___ Mimosa Jane

I admit it, I’m stuck on Mimosa Jane as a pairing. I think it’s fresh & sweet. I know it needs a bit of grounding; Mimosa’s pretty far out but I think Jane does an admirable job of bringing Mim back to earth.

So I went digging, came up with these few. BtN won’t let me poll yet, I have no clue what I did when yesterday but apparently after 2 was my main posting time there. When I get the chance, these will be there, so if you’re so inclined, go look for them there later. Otherwise, here they are for your perusal. Which ones work and do you like any?

Agatha Mimosa Jane
Salome Mimosa Jane
Esmee Mimosa Jane
Romilly Mimosa Jane
Laetitia Mimosa Jane
Cecilia Mimosa Jane
Philippa Mimosa Jane
Sylvie Mimosa Jane
Anthea Mimosa Jane
Sibyl Mimosa Jane

So there they are. There’s three I really dig and would put on the list so quickly! But I’m staying mum on them for now. I really want to see what the rest of you think, first! šŸ˜€

As always, thanks for stopping by!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caitlin B
    Apr 13, 2009 @ 13:31:31

    Whoa – Mimosa!

    I don’t like Agatha too much with MJ, but Salome is lovely lovely lovely. I like Anthea Mimosa Jane, too. But, Sibyl does an excellent job of keeping Mimosa grounded.

    Really interesting.

    Reply

  2. appellationmountain
    Apr 13, 2009 @ 13:36:00

    Funny, the one that jumps out at me is Agatha! MJ really dresses her up.

    I’d put Sylvie 3rd & Cecilia 2nd.

    Very pretty!

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Apr 13, 2009 @ 16:01:16

    Caitlin, you pegged one favorite, Verity, you got 2 & 3 !
    I really like Agatha, but I’m not sold here. Not even with Verity’s comment.

    Cecilia, Sylvie & Agatha 3rd is how they’re in my head. šŸ™‚

    I really dig Salome, she’s so lush and crimson, bit I’m a bit afraid of Salome too. She’s so overpowering, especially next to Josephine. I think Salome has to go sit on the grandkids list!

    Reply

  4. Emmy Jo
    Apr 13, 2009 @ 17:04:43

    My favorite (by far) is Sylvie Mimosa Jane. I really like the Mimosa Jane pairing. It’s fresh and springy; the silvery, woodsy Sylvie complements it well.

    Cecilia would be my second favorite. Because of the double A sounds, it comes in behind Sylvie, but since double A’s don’t bother you, I think it’s a lovely choice for you.

    While I’m a huge fan of Salome, I can’t help but think that Salome Mimosa Jane is a bit too foody. I think “salami mimosa.” Yuck!

    Reply

  5. neschria
    Apr 13, 2009 @ 18:45:26

    I will have to jump on the Sylvie bandwagon, and then transfer at the next station to the Cecilia wagon. šŸ˜‰ I think Sibyl isn’t bad either.

    Some of the other just have a little too much ‘m’ in them for me.

    Reply

  6. ysaxenia
    Apr 13, 2009 @ 18:57:42

    Ooh, Mimosa Jane! That’s darling. She definitely needs something Autumnal. I like her with Anthea the best (I have very bad associations with her, though- I knew both a vile Anthea and Antea!). Salome Mimosa Jane is also really cool, if not ‘m’ heavy. But hey, I love the letter ‘m!’ šŸ™‚

    Reply

  7. Lola
    Apr 13, 2009 @ 20:17:19

    Thanks Gang! You folks amaze me sometimes. Sylvie is charming him today and he can’t stop saying it. She may end up shortlisted.

    Emmy Jo, you pegged me. I don’t mind two ‘a’ enders in a row. Maybe it was growing up in a heavily Polish/Russian family where things like Cecilia Anna Dorota was heard fairly often. And such like that.

    Funny I never relate salami with Salome. They’re just not that similar to me. But yeah, I think Salome was just wishful thinking on my part. It’s just far too out there to sister well, you know?

    Neschria, those are without a doubt my three favorites up there. Thanks for the votes. I’ve been looking for a stunner for Cecilia and I think I’ve found one.

    Ysa, Anthea, hmm? I’ve loved Anthea for at least 15 years and I keep tossing her in now & then just to keep her visible to him. She’s one kind of oddball I’d love to use. Whether she sisters well or not. I really do prefer to have them all in the same ballpark, so to speak but for Anthea, I’d throw it all out.

    In fact, there are only a double handful of names I would use despite their not fitting in thing. Maybe that’s tomorrow’s post! šŸ˜€

    Reply

  8. Sarah
    Apr 13, 2009 @ 21:59:33

    Oh you have to choose Cecilia Mimosa Jane or Philippa Mimosa Jane!

    Philippa is the favourite actually. It is just perfectly matched with Josephine!

    Josephine and Philippa are the same style – classical feminised versions of male names yet out of favour at the moment.

    Mimosa and Rosamel are in the same style – gorgeous and rare!

    And Anne and Jane are in the same style! Love it!

    Reply

  9. Lola
    Apr 14, 2009 @ 10:14:14

    Cecilia’s in second place, Sylvie won this round, but I’m still looking for a combo for both Cecilia & Philippa. I am completely charmed by Philippa and well, Cecilia’s going to maybe be an alternate for Cecily (which I still prefer myself) but I thought between honoring my Babci & my BFF, it would be nice to use Cecilia maybe (even if Josephine & Cecilia seem entirely too compatable for me).

    But thanks, Sarah. I have a few ideas for rare to match Rosamel, no worries. šŸ™‚ Hope you’re holding up well!

    Reply

  10. Vicky
    Apr 14, 2009 @ 13:39:00

    My problem with Mimosa is I keep relating it to miasma, a misty bad air that they believed caused the plague in the Middle Ages!

    Reply

  11. Lola
    Apr 14, 2009 @ 18:19:27

    Vicky, really? I never would have thought that. And he & I are pretty big Medievalists. Just waiting for Josie to get a year or so older and then I’ll get in touch with the local SCA and see what’s up.
    Oh well, Mimosa’s staying in the middle, Sylvie Mimosa Jane was the winner for us, by far!

    I have to sit down with the current top 10/Wildcard list and rearrange but that’s a job for either after bedtime or during naptime. Not now.

    Thanks for stopping by! You presented an assocation I’d never have thought of! šŸ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

