Esmeralda

Rethinking Esmeralda completely thanks to someone on BtN (Bear, thank you!). Esmeralda was G. Grandma’s older sister and the mother hen of the gang of them. I’ve always loved the name, it’s so lush and rich. Starting to think of combos but wondered if I could get thoughts on Esmeralda by herself. Anything at all, thoughts wise, is welcome. Too odd with the last name?  Esmeralda MacK–?

Whaddaya think?

(sorry this is so late, spent most of today geting ready for Easter as well as a birthday party tomorrow! )

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. appellationmountain
    Apr 10, 2009 @ 17:38:46

    I like her, especially with your surname. I think with a more exotic last name – mine or my mother’s, for example – Esmerelda’s four syllables are much too much.

    But overall I find her quite appealing – fits with Isabella, Samantha and Alexandra, but far more distinctive.

    And Esme is a great nickname.

    I do think she might be tough to pair with the middles, though – Esmerelda Ivy Maud, Esmerelda Ivy Alice … Wait – I’ll let you do that – you’re much better at it than me. 🙂

    Reply

    • Lola
      Apr 10, 2009 @ 20:23:18

      Too funny, Verity. I think you’re right though. The surname is fairly simple & straightforward. I’ve been playing with combos since just after bathtime and Viola! I have 14 different ones atm. I’ll make another post with them, tomorrow, if you’re interested.

      Oh, and just so you know, you were my 1,000th comment. I feel like I should give out a prize or something! 😀

      Reply

  2. neschria
    Apr 10, 2009 @ 18:28:59

    I think it is really a lovely name that conjures up images of a beautiful, exotic woman. It’s very, very rich with your last name, like a good cheesecake.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Apr 10, 2009 @ 21:13:30

      Thank you, Neschria. I’m going to go savor her tonight. Still working on combos tonight. Check back tomorrow, if you want, they’ll be up fairly early. 😀

      Reply

  3. appellationmountain
    Apr 10, 2009 @ 23:26:38

    I was the 1,000 comment?! Wahoo!

    I’ll sit here and imagine balloons dropping. Possibly a brass band.

    I can’t wait to see the new combos.

    Reply

  4. Emmy Jo
    Apr 12, 2009 @ 13:45:29

    I like Esmeralda. While it feels Spanish, its literary use makes it accessible to other cultures, and that makes it sound okay with your last name.

    I’ve considered adding the similar (in my mind at least) Esperanza to my own list. I am part Mexican, although our surname is not — but we might be able to pull it off.

    Reply

  5. Lola
    Apr 12, 2009 @ 13:51:31

    Thanks Emmy Jo! I’ve been playing with combos for 2 days now and think I have a few really grand ones going.

    Esperanza is lovely, I don’t know how plain (or not) your surname is, but think it would work for you if it’s on the simple side. “Why Not” I say!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

