Edgar

Yes, he’s back. πŸ™‚ I was thinking Edgar around Xmas time last year and he’s resurfaced in my quest to put something “on the charts” on a boy. I realised the other day that all the boys names on our list bar Edward, Francis, Oscar (all wildcards) and Arthur are fairly odd, if you get my meaning.

So Edgar. He intrigues me more than Edward. Maybe it’s because of “Twilight” (which was fine but I’m no 16 year old girl anymore and ho hum, am bored with hearing about “teh hot vampire”. Enough already!

Edgar Frog is where my brain goes first. Yeah, I’m generally a vampire fan, but Edgar was a vampire hunter in “Lost Boys” and I’m the perfect age to be a huge fan of that flick! Edgar Rice Burroughs is next for me, Tarzan & John Carter rule! πŸ™‚ Then Edgar Allan Poe third, Big fan of him here. Off the top of my head, there’s also Edgar Degas, he of the ballerinas on canvas and Edgar Cayce, American psychic, too. I’m sure there’s a handful I’m still missing but these few are what I first associate Edgar with myself.

I like Edgar, his brooding, Gothic vibe really appeals to me. But then, deep down inside, I’m a Gothgirl. πŸ™‚ He’s also a bit pugnacious feeling to me, anyone else get that sort of vibe?

Have been thinking combos but only have beginnings:
Edgar Ignatius (for the patriarch)
Edgar Damien
Edgar Conan (Because Arthur doesn’t work, two ‘r’ enders together 😦   )
Edgar John (bland yes, but it’s one of Pop’s middles)
Edgar Blaise/Bleys (Blaise for the Math, Bleys for Zelazny!)
Edgar Graham (His grandpop, too ggg-y?)
Edgar Magnus (just because)
Edgar Florian (I LOVE Florian but realise it’s too flowery for a Yank boy)
Edgar Tiberius (for Kirk)
Edgar Rudolf (because I love him)
Edgar Jocelin (because it’s one of my favorite gone girly boys names and I know better than to use it up front)
Edgar Morgan (Piratey & rummy)
Edgar Xerxes (because I dig the sound and love the strength)
Edgar Malcolm (Malcolm sounds cartoony with my surname up front, so I think he fis well in the middle)
Edgar Maxim (still trying to fit my G. Uncle’s name in somewhere)
Edgar Valentin (another G. Ucle and Pop in a roundabout way)
Edgar Porfirio (Sweet! I love the swoosh of Porfirio!)
Edgar Cotton (as a nod to NE)
Edgar Hugh (I think Hugh softens Edgar up a bit)
Edgar Taliesin (Because I like the myth and have a friend with the name too [‘husband’ of my GF Sue])
Edgar August (For Mom)
Edgar Barnaby (Barnaby lightens up Edgar nicely)
Edgar Malachy (another lightener upper?)
Edgar Phineas (I like his expansive feel next to Edgar)
Edgar Peregrin (as a nod to da MAN)
Edgar Maxfield (forΒ  Parrish, our favorite Artist)
Edgar Lucius (maybe Lucius isn’t so heavy in the middle?)
Edgar Miles/Milo (Still thinking about this one from Josephine)
Edgar Laszlo (One of the G. G. Uncles)

Β 

And that’s where my brain stops.Β  There’s a couple (well, more than a couple) that I really like up there. I was trying to stick those more “out there” names he likes in the middle just because I can and I think Edgar carries off the “odd in the middle” quite well.

Β 

Β What do you think of Edgar these days and does anything up there jump out at you?Β  Let me know, please? πŸ˜€

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. R. L.
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 13:14:26

    I like Edgar Porfirio (swoon), Edgar Ignatius and Edgar August. I am liking strings of vowel names these days.

    An addition to your list of Edgars: Edgar, son of Gloucester, from King Lear.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 13:30:57

    Thank you! I just listed the Edgars my brain pulls up first, and Shakespeare’s King Lear is one of my least favorite of his, which is why it doesn’t come up. I remember having to re-read that Sophmore year of HS. Blah.

    Thanks for the votes, I have a soft spot for Ignatius in particular. I might reintroduce him to first place sometime soon. πŸ™‚ Again, Thanks a million, R.L. !

    Reply

  3. Colette
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 15:06:39

    LOVE Edgar ! I totally agree with the Goth sound. And Twilight has taken away several of my favorites. Alice and Esme especially.
    Edgar Barnaby has a special something. Edgar Morgan also. I see both as “Piratey”. My favorite though has to be Edgar Taliesin. Taliesin and Calidore have to be two of my favorites for the boys. Edgar Porfirio sounds like someone all the girls would have a crush on. Think “Edward”.

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 16:18:06

    I’ve always put Esme in the middle, firstly, it’s too short to pair nicely with Josephine in full and Esmeralda is the family name, I was using the nickname version (Esme) to honor and those usually go in the middle for me.
    Alice, same thing, since it was a name Mom wanted for me. So Twilight didn’t hurt them much, for me (and I actually got my
    hands on the set & devoured it in 4 and a half days). Didn’t impress me much but it was a fun distraction.

    Edgar Taliesin would make my GF grin, Tal hates his name and wishes he had a more solid first. This would be a dream for him!

    Thanks for the other votes, too. I’m still looking for a place for Porfirio. I would love to use it somewhere, but am having a time finding someplace where he works beautifully. You’re a doll, Colette, Thanks! πŸ˜€

    Reply

  5. neschria
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 21:18:08

    I love this block:
    Edgar August
    Edgar Barnaby
    Edgar Malachy
    Edgar Phineas

    I am more of an Edmund girl, myself, but I think I could warm up to Edgar pretty easily. Poe kinda rocks my socks.

    Reply

  6. Sarah
    Mar 28, 2009 @ 07:07:52

    You put Malachy in there!

    Reply

  7. Lola
    Mar 28, 2009 @ 09:16:05

    neschria, thanks for the votes. Barnaby, Malachy & Phineas are on the worktable right now.

    Of course, Sarah, Malachy’s awesome! πŸ˜€

    Reply

  8. babynamelover
    Apr 23, 2009 @ 19:06:44

    I like Edgar Rudolph, Edgar Barnaby, Edgar Miles are all lovely

    Reply

  9. Lola
    Apr 23, 2009 @ 20:09:46

    Aww, thanks! Edgar Miles has the most potential of the ones you listed. Barnaby’s already in two combos in the middle (one’s a wildcard) and one up front. So I don’t think he needs much more exposure from me. But I really do dig Barnaby. He’s singable, just like Josephine is! πŸ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

