Edith, revisited

I’m still thinking about Edith. I have my standard bearer, the one on the list: Edith Viola Petronel, which I’m still loving.

But I had a new thought yesterday, Edith Moon. yeah, Hippie thread on BtN. I’m a closet Hippie, thanks Mom & Pop! and I have to admit, the thought of Edith Moon ___  or Edith __ Moon really intrigues me. I tried out Edith ___ Moon first, as that’s how closet a Hippie I am and came up with these few that really wow me:

Edith Eulalie Moon
Edith Fenella Moon
Edith India Moon
Edith Raphaela Moon
Edith Roxana Moon
and
Edith Clarissa Moon

What do you think?  Anything there that looks better than Edith Viola Petronel? Or even Edith Zenobia Violet, which held place for a few weeks?  Sorry for the short post today, We’re off to the park (if it’s not raining by lunchtime)!

 

Thanks for any & all thoughts, they are most appreciated!  😀

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emma
    Mar 29, 2009 @ 13:05:54

    Oooh Clarissa next to Edith.
    Moon isn’t doing much for me in these combos, just aesthetically – it might grow on me though. But I really like the idea of it next to Clarissa, just meaning-wise.

    All of these are good. Raphaela might be my second favorite, it’s just so rich. Then maybe Eulalie, which is singing and joyful. I love Edith next to E names. Also: next to Zenobia. Wow.

    Reply

  2. ysaxenia
    Mar 29, 2009 @ 14:17:26

    “Moon” aloud has a very pleasing sound. “Moooon!” It’s like a perfectly enclosed circle, or a water droplet on a water resistant surface. However, the spelling makes it a little silly for me, with the double “o.” I so wish the word were “mune” instead! Haha! If you like Moon I would recommend going with Lune or Luna, even though they are a little starbaby. Out of your Moon combos, Edith Raphaela Moon is truly spectacular! I do think that is a fantastic composition. However, your already standing two would get my vote- Petronel is for family, which usually trumps most other things for me, and Zenobia is the name of the queen. Gorgeous.

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Mar 29, 2009 @ 15:36:41

    Yeah, Moon is kinda silly, huh? I suppose even burying it in third is a bit much. I had hoped it might not be so. Oh well. He’s still completely behind Zenobia, so that’s back and Edith Viola Petronel is staying an alternate.

    Thanks you two, it helped, a lot! 😀

    Reply

  4. Laura
    Mar 29, 2009 @ 21:12:06

    People seem to go for fames like moon now. In the paper there is Springtime, Starr this week and even Sunshine this week. Though i wouldnt say i love moon i like it much more from sunshine or spring time. The name which sounds the nicest would be Edith India Moon. I always go for India don’t I? not intentionally, it just sounds fab!! :D:D:D

    Reply

  5. Davena
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 05:20:15

    Edith reminds me of a great aunt. I have a great aunt Myrtle that I’d love to name a baby for, but I just wonder if it’s too … much of an old lady. I like the nn’s Milly or Tilly.

    Edith Viola Petronel is totally the winner up there for me.

    Reply

  6. Lola
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 08:02:18

    Funny, the moon is a symbol of my birthsign and He suggested it as a Hippy -type name because he’s reading something about Keith Moon right now (Dear Boy? Has a huge picture of Keith on the cover). I don’t know and in my head, Moon beats Keith! Edith Zenobia Violet & Edith Viola Petronel are staying but I ran these off in a poll yesterday and Edith India Moon tied with Edith Zenobia Violet! So I may just keep EIM in my back pocket, for a “just in case” scenario!

    So there you go, Laura, India’s completely charming me too, so she stays, but not officially. It helps that I already have India in our #1 combo.

    Davena, Myrtle charms me. Really, I like it (He doesn’t so it’s not on our lists) but I really like it. For me, Tillie is almost natural for Myrtle but Milly seems to be a valid option ars well. Wow, I really like Myrtle!

    Reply

  7. Jim
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 10:21:37

    Lola, I think Edith India Moon and Edith Raphela Moon are both exemplary combos. I know you’re more than partial to the three-name sets, but I also think Edith Moon by itself is particularly lovely and well-balanced.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Apr 01, 2009 @ 12:57:20

      Jim, I have no clue how you found me but wow, thanks for that shot of confidence! 🙂
      Edith India Moon is riding in my back pocket as a “just in case” sort of thing. I’m really liking Edith these days, she’s in 4th place atm and looking to move up yet again, he mentioned he likes her buttoned up feel overall, but how free Edie feels. So I’m thinking he’s liking her quite a bit too.

      Reply

  8. babynamelover
    Apr 23, 2009 @ 18:02:06

    I like Edith India Moon

    Reply

  9. Lola
    Apr 23, 2009 @ 18:52:00

    Thanks! She’s a wildcard, but you never know with those. Edith is a firm favorite, though.

    Reply

Leave a comment