Harriet & Henrietta

Yep. Speaking of “Mouthful” names at Nameberry today, Harriet & Henrietta have been on my mind again recently. Harriet was one of his Great Aunts, lived with them while he was growing up, one of the solid grown ups in his life as a kid. I want to like Harriet, really. Josie watched Franklin and his little sister is Harriet. I’m charmed when I hear it. But I don’t like it when I say it. Now Henrietta I do like saying. And in a backwards way, honors both his Grandpop Henry and his Grand Aunt, Harriet, so for me, definitely a winner. But I wonder: Josephine & Henrietta? Or should I go simpler: Josephine & Harriet? I went digging through the lists for combos and am polling two dozen but of those I really like these few, mixed:

Harriet Lily Elinor
Harriet Ivy Valentine
Harriet Lily Jane
Harriet Rowena June
Harriet Matilda Isobel
Harriet Portia Adele
Harriet Ottoline June
Harriet Lucy Angelina

Β 

Henrietta Frances Elinor
Henrietta Clio Elinor
Henrietta Iris Valentine
Henrietta Viola Petronel
Henrietta Poppy Amabel
Henrietta Lucy Fleur
Henrietta Ottilie Violet
Henrietta Sylvie Violet
Henrietta Lily Violet

Β 

So, what do you think, am I crazy? or is there something up there that jumps out at you? Or should I go back to the drawing board or just scrap Harriet & Henrietta altogether?Β 

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. appellationmountain
    May 05, 2009 @ 13:19:23

    Sorry I haven’t been around! But I just love, love, love Harriet. She’d be near the top of my short list, if not for the fact that we have SO many fabulous relatives to honor and can’t really *quite* justify a Harriet.

    Harriet Portia Adele would be my pick.

    Time’s getting close, isn’t it? This is oh so exciting. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Eva
    May 05, 2009 @ 15:23:34

    Hi Lola!

    I love Henrietta & Harriet . I think Josephine & Harriet sound better together, though I’m not exactly sure why. I think it’s because Henrietta sounds like more of a “big sister” name, if you know what I mean. Harriet Matilda Isobel and Harriet Rowena June are my favorites. Harriet Rowena June is number one for me! πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 06, 2009 @ 08:58:03

      Hi Eva! I think I know what you mean. Henrietta feels ‘bigger’ than Josephine, but I do find them stylistically similar and I love that I could use Harriet as a nickname for Henrietta! Harriet Rowena June Is gorgeous, I love Harriet Rowena together. June’s just a favorite. Reminds me of a childhood friend and all that childhood entails. Just feels lovely to me. πŸ˜€

      Reply

  3. babynamelover
    May 05, 2009 @ 17:47:35

    I love Harriet, also like Hermione πŸ™‚ how long do you have to go Lola?

    I like Harriet Lily Elinor, Harriet Ivy Valentine πŸ™‚

    Henrietta Lucy Fleur is pretty or Harriet Lucy Violet?

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 06, 2009 @ 08:48:05

      Thanks Anna! Sorry I wasn’t around much yesterday, it was crazy here ! We have a friend spending the week with us. Decided to go to the beach yesterday and just walk around collecting shells. For a bit anyway.

      I’m not pregnant. Lost the one I should be having in January at 9w. 😦 Will be trying again soon. Harriet is sweet, isn’t she? Harriet Lily Elinor strikes me as darling, Harriet Ive Valentine is a bit clashy but honors Pop outright. Harriet Lucy Violet is my favorite, for the imagery, it’s a bit choppy flow wise but I still love it!
      πŸ˜€

      Reply

      • Anna
        May 06, 2009 @ 17:12:01

        Aw I’m sorry to hear that 😦 lots of sticky baby dust for you ******

        I love going to the beach and collecting shells, the beach is one of my favourie places πŸ™‚

        Harriet is very sweet and she goes with Josephine πŸ™‚

  4. youcantcallitit
    May 05, 2009 @ 22:40:58

    Harriet Lucy Angelina is perfect!!! So balanced. Love Josephine and Harriet too much to let you use anything else.

    In one of your Henrietta combos, you have Lucy Fleur. Love both names, but together they sound like Lucifer.

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 06, 2009 @ 08:50:55

      Ack! Thanks Elisabeth, I hadn’t even thought of that. Fleur is Flurr for me, so fer = Flurr didn’t cross my mind! Consider that one gone, I don’t want anyone thinking that!
      Harriet Lucy Angelina is one of his favorites. Lucy for Mom (who didn’t get one) Angelina just because it balances Harriet beautifully. (well, and he really likes it!) πŸ˜€

      Reply

  5. Sarah (nfate)
    May 06, 2009 @ 04:29:09

    I’m considering Harriet myself to tell you the truth. She’s quite low on the list though. I know I’m always complaining about names that match Edward but Harriet feels a bit predictable with him. I still love it though.

    Henrietta is a little over feminine for my taste but Harriet is JUST lovely. Though I can’t say any of your Harriet + middle names combinations appeal to me. I would love to see something wildly adventurous with something understated in the middle spot.

    Harriet Portia Adele or Harriet Harriet Ottoline Jane come pretty close.

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 06, 2009 @ 08:54:19

      Funny, Sarah. His G. Aunt Harriet was sister to Frances, Henry Graham & Beatrix! (Beatrix died at 7, so he forgets about her often, I went through the tree his mother had prepared and found her)

      Harriet Portia Adele is my favorite of the Harriets. Harriet Ottoline Jane is my very close second place! πŸ˜€ Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

      • Sarah (nfate)
        May 07, 2009 @ 07:38:19

        It’s freaky how we both always like the same combinations even though we have different taste in names.

        Harriet Portia Adele is my favourite of them too. But Harriet Ottoline Jane is a perfect match with JRA.

        Do you say Otto-LEEN or Otto-LYNE?

      • Lola
        May 08, 2009 @ 08:56:44

        Without thinking, otto-LEEN. oht-oh-LEEN is actually more like it, three syllables. And No matter what I seem to pair Harriet with, I still prefer Henrietta. it’s prettier. And I can still nn her Harriet!

        And I know what you mean about the freaky coincidences. It’s neat but a bit weird. And we’re on opposite sides fo the Earth! How cool is that?

  6. Laura
    May 06, 2009 @ 05:31:18

    I find that I’m really liking Harriet. My parents are from england so I have family which are called Harriet which is a very english name. I really like the combination Harriet Ivy Valentine those names go wonderfully together. I also like Harriet Rowena June. I’m not a great fan of Henrietta (though I do like Henry) but I agree saying it does sound fab! My favourite of those would be Henrietta Ottilie Violet

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 06, 2009 @ 09:01:23

      Thanks Laura! I’m still warming up to Harriet, it feels a bit abrupt to me but Henrietta makes me sing! I think Harriet Ivy Vvalentine’s going to be the standard, for now. I like the way she makes me remember things when I say it aloud. Henrietta Ottilie Violet is pretty and will be the keeper for now, bit I think I’m going to go looking for a bit more offbeat, strong things for middles. Thanks for popping in, I appreciate it! “D

      Reply

  7. neschria
    May 07, 2009 @ 16:55:41

    Josephine and Harriet seems to work better than Josephine and Henrietta, to me.
    I like Harriet with Lily, but Jane doesn’t seem quite “beefy” enough and Elinor is too much L and R to my ear.

    Reply

    • Lola
      May 08, 2009 @ 08:59:07

      Well then, I’ll be hanging onto Harriet Lucy Angelina and looking for something that “pops” a bit more. Because while I adore Lucy with Harriet, Angelina leavesa bad taste in my mouth. Weird, but there it is. It’s too angelic, too sweet, too pretty. Does that make any sense? He’s adoring Angelina but it makes me think of Jolie too (and I loathe her)
      Off to dig! πŸ˜€

      Reply

  8. georgia
    Dec 17, 2009 @ 22:36:59

    I came across this thread b/c i did a seach “baby names to match Harriet.” I have a 17 month old named Harriet and I just have to add my 2 cents into this feed. I LOVE her name and am so pleased I chose it. I feel like it is a very beautiful yet strong name (her middle names are Jane Maxwell). So I would vote for Harriet over Henrietta – and I like your middle names, my favorite is Ottoline June. Now back to looking for my 2nd child’s name!

    Reply

    • judy nelms
      Jun 05, 2010 @ 20:39:24

      I love your baby girl’s name . It is really classy. I read alot of British fiction and it reminds me of names that I see in books. My niece is due to have a baby girl in late august and has chosen “Harriett Augusta” for her name. Her big sister, Louisa Tatum will be 3 years old in Sept of 2010. I think the names go great together and fit a baby, a teenager, or a 50 year old attorney. If I had my way there would be a ban on the names Amber, Brittany , or (UGH!) Cayden, Jayden, Hayden, or anything that rhymes with it! LOL!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

