India?

I think everyone knows I’m completely taken with India at the moment. I have her in two different combos in the middle:

Maud India Scarlett
Clementine India Jane

But am still toying with India possibly up front. What do you think of these possible pairings?

India Callisto Elinor
India Clementine Jane (why not?)
India Frances Elinor
India Elinor Valentine
India Frances Isobel
India Lucy Kathleen
India Mathilda Irene
India Margery Primrose
India Lily Marigold
India Lily Winifred
India Mehetabel Jane
India Lucy Raphaela
India Alice Valentina
India Lily Gwendolen
India Ivy Marguerite
India Esme Lavender
India Violet Mathilde
India Aurelia Violet
India Gwendolyn Adele

Anything there make India a bit more appealing as a first name?  there’s a half dozen up there I’m really digging. I’m finding I really like India with C names, M names and L names next to her (and that’s the only clues you’re going to get for now).   What do you think about India, alone? As a set? Usable? No? Talk to me!  😀

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. appellationmountain
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 15:42:42

    I’m a big fan of India, so I like most of these combos. I like India Callisto Elinor and India Frances Isobel best – I think. These are all fabulous!

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 16:09:25

    Thanks! I’m quite besotted these days and just had to try my hand. I still have to bring India up to him, though and she may not appeal to him like she does me. Then again, I should remind him how much he origianlly wanted India for Josephine, just so he could call her Indy!
    India Frances is gorgeous but I’m not sold on Isobel there just yet. If anything India Callisto Elinor is one of my favorites. I’ve been looking for a place to put Callisto for a long time! 😀

    Reply

  3. Cat
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 16:23:00

    I like India, and I think it’s really pretty. My only problem is the legit snob, but eh. It’s so pretty but I’m not convinced of it with Josephine. I prefer it in the middle, with Clementine, especially.

    However, of the front names, I like it with Aurelia Violet and Frances Elinor. Gorgeous!

    Reply

    • Lola
      Mar 25, 2009 @ 18:17:37

      Cat, I know what you mean about the snob thing, really. But I’m so taken with it atm that I thought I’d try it out up front. I’m not sold on it being a good fit with Josephine either, I’m just toying with an idea.

      It’s definitely staying in the middle with both Maud & Clementine, so no worries. 🙂
      India Frances Elinor is one of my favorites up there!

      Reply

  4. Colette
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 17:20:21

    I VERY seriously considered taking the name India for myself. I love that such a short, little name can have three syllables. The thing that made me decide against it, for me, was a trip to India. It seemed to take away the mystery that I had found soooo appealing. I still love the name.
    I love India Margery Primrose and India Lily Gwendolen. I think they go with Josephine beautifully.
    Yes, I am Night Owl. You can see by my choices for Bellisant how enchanted I am with YOUR name combos. By the way , this name is for me.

    Reply

    • Colette
      Mar 25, 2009 @ 17:47:21

      Reading the list over, I keep coming back to India Clementine Jane. I think I’m loving it.

      Reply

      • Lola
        Mar 25, 2009 @ 18:27:30

        Colette, you pegged my favorite, favorite right off the bat! India Margery Primrose. 🙂

        So, India Clementine Jane or Clementine India Jane?

        I know already I’m keeping Clementine India Jane, I have been searching for the perfect Clementine combo (because I’m completely sold on how perfect Josephine & Clementine are as sisters) and this is it. But India up front is soooo appealing! We’ll be discussing “India as a first name” tonight, I assure you all! 😀

  5. Laura
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 00:07:06

    I love India 😀 I’m so glad you considering it as a first name.

    I have a cousin called India Alice so India Alice Valentina stuck out for me. We some times just call her India Alice (though Alice is her middle name) becuase it goes so well together.

    My second favourite would be India Aurelia Violet. I love Aurelia it just has such a pretty sound to it.

    I’m going therefore for India A names 😀

    Reply

    • Lola
      Mar 26, 2009 @ 08:35:09

      Thanks Laura! How neat you have a cousin with the name, I actually wouldn’t mind seeing it around more myself.
      India Alice Valentina honors Mom’s memory (Alice was one of the two names she wanted for me!) and Valentina’s the girly Valentne, for my Pop.
      India Lucy Kathleen is the only one that equals, as Lucy was the other name Mom wanted for me & Kathleen is my sister!

      Reply

  6. Sarah
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 00:22:30

    My (maybe) daughter to be’s name (hopefully)!

    Its India Pearl/Lilly, September Alice or Adelaide Imogen/Isobel.

    Out of your list….
    India Lily Winifred
    India Clementine Jane (favourite)
    India Alice Valentina
    India Aurelia Violet

    Reply

    • Lola
      Mar 26, 2009 @ 08:38:44

      I’ve got my fingers crossed for you, Sarah! India Pearl is absolutely gorgeous (I’m not a fan of Lilly, it’s too surnamey/corporate for me [Eli Lilly is a drug co. here]) Pretty but feels pharmeceutical to me. I’m heavily rooting for India Pearl for you!

      Thanks for the votes, Deciding on one is going to be very difficult for me!

      Reply

      • Sarah
        Jun 04, 2009 @ 10:59:36

        Happy birthday to Josephine for the other week. As it turns out she will have to share it with little India Lilly.

        Born on the 27th of May at 11.47am. She weighed 6 pound 9 and was 46 cm long at birth. She has the thickest head of black hair imaginable and the littlest of toes. We are so overjoyed to have her and to have brought home such a beautiful baby girl.

        If she had been a boy she would have been a Benjamin Rio (nicknamed Banjo) or an Ashley Oliver. And she was so almost a September but I love her name. To me, India Lilly is stunning.

  7. Colette
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 00:25:53

    I have to say Clementine India Jane has my heart.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Mar 26, 2009 @ 08:42:25

      No worries, Colette, as I said above, Clementine India Jane is staying in #3 spot (Behind Maud & Ottilie) but may be bumping Ottilie down to move to second place soon!

      Reply

  8. Vicky
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 12:02:29

    When I think India I think deep reds and purples, but Lily is white and Jane and Clementine are orange. So I’d put India with names like Scarlett, Ruby, Natalya, Rose, Poppy, maybe Pearl (of the Empire!)… something a bit dramatic rather than comfortable, like Lucy or Kathleen:

    Scarlett India Pearl,
    India Victoria Rose,
    Poppy India Rose,
    India Charlotte Ruby,
    India Carlotta Rose,
    India Tia Rose,
    Victoria India Rose,
    India Natalya Ruby,
    India Othelia Pearl

    WDYT?

    Reply

    • Lola
      Mar 26, 2009 @ 12:48:09

      Not a bad try, Vicky! I already have Maud India Scarlett, and dislike Charlotte (all I see when I look at is is cHARLOTte) blah. But India Natalya is lovely as is India Carlotta. A form of Rose is already in my older girls name, so I’m trying to avoid more -rose (failing but still trying).

      Of all the combos, India Mehetabel Jane is easily my favorite of the bunch, followed by India Margery Primrose, India Alice Valentina & India Violet Mathilde. At least they blend color-wise to me. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by Vicky, may I ask how you found me? 😀

      Reply

  9. Vicky
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 10:27:09

    Through Appelation Mountain!

    Reply

  10. Lola
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 10:48:14

    Thanks for checking back! 🙂 I’m always curious as to how people get here and I can’t always follow it back. Verity sends me more traffic than anyone! Yeah for Verity! 😀

    Reply

  11. anna
    Apr 19, 2009 @ 10:51:51

    i have a two year old – Ruby Violet and am having another girl in six weeks, really stuck on finding a name we both agree on! i love India Rose, he likes Roxanna Rose (roxy) what do you think? always loved india and Ruby was nearly Ruby India!

    Reply

  12. Lola
    Apr 19, 2009 @ 12:30:42

    Oh I prefer India with Ruby! They’re both spunky & sweet. I also like the non-repeateing intials. Would you two compromise with India Roxanne? that would be awesome! 😀

    Reply

  13. Being Bindas!
    Oct 23, 2009 @ 11:41:20

    Good read

    Reply

  14. Gorakh Nath
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 02:08:25

    I am glad you love India enough to consider using it as a first name:) To me India is beautiful (if you look in the right places.) But then it’s a beautiful name – short, sweet, and mystical.
    Glad to have visited your blog – wish you a very Happy New Year.
    – Gorakh Nath.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

