Inspirations from Elspeth & Margery

I figured, since these two are such big hits about now (Margery & Elspeth are #2 & 3 atm), I should look around for other names that feel similar, see if anything jumps out at me. Came up with these:

Graeme/Graham                                                         Susannah
Gerard                                                                                 Aurora
Crispin                                                                                Rafaela
Reid/Reed                                                                         Marian/Marion
Sinclair                                                                               Edna
Elias                                                                                     Niamh
Declan                                                                                 Eleri
Bram                                                                                    Rosemary
Clark                                                                                    Amelia
Hugh                                                                                   Willa
Hollis                                                                                  Eleanor
Kenneth                                                                         Bryony
Simon                                                                             Alice
Duncan                                                                             Anne
Charles                                                                              Anna
Bertram                                                                           Verity
Archibald                                                                        June
Callum                                                                             Beatrix
Malachy
                                                                         Lilias
Arthur                                                                            Maisie
Evander                                                                           Sibyl
Finlay
                                                                             Mina
August                                                                           Effie
Rupert                                                                           Fiona
Edward                                                                         Maeve
Finn                                                                                 Cecily
Colin
Ivor
Eamon
Edmund
Barnaby
Gareth
Cormac
Alasdair

 

As you can see  there are a fair amount of my ‘already on the list favorites’ up there already. Which tells me I’m at least staying within my own stylistic arena and I think that’s good. 🙂  beyond the few already on my lists, is there anything up there I should add to my lists? Whether it be the “working list”, the “collected favorites” list or just the “Names I admire” list, anything strike you as decent up there?

Anything you like and think I should too?  Let me know!

 

As always, thanks for stopping by!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Apr 04, 2009 @ 11:29:36

    I’m a fan of Declan, myself, but I don’t like it for you. My love is the love of a fan, so it doesn’t exactly fit with me, either, but I make it work! I like Sinclair as a guilty pleasure, too. It’s so crisp!

    I think you could do awesome things with Verity, whether in the front or the middle. Willa, too.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Apr 04, 2009 @ 11:59:45

    Yeah, I know what you mean about Declan. I think he’s spiffy, but not really for me. Only plus is he sounds good with the surname. Other than that, I just don’t like it enough to even play around with it.

    I know what you mean about Sinclair! The one like that for me is Sterling. I was a HUGE Winnie the Pooh fan as a kid and Sterling Holloway was a huge favorite because of it. (He was in a few early Superman episodes too, which is a real treat for me!) G9o check out his Resume at IMDb: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0001359/
    The voice of Winnie the Pooh? Yeah, that was his regular voice!

    So Sterling’s a huge GP for me!

    Verity & Willa, Hmmm? Going to have to stew on those a bit.

    Thanks a million! 😀

    Reply

  3. Lauren
    Apr 04, 2009 @ 14:18:47

    I vote for you adding Bertram and Edmund to your list. 😀 They’re both on mine, although lately I am preferring Bertrand to Bertram. How do you feel about Bertrand? I think Bert/ Bertie is really cute.

    Ooo Ivor too, that could be a fun name to work with.

    I think you’ve already got all the good girls’ names from that list to be honest. I’d like to see Edna around a bit more, though. Verity is not really my style, I dislike the phonetics, but Vera is my #1 for a girl. WDYTO Vera?

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Apr 04, 2009 @ 14:49:00

    Thanks Lauren! Bertie’s adorable, which is how Bertram ended up there in the first place. I prefer the Bert- names to the -bert ones for some reason. Maybe it’s as simple as I’d rather Bert/Bertie from any of them and nothing else.
    Bertrand’s nice but a bit too smooth for me, I like the clunky ones.

    I like Verity’s meaning, which is why she ended up there. I like Amity’s meaning too, but everyone & their third Uncle thinks “Amityville Horror” which was just a bunch of sillyness, imho. But I can’t inflict that sort of mass thinking on a kid of mine, can I? ;P

    Edna’s just beginning to appeal, which is how she got on the list, told you that clunk appeals! Vera’s lovely. I’m really liking the way the Russians say Vera ( VYE-rah ) it’s gorgeous in Russian! I’ll have to think about Vera too. She’s lush!
    Thanks! 😀

    Reply

  5. Laura
    Apr 05, 2009 @ 07:23:41

    I quite like Bryony like in Atonment . Its a really strong name I think I may add it to my favourite name list 😀
    Other names I like include Arthur, Rupert, Finn, Edmund, Lilias and Aurora.

    Reply

  6. Lola
    Apr 05, 2009 @ 14:03:08

    Bryony appeals to me for her nature link. But we’re very good friends with a little Brian. He goes by Buddy 90% of the time but he’s still Brian often enough that I think Bryony’s not for us. But I do like it! Aurora is one I really like but I find it very hard to say. And in a lot of instances Aurora rhymes with my full name (which is the same as yours!). Arthur’s awesome, Rupert is one I’m still trying to sell (I got Rufus but Rupert, he says is too ‘posh’) I’m going to see if I can common it down a bit for him. Finn’s a bit nicknamey for me, but I like the nickname. Phineas & Finlay are my mainstream Finn faves; Finbar & Fintan are my more unusual Finn faves. Lilias may be going up front soon, I’m really liking Lilias!

    Reply

  7. Emmy Jo
    Apr 05, 2009 @ 21:11:09

    I think this is the area where our styles overlap because I love quite a few names on this list — the sort of old-fashioned medieval English/Scottish familiar names.

    It’s hard to pick favorites, but right now I’m drawn to Alasdair, Edmund, Edward, Arthur, August, Gareth, Graham, Eleanor, Willa, Marian, Beatrix, Lilias, Cecily, and Maisie (nickname only).

    Today, I’m particularly crushing on Edmund and Willa.

    Reply

  8. Lola
    Apr 06, 2009 @ 07:42:24

    I think you’re right Emmy Jo. Of the ones you mentioned, the only one not in use somewhere on our lists is Marion/Marian. Because Marion was his Aunt (another one of his Pop’s sisters) but it doesn’t look very girly to me. I prefer Marian and he’s adamant for Marion. So I ignore it, for now. Maybe it’ll grow on me in that spelling! And Maisie is preferred as a nickname in this house.

    I like Willa but it’s always struck me as nicknamey, for Wilhelmina. So I’m trying to work with it but am ignoring it for now in favor of Lilias.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

