Laszlo

Snazzy Laszlo. I do think he’s pretty neat and he honors an oddball cousin (who paved the way for me) as well as backhandedly Grandpa & Pop, both Leslie’s (well, Pop’s middle). They’re reportedly related names. (I can’t find anything but the supposition that they are, but they seem similar enough that it’s remotely possible). Never mind he’s stuck on Laszlo because of Paul Henreid & “Casablanca”.  And since it’s family, I can humor him!

I get a neat image of a Laszlo, too. He’s tall, dark, well muscled and an artist type, quiet, sensitive and perceptive.   With that sort of image in my head, he’d suit a boy of mine most perfectly!  And to top off that, Laz is a definite nickname option! I generally toy with Lazarus because of Laz and that darling -us ending) but Laszlo is family and I can still get Laz from him. How cool!

 

I have a few combos. Laszlo’s tough to pair. The classics go alright but anything funkier feels funny.  So here’s what I came up with, with help:
Laszlo Edward Grey
Laszlo Edward Gabriel
Laszlo Edgar John
Laszlo Maxim Gavriel
Laszlo Albert Gavriil
Laszlo Miles Gavriil
Laszlo Arthur Morgan
Laszlo Malcolm Jude
Laszlo Rafael George
Laszlo Xavier James

 

What do you think of Laszlo himself, decent, not? What?   Any combo up there strike you as pretty cool/decent/usable/whatever?

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim W
    Apr 22, 2009 @ 11:13:36

    I really like Laszlo. I spent some time in Hungary, so it evokes really great memories of fantastic people. Since I adore your Edward Grey combo, Laszlo Edward Grey is my favorite, but I like the sound of Laszlo Malcolm Jude was well…very smooth.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Apr 22, 2009 @ 14:53:26

      Thanks Kim! I have relatives in Hungary (just outside of Györ, IIRC) It is a gorgeous place to be!)

      Laszlo Edward Grey is lovely, but I worry that Grey’s a bit too Gothy that near to Laszlo. Am I wrong? Laszlo malcom Jude may end up “it” because malcolm’s a nod to my heritage, Jude is for his beloved Beatles (Bah!). I’m really digging Laszlo Gabriel Edward or Laszlo Edward Gabriel. Laszlo Raphael George (or the family Laszlo Rafael George) absolutely thrills me. But he’s still warmng up to Rafael/Raphael. They may be winners just because they’re the simplest of the bunch.

      Thanks for stopping by! Lovely to “see” you again!

      Reply

  2. Sarah (nfate)
    Apr 22, 2009 @ 12:03:26

    Oooooo, don’t like Laszlo. Lasarus especially. This is pretty much the catholic equivelent of calling a child Hitler.

    Lasarus is the Devil’s proper name. It might be a bit cruel to name your son for the devil mightn’t it?

    It’s probably the real reason while Cain has never cracked it into the top 1000. It is just unreasonable to name your child for a person whose claim to fame is killing his brother, Abel.

    Religious or not, family name or not, I wouldn’t advise Laszlo or Lasarus.

    Reply

    • Laura
      Apr 25, 2009 @ 12:36:53

      I genuinely thought and still think it is related with darkness. Though it may seem strange to some, I dont think its an “Australian” thing. I also was brought up in Catholic household, but from stories this was just the general perception. But hey if you disagree I guess we can just blame it on the cultural difference (?) and call it even 🙂

      Reply

      • Lola
        Apr 25, 2009 @ 13:42:51

        I suppose we’ll have to call it a draw. I’ve even asked my older Aunties if they’ve heard anything of the sort and to a one, they hadn’t evr. So *shrug* it must be some sort of cultural thing. I can’t figure it out otherwise. Even googling Laslo doesn’t help. Pulls up photoraphers, physicists and other assorted artists, but nothing about demons, devils or anything such dark things. Sorry. Draw, it is. 😀

  3. appellationmountain
    Apr 22, 2009 @ 12:11:08

    Huh. I’m a (fairly devout) Catholic, and I never equate Laszlo with the devil. Nor have I ever heard the link made explicit in a homily.

    But I wonder if it is a quirk of English across the pond – Sarah, you must be in Australia or the UK? That’s interesting.

    Here in metro DC, I think Laszlo is mighty appealing. Quirky, though, so I like your combos that ground him – either Laszlo Arthur Morgan or Laszlo Edward Grey. Laszlo Malcolm Jude also appeals.

    And yes, I do hear Humphrey Bogart’s voice whenever I see this name. That’s *not* a bad thing. 🙂

    Reply

    • Sarah (nfate)
      Apr 22, 2009 @ 12:30:12

      Australian based. But it is quite possible that I have my L’s confused. Was it Lazarus or Lucifer? One was the leaper that rose from the dead and one is the devil. Whichever.

      And I’m pretty sure there is a Cult of Lazarus.

      Reply

  4. Lola
    Apr 22, 2009 @ 14:43:04

    Lazarus was the leper, and the one that rose from the dead. (two different Lazarus’ in the Bible, you see) Lucifer was the angel who fell and became Satan (Lucifer is NOT Satan’s name) And I was raised Roman Catholic, with a Bible reading, Protestant Pop. I know a lot of this stuff inside out and I haven’t been a practising Catholic is 23 years! So don’t worry Sarah! I would never consider Lucifer for a boy, even if the meaning “Morning star” is most appealing. I’d name him the related Lucius instead!

    Verity, thanks! I respect your opinion quite a bit! I meant to flip Laszlo Gabriel Edward, I think I like Laszlo Gabriel better than Laszlo Edward. And I’ve found I’m having less trouble spelling Laszlo than I thought I might, too. Laszlo Malcolm Jude is one that tickles his fancy. Malcolm is a nod to me, but Jude is all Beatles. Bah. But I keep it to humor him as much as he humors me. I’ve gone past the worrying about the repeated initials thing. After driving myself crazy at 19 with L & L, I’ve found ways around it (which is how Jemima popped back up in third place).

    Sarah, Cult of Lazarus, upon Googling, is a Swedish Death Metal band. Right up my kid brother’s alley. (yeah, 40 years old and he loves that weird, head banging thrash stuff.) it’s got somethig to so with something iSouth America as well, but living in the States and being as whitebread as you can gt, I’m not worried about that one. Plus, Lasarus is a love but not usable because he won’t consider it. It’s Laszlo he’s brought to the table. Would you think on Laszlo and get back to me on it, now that you know it’s got nothing to do with the devil? 😀

    Reply

    • Sarah (nfate)
      Apr 23, 2009 @ 02:39:54

      Sorry Lola the initial accociation is still there. I would be worried others aswell would make that same accociation, even if it is incorrect.

      I did a mini-poll for that exact reason. My co-blogger Laura thought Lazarus was a demon. My husband, Nathan, thought of the cult. My mum thought it was the devil aswell. And 2 of my girlfriends agreed that it was a demon.

      Even if it is inaccurate is this the kind of accociations you want to go with your child? Even if it is with Lasarus and not with Laszlo they are immediatly connected.

      Reply

      • Lola
        Apr 23, 2009 @ 10:33:08

        Interesting! I’ve asked around here and no one’s come up with those. I asked family and they dodn’t either. So I suppose I’ll mention this to Him and see what he thinks. But if it’s shortlisted (or even used), I’ll have to make a point of telling him not to visit Australia! (or at least stick with Laz while there)! And to definitely stay away from Sounth America! 😀

        This is a funny issue indeed.

      • Kim W
        Apr 23, 2009 @ 15:47:58

        I have never ever heard of Lazarus/Laszlo being associated in any way with Satan or demons, and I was raised in a very conservative Christian home. Maybe since Lazarus is a biblical name, people are confusing it with Lucifer?

        That’s really interesting…I would never have imagined that! I’m hoping that mix-up is somehow isolated because I adore both Laszlo and Lazarus!

      • Lola
        Apr 23, 2009 @ 16:14:02

        Thanks Kim! I’m 41 and have never run across that odd little assocation before. So Laszlo’s definitely staying. Lazarus is up above, but still in process of debate.

  5. neschria
    Apr 22, 2009 @ 17:13:01

    I am crazy about Laszlo. It’s fun and quirky to me.

    Laszlo Edward Grey, Laszlo Arthur Morgan, and Laszlo Malcolm Jude are my favorites from your combos.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Apr 22, 2009 @ 18:25:46

      Thanks Neschria (I think your last posting name was easier on me)! ;P

      After talking with Him at supper, it looks as though Laszlo Arthur Morgan wins easily. He dislikes Gabriel (even if I attach it to “Van Helsing”star, yummy Hugh Jackman (Van Helsing in the flick was Gabriel) Sorry, rewatched “The Fountain” again last night, I love that movie so I have Hugh on the brain today. Says it sounds unattractive and he’d rather Raphael/Rafael if he could. But in the end, Laszlo & Arthur honor, Mogan’s just piratey fun. So he’s the winner, hands down. That was easy! 😀

      Reply

      • Mia
        Apr 25, 2009 @ 17:27:32

        Heh… Well, you can still call me Mia, even if I post as Neschria. 🙂

        One thing about Neschria, it’s (almost) never taken, no matter where I go online. I’ve only had mixed luck with Saoirse, and no luck at all using Mia. I’ve used Neschria for so long, it practically feels like it’s my name-home-away-from-home. It’s a little weird with that ‘c’ in there though.

      • Lola
        Apr 25, 2009 @ 19:22:08

        Well, if it makes you feel any better, I now associate all three names (Mia, Saoirse & Neschria) with you, so post however but I think I’ll end up sticking with Mia. It’s my favorite of your handles and well and easiest to type! 😛

  6. babynamelover
    Apr 22, 2009 @ 18:03:38

    I prefer Lazarus 🙂

    Reply

  7. Lola
    Apr 23, 2009 @ 10:33:53

    Maybe! I’ll be working on Lazarus after lunch today! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

