I’m having fits over Harriet. I still prefer Henrietta (and have since watching “New Zoo Revue” as a kid). Bah! 

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Eva
    May 08, 2009 @ 20:36:50

    I love Harriet Rowena Elinor, Harriet Lily Apolline, Harriet Lucy Imogen, and Harriet Saffron Amabel. I’m not a fan of Angelina. Like you said, too sweet and too fluffy. I don’t think she has the same “feel” that Harriet has. My favorite is Harriet Lily Apolline, so pretty! Apolline really adds a BAM! to the combo 🙂 I definitely prefer Apolline to Angelina.

    I still really love the combo of Harriet Rowena, though! And I think Harriet Lucy Imogen is darling!

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 09, 2009 @ 09:33:52

      Thanks Eva! Harriet Saffron Amabel is one of my very favorites up there. All three names honor in various ways. I thought Harriet Lily Apolline would be a clear winner but he’s not keen on Apolline. He says he’d rather Apollo on a boy. Apolline’s not feminine enough for him (with a Josephine in the house, I fail to see the point), but *shrug*, there are others I like up there. I’ve been thinking Imogen Lucy again, so I may just keep that pairing and toss Harriet out here. Will think on that today while at the park. Harriet Rowena Elinor charms me, I’ll have to see what he thinks.
      Thanks again! You’ve no idea how that helped! 😀

      Reply

  2. babynamelover
    May 08, 2009 @ 20:45:59

    I like Harriet Lucy Appoline 🙂 or Harriet Lily Apolline

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 09, 2009 @ 09:35:37

      Thanks Anna, Harriet Lily is a sweet pairing for me. But he’s nixed Apolline over coffee this morning.
      😦 Bah. Just for that, I’m going to work on something for Apollo in the middle! 😛

      Reply

  3. Emma
    May 09, 2009 @ 02:36:57

    I straight don’t like Harriet. I think it’s ugly. It is just Harry with a silly feminine hat, which is fine for most male to female names but since Harry is so dumb to begin with I can’t help but find Harriet completely ridiculous. Harsh, incomplete, hectic Harriet. Henrietta is leaps and bounds better.

    The single name I feel like goes best with Harriet of the ones you have is Daisy. Harriet Rupinder Daisy, maybe. lol I dunno. maybe not. Pearl also goes pretty well. I don’t think you’re going to sell me, though. I usually suggest Angelica in place of Angelina (both of which I love) but I think it looks just silly next to Harriet. Adele’s too sweet, Portia’s too lush. I dunno. Lucy works okay.

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 09, 2009 @ 09:41:39

      Well, thanks Emma! 🙂 I too prefer Henrietta as I could then call her Harriet as a nickname (if I chose) and also is a more clear “Henry” honoror.
      Harriet Daisy is sweet, but a bit flighty. Rupinder’s a love of mine, but I already have her in Cleo Portia Rupinder which is a combo I don’t think I could get rid of if I had to. I really love it. So lush and pretty!
      Angelica’s a lovely botanical but I have a nearly 5 year old, She’s a rugrats fan and Angelica is the nasty one there. Whch rather ruins Angelica for me. (and minorly gives me thoughts of Angelica Huston, which scares me….)
      Adele’s sweet to you? That’s interesting. She reminds me of puckery lemonade, so a bit tart for me. I’m still rather stuck on Henrietta and will be playing with her again. So Henrietta & ___ Apollo are on the works for today!

      Thanks for stopping by and being honest, I appreciate it! 😀

      Reply

  4. Sarah (nfate)
    May 09, 2009 @ 03:57:32

    Harriet Xanthe Pearl is just lovely. Just what I was hoping for in a Harriet combo from you. I would bet money that this is your favouite combination too. Harriet Lily Apolline and Harriet Daisy Pascale are also charming but Harriet Xanthe Pearl is just DIVINE!

    And Henrietta too is quite lovely, its just that I wouldn’t be likely to call her Henrietta – far too fussy. Whereas Harriet is simpler.

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 09, 2009 @ 09:49:11

      Thanks Sarah! You’re right, Harriet Xanthe Pearl IS my favorite up there, wth Harriet Ottilie Pearl coming in right behind. And her monogram would look awesome: HMX!
      Harriet Daisy Pascale was a long shot. Daisy charms me to no end, and why the Marg- names pop onto my radar now & again. I just don’t like them enough to consider them too serousily up front. Margery comes closest,

      But Henrietta’s not too fussy for me, Four simple syllables. No one has a problem with Alexandra, do they?Arabella? heck, I’ve run into a handful of Alexandrias and that’s 5 syllables! I use Josephine’s name in full quite often, so one more suyllable doesn’t bother me at all. And really, Henrietta’s likely to be Hattie, Hettie or even Etta quite often alone. Whereas Harriet would be Hattie flat out 90% of the time because I’m just not super fond of Harriet in full. I could use it, I’d just nickname her a bit more. But I like Henrietta’s mulitple options much, much more.

      Thanks for stopping by, You definitely have me pegged! 🙂 Hope you’re doing well! 😀

      Reply

  5. Jodi
    May 09, 2009 @ 22:45:58

    Hello! I’m new to your blog. I just hopped over here from Appellation Mountain, and I will certainly be reading here more regularly! I think I’ve seen at least two or three of my daughters’ collective eight names on every single list I’ve looked at – you have wonderful taste 🙂

    As for the question at hand, I like Harriet Ottilie Pearl from this list (even though not a one of my girls’ names is in that one). I think I prefer a vowel at the beginning of the second name for flow after that sharp t-ending to Harriet. Harriett is a family name for me, and one we considered for our third daughter, but I don’t quite love it enough. It’s good middle name material though.

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 10, 2009 @ 09:50:37

      Thank you Jodi! I remember you from, iVillage, I think. It’s been years since I’ve been there, but I’ve long admired your girls names! (and they’re adorable too!)

      I actually have Ottilie in a combo up front and much prefer her there. Tilley is a very important family surname for my other half and and is what keeps Ottilie up near the top of my list. I’ve been trying Tilley out in the middle too. I am beginning to agree with you, Harriet is lovely in the middle. I just have to figure out where, if Henrietta doesn’t work out for us. I am definitely playing with her today. (takes my mind off the commontion on the kitchen, Ken & Josie are making lunch for me and neither one of them is much of a chef!) Wish me luck! And Happy Mother’s Day to you all, with kids and expecting kids!

      Thanks for stopping by, Jodi! 😀

      Reply

  6. Julia
    May 10, 2009 @ 02:34:07

    Harriet Xanthe Pearl and Harriet Saffron Amabel are my favourites – they’re both gorgeous! Xanthe and Saffron pep up the somewhat buttoned-up Harriet.
    Like you, I do prefer Henrietta – it’s pretty, has lots of nickname options and it’s so mellifluous. It’s also been my favourite name since I can remember.
    Henrietta and Josephine. That would make a lovely sibset, both names are feminine, classy and stand out from the crowd in a good way 🙂

    Reply

  7. Lola
    May 10, 2009 @ 09:40:18

    Thanks, Julia! (Have I told you what a gorgeous nmame YOU have, lately?) Those are definitely my two very favorites up there. Precisely for the reason you stated. Harriet feels very buttoned up to me, just a bit stuffy. Nothing like Josephine! I’ve been working on Henrietta lately, sonce I can’t seem to get her off my mind no matter how hard I concentrate on Harriet. I’m starting to think maybe it’s really Henrietta for me. Well, time will tell. Next up, Henrietta! 😀

    Reply

  8. neschria
    May 11, 2009 @ 18:31:43

    Harriet Sibyl Godeleve just makes me happy. If you’re not really fond of Harriet, could we see those middles with a different one up front?

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 11, 2009 @ 19:56:21

      Indeed you can, Mia. I’ve been loving Sibyl for a few moths now, to the point I tried her up front, even. Didn’y work there but still love her enough to put her in first middle. Sibyl Godeleve, coming up! 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

