Elspeth, Once Again

I am firmly enchanted with Elspeth, but am still looking for the combo that feels just right to me. Elspeth Margery Violet is still on the charts but there are days when I think she’s a bit too story-bookish. So I went to him and we had another big run through of the lists and sat and talked over lunch (it’s so nice having him home sometimes!) and this is what we came up with:

 

Elspeth Iris Pearl – He put this one together, I think it’s pretty! But this is the only non honoring combo on the potential list and I wonder, will she feel slighted?
Elspeth Primrose Maud – another all honoring combo, but feels a bit more fanciful than  EMV!
Elspeth Margery Violet – stays because while it feels a bit fanciful, it definitely honors, all the way around
Elspeth Matilda Violet – rather than Maud, I thought I’d try the related Matilda out. And I’m liking EMM initials, maybe a sometimes nickname? Elsa, Bess, Lily, Emmy?
Elspeth Jemima Lily – Jemima’s still floating around off list, (Jemima Frances Ruby) but I thought to try Jemima out in the middle, Lily’s for Grandma. Is it too weird, with Lily being a potential Elspeth nn as well?
Elspeth Romilly Jane – he dug this one out of his memory, maybe that’s a sign?

So that’s where she stands for now, with those pairings.  You’ve got my basic thoughts on each of these, and I can elaborate, if you want. What do you think of these few? Anything there strike you?  I think we have a winner of a pairing,  well, at least three up there charm me to pieces.  How about you?

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caitlin B
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 10:54:06

    Nell or Nellie could also be a nn, if you’re into that. I think it’s adorable.

    Maybe Romilly Jane is a sign… is she one of the ones that twinkles your toes?

    I like Margery Violet so much. I don’t personally consider Margery too fanciful – it was the name of the receptionist at my pediatrician. She was the stern librarian type. Lovely lady though.

    I also like Jemima better in the middle name slot, and I like her very much with Elspeth. I think if she were called Lily, and had it as a middle name, it might take away from Elspeth. Like, you named her Elspeth, but didn’t like it enough to call her that, and used her middle instead. I don’t know, I just think Elspeth is so great, and I wouldn’t want her to be overshadowed.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 13:02:11

    Romilly’s perfectly fine for me; she makes his toes curl with pleasure, which is why I keep trying to find a place for her.
    Elspeth’s nicknames, in likely order: Bess, Elsa (although these two flip daily), Nell (thanks for the thought, I LOVE Nell!) and Lily. Potential Emme/Emmy for her initials, if I go with one of the EM combos, her intials would be EMM! (or even just Em. But then I’d be afraid of “Auntie Em jokes” (I have a bunch of friends really into the Wizard of Oz flick and am partenered with one who can pick the live ostriches out as clear as day). So Em/M might be a bit weird. And then there’s the Bond ‘M’ too. oh heck!

    Reply

  3. ysaxenia
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 14:10:34

    Elspeth is thoroughly charming, and Elsie and Elsa have great potential as nicknames (Nell reminds me of some sort of farmer’s cheese and Lily is far too common and bland to use on a regular basis). I jumped at Elspeth Jemima Lily, though. I think she’s the perfect thing for Elspeth, cheerful! She has the best flow of the six as well. I like it. 😀

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 15:26:01

    Nell makes you think of cheese, Ysa? Wow, there’s a first for me. Usually it’s the nasty girl on “Little House” people tell me about with Nell/Nellie.

    Thanks for the vote for Elspeth Jemima Lily. She warms my heart. Elspeth is definitely a keeper & a riser, for me. I think she’s wonderful! And yes, Elsie & Elsa are far more likely than anything else, really.

    Reply

  5. appellationmountain
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 15:27:43

    I like Elspeth Romilly Jane, with Elspeth Matilda Violet a close second.

    Reply

  6. appellationmountain
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 15:27:57

    And Emmy is a sweet nickname!

    Reply

  7. Lola
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 15:44:56

    Aww, thanks Verity, He’ll be happy to see your post! Emmy is sweet, but I’m starting to hear it everywhere, I think Elsie is more likely (especially since it was the nn of Grandpa’s sister Elisabeth too). But yeah, I can guarantee Emmy’d slip out a handful of times at least as often as Fifi does!

    Reply

  8. Cat
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 15:46:43

    Margery Violet is still it for me, although I really like Jemima Lily, too. I just love the storybook yet real world feel of MV. Call me crazy!

    Reply

  9. Lola
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 18:04:33

    If you’re crazy, then so am I. She’s definitely my favorite but she’s not his. Which is why I keep digging. Mind you, so is he but I feel as though I should work with him on this one.

    Reply

  10. Laura
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 19:19:18

    Hi Lola

    I think Elspeth is quite sweet and you have chosen some really nice combos! my faourites are
    Elspeth Iris Pearl and Elspeth Primrose Maud. I really like Jemima Lilly but I’m not sold on it with Elspeth i fell as if Jemima should be the first name

    Reply

  11. Lola
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 20:08:56

    Thanks Laura! Elspeth Iris Pearl really is pretty but honors no one, so it’s probably not staying. I like at least 2 names that honor in each combo and this one’s got a stretch at best (Pearl for Margery) .

    Elspeth Primrose Maud actually does honor all the way around but I feel as though she’s even more lightweight than Elspeth Margery Violet, which I keep second guessing because it fell together way easily!

    It’s going to be a toss up between his Elspeth Romilly Jane & my Elspeth Margery Violet, I think.

    Reply

  12. JJ
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 02:47:51

    Elspeth is lovely but I don’t see how you get Lily or Bess from it. I think if I wanted to derive those nicknames I’d go for Elisabeth and have the choice of Elspeth, Lily or Bess.

    I do think the combos are a bit story-bookish, not that there’s anything wrong with that! Nearly all the combos are made up of three old-fashioned/individual names. I’d chuck in a more common name to even it out a bit, but that’s just personal taste.

    Reply

  13. Sarah
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 04:13:23

    Elspeth Romilly Jane over Elspeth Margery Violet any day!

    It just has that flow that I don’t think Elspeth Margery Violet has. Sounds like a name not just a list of names.

    Reply

  14. Lola
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 07:59:29

    JJ, Lily and Bess are traditional Elisabeth nicknames and since Elspeth is the Scots form of Elisabeth, I figure, why not?

    For me, Violet, Jane, Iris, Maud & Lily are pretty normal feeling. I know Maud is like, old lady too but she feels pretty mainstream to me (I feel she’s going to get there sooner than most people think). So yeah, I know where you’re coming from, JJ and I think a touch of that storybook feel is okay, you know?

    And Sarah, they’re running out in a poll right now. His vs. mine. And I’m just checking in now & then to see how it’s going. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Emmy Jo
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 14:48:08

    I love Elspeth Margery Violet. Maybe it’s a bit storybookish, but it’s not Gloriana Isobel Plum. It still feels like it could be a real person, and I know honoring names are extremely important to you.

    Elspeth Matilda Violet is my second favorite. It is a bit more grown up sounding — Matilda’s more mature than Margery, methinks.

    Reply

  16. Lola
    Apr 02, 2009 @ 15:21:05

    Thanks Emmy Jo! My only problem with Matilda is the her name was Maud, whih was the nickname, yes but it was hers, not Matilda. And Margery’s a cousin. So that honors more directly.

    Go find the “Elspeth, We’re arguing over which one – help”! poll and vote. ERJ is winning by double (12-6). And I am just watching this one. I cast my one vote and am sitting back on this one. Here: <a href=”“>Elspeth

    Okay, so it looks weird, I cna’t figure out how to make it look right!

    Reply

  17. babynamelover
    Apr 23, 2009 @ 17:50:03

    Elspeth Jemima Lily is gorgeous!!!!!!!

    Reply

    • Lola
      Apr 23, 2009 @ 18:44:37

      Aww, thanks! But Elspeth Romilly Jane won by a landslide. She makes Him happy though, so it doesn’t bother me much. I still have my very favorite in first place! 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

