Phineas

Phineas charms me. Has since I was 12 and reading “A Separate Peace“. Awesome book, really dark and beautiful, in an odd sort of way. Anyway, back to Phineas. I think his day has come, with Finn being all the rage lately. Finn doesn’t appeal to me too much, but Phineas does. Handsome, strong and dashing. He’s charming all right. I was toying around with him today and came up with a  double handful of combos with his input. About half of them charm me, some of them (but not half) are lighting Him up. 🙂   Will you tell me what you like, and maybe why, if any?  Well, here:

Phineas  Anselm John
Phineas  Malcolm August
Phineas  Milo Edward
Phineas  James Aloysius
Phineas  Jasper Abram
Phineas  Henry Rafael
Phineas  William Porfirio
Phineas  Oliver George
Phineas  Alasdair George
Phineas  Malachy Arthur

 

What do you think of Phineas, Good, Bad or indifferent? Any of the combs jump out at you as really good or should I go back to the drawing board?  I want to know what you think!  🙂

 

Thank you, for your comments, and just because you stopped by!  😀  

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. babynamelover
    Apr 28, 2009 @ 23:17:39

    I like Phineas Oliver George the best

    Reply

  2. Sarah (nfate)
    Apr 29, 2009 @ 03:19:58

    It’s obvious I would like Phineas Milo Edward the best right? I think this combination is the perfect marriage of up and coming names like Phineas, cutesy names like Milo and classic names like Edward. In fact I think I might stick Phinneas Milo on my own list.

    Phineas is charming indeed. He has that qwirky and regal ‘-us’ sound at the end and still manages not to come off trying to hard. That combined with the fashionable ‘Finn’ element does it for me.

    Your onto a winner here Lola!

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Apr 29, 2009 @ 08:50:41

    Oh thanks Caitlin & Sarah! Phineas scares a lot of people, he feels quite blustery. But once you really look at him, he’s exactly as Sarah described!

    Sarah, Phineas Milo would be an awesome brother for Edward Nole!

    It’s funny, between the two of you, you nailed the two combos we’re arguing over right now. Him: Phineas Oliver George; Me, Phineas Milo Edward. We’re really going to have to come to some sort of conclusion on this one. It’s going to be a fight. 😀

    Reply

    • Sarah (nfate)
      Apr 30, 2009 @ 03:06:17

      Phinneas Milo has been added to our boys list.

      Have you has the Phineas Milo Edward vs. Phineas Oliver George discussion yet? I hope the Edward combo wins!

      Reply

      • Lola
        Apr 30, 2009 @ 13:30:05

        😀 Sarah! We’re still discussing him. It’s back & forth emails today! But it looks as though Phineas Milo Edward is going to win. He’s not fond of POM initials on a boy. That may be the deal breaker right there!

  4. Laura
    Apr 30, 2009 @ 03:41:24

    Phinneas is Julia Roberts son isnt he. How cute. Though I like it its that time when their born, i dont know if it would suit a new born or toddler?
    How about for the combo Phineas Milo Edward= Phineas Miles Edward. You could always nickname him Milo?

    Reply

    • Lola
      Apr 30, 2009 @ 13:32:12

      Phinneaus, I think is how he’s spelled but yep, Julia Big Mouth has one. it’s spelled very odddly to me (who has never seen Phineas spelled any other way).
      I like Miles, Laura, really I do. If Josie had been a boy it would have been her name. But I think I like jaunty Milo here better. He lightens up the slightly stuffy Phineas quite nicely. But I will mention it to him, see what he thinks! 😀

      Reply

  5. neschria
    May 01, 2009 @ 14:43:05

    I love Phineas in so many ways, and Phineas Milo Edward is well-balanced and upbeat.

    Reply

  6. Lola
    May 01, 2009 @ 18:52:41

    Thanks Mia! He’s definitely our winner. Now I just have to figure out what he’d replace! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

