Frances Ruby

I’m sort of stuck on this pairing. Isn’t it sweet and just a little sassy? My Mother would kill me if she were still around but seeing as how she’s not and I still have a pretty visceral reaction when I see people that remind her of me (wanna know what really flips me out? Watch Mamma Mia, Meryl Streep in that flick looks a LOT like my Mom. Longer hair, not curly but the same shade of blonde, same nose, same movements) it makes me cry every time I watch it.

So yeah, She might forgive me. Might.

So I went looking. I have two where Frances is up front:
Frances Ruby Esme
Frances Ruby Adele

And here’s a small bunch with Frances Ruby in the middle:

Tallulah Frances Ruby
Cosima Frances Ruby
Stella Frances Ruby
Katharine Frances Ruby
Philippa Frances Ruby
Matilda Frances Ruby

Which way do you prefer it and is there any combo up there that seems a perfect fit? I’d love to hear your thoughts on this one!

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 13:01:21

    Hehe, I know about wanting to use a hated name. My mother said that her brother would come back to haunt me because I put his middle name on the family tree. This awful, horrible name he hated so much? Henry. Oy!

    I dig Matilda Frances Ruby the most. I think they all complement one another well. I also notice you’ve dropped the h in there. Have you come to the dark side of Matilda over Mathilda? Mwahaah!

    Also, new Josie! What a sweetie. Her eyes are so dark!

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 13:29:13

    Thanks Cat! yeah, that Haunting thing apparently is something a lot of people say, I know my Mom isn’t the only one who’s ever said it.

    Nah, I haven’t given up on Mathilda completely but after asking about a hundered friends which way they’d instinctively spell Ma-till-da, it’s overwhelmingly Matilda to Mathilda, like 80 to 20. So I’m thinking maybe Matilda would be easier on a girl, you know?

    that’s Josie from playing dress up with her Buddy a few weeks ago. he finally gave me access to the pictures and that one’s one of my favorites. She’s got my Pop’s eyes, dark chocolate they are. I love that I now have one of each, Leo, blue, Simon, green & Josie, brown! Funny how genetics works. Ken’s got blue eyes, I have green. I never thought I’d end up with a brown eyed kid but I just love them!

    Reply

  3. Kim W
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 13:39:21

    I love Frances Ruby. Have you posted about her before? For some reason I have Eleanor Frances Ruby floating around my lists.

    My favs from your list are Matilda Frances Ruby, Katharine Frances Ruby, and Stella Frances Ruby. Although Frances Ruby Adele is pretty swoon-worthy to me as well.

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 13:53:11

    Aww, thanks Kim! Your Eleanor Frances Ruby is lovely! Would she be Ellie, Nell or Nora or just Eleanor in full?

    Frances Ruby Adele is definitely a winner for me. Now if I can just get *him* to stop saying Frances Ruby AY-del. *sigh* He’ll be the death of me yet, you watch! The only thing holing me back is this: Josephine was my Mom’s oldest sister, She was Frances, the baby. So… it feels kind of repetitious to me. But just a little! Wait ’til tomorrow, there’s another of her sisters names up for grabs then!

    Yeah, I think of the middles, Matilda Frances Ruby’s a clear winner. And I’m liking the alliteration of Matilda MacK, too. Katharine Frances Ruby is lovely, but I think Katharine, whith whatever spelling, is too popular for me. Even if I called her Kitty & Kit, there’s still too many. And Stella’s a long shot for us. He’s a fan of Stella Stevens (Google her if you don’t know) but Stella’s awfully nicknamey for me and was written off when on the list for Josie for the same reason. So I may have to re-think that one. It was a gut choice anyway.

    Thank you so much for stopping by and telling me what you think. I appreciate it very much. Thanks! šŸ˜€

    Reply

  5. Emmy Jo
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 14:47:54

    I completely agree that it’s between Matilda Frances Ruby and Frances Ruby Adele.

    And I love the new picture of Josephine. She’s so pretty. I had dark, dark eyes like that when I was a little girl. They’ve lightened up a teensy bit.

    Reply

  6. Lola
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 15:40:59

    Thanks Emmy Jo! Yeah, I’m going to have to pout them up to him tonight, maybe poll tomorrow to see what comes up but it’s definitely those two.

    And Josie? She’s going blonde, slowly but surely. She’s got the same color hair I had just about Kindergarten time. But HS, I had golden blonde hair and by 35, reddish brown. Now it’s almost all reddish, very little brown left. (and of course, a touch of gray). I can’t wait to see what she’s going to be, coloring wise by 15. I hope those eyes stay dark. Can you imagine a golden blonde with those dark eyes? I think I’d have to beat the guys off with a stick! šŸ™‚

    Reply

  7. Esme
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 16:16:39

    Wow, dark-eyed Josephine. Bizarrely, I assumed you’d photoshopped them! And is that a microphone in the bottom right-hand corner? Looks a bit too big.
    Ha ha, I know your troubles. My mother’s put me off honouring entirely! I guess it’s worked out well, though, because I can just use the names I love. In regards to Frances Ruby, I’m going to have to be boring and go for Matilda too. The flow is just right; in fact, I like the somewhat similar Tallulah Frances Ruby, too.

    Reply

  8. Lola
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 16:34:54

    Nope, that’s her “Buddy’s” head! And I don’t even have photoshop installed on this PC! šŸ˜€ It’s only on his PC for some reason. I have to usually take the red eye out of her pics, she’s got bad redeye. Doc says she has more receptors than most. *shrug* If it’s not going to hurt her, I’m not going to worry about it! But this picture actually came out with no redeye. It was awesome.

    My Mom was big on honoring the dead members of the family (of which she is now). But she liked to twist them a bit, usually. My sister Kathleen was named for my Pop’s cousin Catherine. Yeah, like that. I was the one named after no one up front but my brother & sister got something. So I was forever jealous I got family/friend middles but nothing family up front. My kids all have family names, so far. With this one (that we’re still trying for) we’re both going off the beaten track just a bit. Not too far and I’m still exploring the family tree, check out tomorrow’s family name, it’s a beaut! šŸ˜€

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Reply

  9. babynamelover
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 21:21:40

    Frances Ruby Esme is so gorgeous! I have a fondness for Frances, do you think Rubina would work aswell or is it too had sounding?

    Frances Rubina Esme

    I also like Katharine Frances Ruby šŸ™‚ my sister is Katherine Loren.

    I like Frances Winifred & Frances Edith too šŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Lola
      Apr 21, 2009 @ 09:59:22

      Rubina’s pretty. Reminds me of Rubella, personally but I can see it on someone else’s kid, if that makes any sense. šŸ™‚ I’m passing your Frances suggestions to my brother who says if he ever has a girl she’s going to be Frances ____. (which is a new thing for him. A few weeks ago, it was Theresa ____. He flips me out. (I kind of like Winifred Frances!)

      Reply

  10. babynamelover
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 04:35:55

    I thought of one suddenly for you today

    Frances Julie

    Reply

    • Lola
      Apr 21, 2009 @ 10:01:40

      Aww, that’s sweet but Julie’s too nicknamey for me, personally. Julia’s the only form I do like but Frances Julia seems off to me, Julia Frances has better flow but I don’t think I’d ever use Julia. Julius is more our speed. šŸ˜€

      Reply

  11. Sarah
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 06:47:15

    Love Phillippa for you but I thought you said that you had given up on her? I guess you have time to make up your mind though – 4 weeks for me. I’d use it myself but he would NEVER agree.

    Have fun.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Apr 21, 2009 @ 10:06:35

      I keep trying to get her on the formal list Sarah. I like her very much but he’s not a super fan. We do have plenty of time to work with Philippa, too, so don’t worry. If I can get him to warm up to Philippa they’ll be no stopping him!

      Thanks! Good luck with your last 4 weeks, I know they seem interminable! šŸ˜€

      Reply

    • Lola
      Apr 21, 2009 @ 10:06:37

      I keep trying to get her on the formal list Sarah. I like her very much but he’s not a super fan. We do have plenty of time to work with Philippa, too, so don’t worry. If I can get him to warm up to Philippa they’ll be no stopping him!

      Thanks! Good luck with your last 4 weeks, I know they seem interminable! šŸ˜€

      Reply

  12. Kim W
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 08:24:58

    If we settled on Eleanor, she’d be Eleanor or Nell/ie to me…Ella to my husband. Sigh. I like the idea of a girl having choices about her nickname, but I don’t want to give the poor kid multiple personalities! šŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Lola
      Apr 21, 2009 @ 10:12:56

      Thanks for popping back, Kim! Nell/Nellie is my favorite of the Eleanor nicknames. Ellie is everywhere in my daughter’s age group. Ella’s not a lot different to me, but it at least feels more polished than Ellie!

      Don’t worry about “multiple personalities”, My daugher is a Josephine and she gets: Josie, Posie, Poppy, Fifi, Effie & Fee/Fina at least somewhat regularly. And she still knows her name is Josephine! I always wished I had nickname options as a kid. Besides the Lola I got from my kid brother, there was just the yucky Lori/Laurie that I hated and that was it. I would have killed for something girly, sweet and pretty! Your Eleanor will have those choices, Huzzah! šŸ˜€

      Reply

Leave a Reply

