Lettie Girls

I’m still rolling Lettie (and Laetitia) around in my head. I got to thinking “How many ‘Lettie’ names are out there and what are they”? So I went digging and came up with these:

Laetitia/Letitia/Leticia/Letizia
Violet
Scarlett
Paulette
Colette
Evolet
Ayelet
Juliet (which I really have no love for at all)
Lettice (which I know is unusable, I just adore it as a GP)
Eletra (Italian Electra)

 

For the record, Laetitia Amabel Viole tis still tops for me)

 

Can you think of any others? And which of these would you like to see used/which would you use?

What do you think?

 

As always, thanks for stopping by!  😀

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mia
    Apr 26, 2009 @ 12:00:24

    Evolet and Ayelet are new to me.

    Is the latter EYE-eh-let (like Violet without the V, I guess) or AY-eh-let or is it like “eyelet” as in the lace? I like it in either of the three-syllable versions.

    Evolet rocks my socks in so many different ways. 😉

    Reply

    • Lola
      Apr 26, 2009 @ 13:01:07

      Ayelet is eye-EH-let. Rather a lot like Violet, indeed! It’s a Hebrew name: http://www.behindthename.com/name/ayelet

      I met one once, she was a friend of a friend, here visiting from Israel. Absolutely gorgeous, dusky skin, dark doe eyes, really, gorgeous.

      Evolet, is a yeah, I know. My inner trendy really digs Evolet and since we’re re-watching “10,000 BC” this afternoon, I’m really rockin’ it right now. It’s not one that really goes with Josephine. Josephine & Evolet? I don’t think so. But wow, do I like it too! 😀

      Reply

  2. babynamelover
    Apr 26, 2009 @ 17:57:27

    I dislike Laetitia but maybe its the way I’m pronouncing it how do you say it Lola?

    Ayelet is very pretty 🙂 for some reason Electra is growing on me too

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Apr 26, 2009 @ 18:13:55

    LEH-tish-ah, is how I say it. I think it’s terribly pretty. Ayelet is gorgeous, love her meaning! Electra is stunning and would make a fabulous sister for Athena, I think, but not Josephine. 😀

    Reply

  4. Emmy Jo
    Apr 26, 2009 @ 22:19:07

    My favorites are Violet and Ayelet. I used to really like Juliet, but now I think it’s a little too prissy for what I would imagine my daughters to be. Josephine and Violet would be pretty together, but Violet seems a bit too tame for you. And Josephine and Ayelet aren’t the best match.

    I’m not a Laeticia fan (as you know), but I do admire the name.

    Where does Evolet come from?

    Reply

  5. Lola
    Apr 27, 2009 @ 07:19:35

    I know you’re not a fan of Laetitia. It’s okay. 🙂 Evolet is from “10,000 BC”. It’s not the greatest flick but it’s a fun story and lovely to look at. Violet is too tame for me. I like Violet, it’s pretty and family, but doesn’t have enough oomph for me. If Laetitia can’t do it for me, I’ll have to give up on Lettie. 😦

    Reply

  6. Jane
    Jul 08, 2009 @ 12:51:46

    I know of a Lydia who goes by Lettie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

