Frank

Yes, I know, he’s brash and a bit rough and Ol’ Blue Eyes did Frank no favors. But I recently went digging through the family tree and realised that my Uncle Frank was just Frank. Not Francis/Frank. Now, I’m still inclined to use Francis and nn him Frank but I admit, I like Frank much better than Francis.  And I have another confession: Jason Statham plays an awful lot of Frank (well, 2 really) and I watched “Death Race” again last night.  Yeah, and I’m going to see if I can talk him into “The Transporter” tonight. Yeah, I’ve got a thing going here, it seems. I just like looking at him, don’t care that he’s not a top actor but wow! his action flicks are awesome!  (that’s enough of that, then)

So, Frank. Is he enough to stand on his own or should I go with my gut and go with Francis in full, Frank as a nickname?  I have no Frank alone combos, not yet. I will be working on those shortly. I have Francis though, and I adore his combo: Francis Henry Porfirio, nn Frank. How adorable would a tiny Frankie be? 🙂  I’m melting just thinking about that!

So, which would you choose? Francis or Frank?  Wanna tell me why?  I’d love to know! 

 

As always, thanks a million. I appreciate it more that you know!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. audeline
    Apr 07, 2009 @ 23:04:54

    Frank’s growing on me. It’s very honest and American and earthy. Aww Frank. Phonetically it just doesn’t quite work for me yet though.

    Myself, I would use Francis just because I really love Francis. It’s great with Henry, too. Wow what a great name. But you love Frank more! I don’t know, it’s complicated. I guess Francis is a bit more worldly, because it’s more closely related to the other Franc- names. Frank does take some away from the connection.

    Also, I don’t think Francis/Frank vs just Frank is a really lopsided issue, like John/Jack vs Jack, at least not yet – that is, Frank still comes really intuitively from Francis for most people. It stands alone fine, of course, and is a bit less feminine, which is worth considering. I know a kid whose middle name is Francis and for some baffling reason, maybe because he’s embarrassed about it, people tease him well into high school. It hasn’t damaged him or anything though.

    I actually know two Franks my age. Short kids. Completely opposite in every other way except for being short. I also have a female cousin named Frances “Frankie” whom I haven’t met. Apparently she was teased about Frankenstein when she was little, if that bothers you at all.

    Reply

  2. Emmy Jo
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 00:47:14

    I actually really like Frank. (It’s not one I expected to like, since I’m not a huge fan of Gus, Fred, Hank, and other names with a similar feel.)

    On my list, he’s Franklin in full — inspired by a character from Wilkie Collins’s “The Moonstone.” I do think Frank feels a little incomplete on his own. While I prefer him to Francis, Frank is a bit informal and it might be nice to have Francis as an option.

    So I guess my choices in order would be Franklin/Frank, then Francis/Frank, then just Frank.

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 08:52:18

    Aww, thanks you two!

    Audeline, I think you’re right on Francis/Frank being like John/Jack (which is the only way I’d ever get a Jack myself)!

    Frankenstein, that plays right into the family pre-occupation with classic horror elements. Vampires, monsters & zombies are a frequent play around here. Leo & Simon when little didn’t play Cowboys & Indians, they played “Van Helsing & Dracula” So, you see how Frankenstein would potentially fit right in? 😀 (And the Frances on a girl option is middle because Mom really hated her name *that* much.

    Emmy Jo, thanks for the Frank love, really. I think Franklin’s not for me. It’s too surnamey for a first name and not family at all. Frances & Frank are. So I figured the masculine Francis by default. I actually quite like Francis and think it’d fly nicely here in the Boston suburbs. I thought about this all night and finally decided Francis/Frank was the way to go, at least for me. Franklin’s lovely but so very not for me. 😀

    Reply

  4. Laura
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 09:25:21

    I started liking Frank or Frankie since watching Dear Frankie. Aww it is just one of the cutest movies one of the few that made me cry (sorry about always relating names to movies or books :D). I think that Frank and Josephine go well together. Curious, does Josephine have a nickname?

    Reply

  5. Lola
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 10:32:20

    “Dear Frankie”, I’ll have to check that out, maybe netflix? Thans for the headsup on that, Laura. Anything I can use to further sell a name to him, works for me!

    Does Josephine have a nickname? My goodness, she’s got a dozen! Josie is what I keep trying to enforce, I think it’s the most intuitive from Josephine but she is insisting on Effie or Poppy right now (she changes hourly, if not daily) There’s also Posy, Fifi (which I use when she’s being overly dramatic) and Fee, which doesn’t happen often). Then there are the things that have nothing to do with her name: Cuppycake, Princess Whinypants, SweetiePea, and Sillyface. So there you go! 😀

    Reply

  6. babynamelover
    Apr 23, 2009 @ 17:16:25

    Frank- it’s my Granddad’s name 🙂

    Reply

    • Lola
      Apr 23, 2009 @ 18:20:56

      Oh very ccool! My Uncle was Frank, just Frank and I absolutely loved him to pieces. I think I’m just going to stick with Francis and use Frank as a nickname. Much nicer for me, honoring two in one! 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

