Ruby Marilyn

I’m loving this tiny pairing right now. Ruby warms Marilyn right up. And Marilyn is one of my favorite Aunties on Mom’s side that’s still alive. I love her to pieces! And of course, Ruby’s for me, the July kid.

But what to pair her with?  I have a few thoughts:

India Ruby Marilyn
Edith Ruby Marilyn
Esmée Ruby Marilyn
Beatrix Ruby Marilyn
Imogen Ruby Marilyn
Ottilie Ruby Marilyn
Xanthe Ruby Marilyn
Fenella Ruby Marilyn (yeah, he suggested this one!)
Mina Ruby Marilyn

 

Anything there jump out at you? I’m liking a few but don’t want to say anything now as to sway anyone. I want first thoughts on these, really. What do you like here? Or not?   Let me know!

 

Thanks!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. appellationmountain
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 08:20:16

    I kind of love all of these, but Fenella Ruby Marilyn stands out. I’d put her #1. Love the nn Nell.

    I think I’d put India R.M. and Ottilie R.M. tied for second.

    The only one I’m not wild about is Mina Ruby Marilyn. Mina seems like more of a nickname than a given name, especially with big sis Josephine. And with the middles being a little bit shorter than some of your other combos, too.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 10:19:10

    Thanks Verity!

    Fenella’s one that came out of left field. I have to find out why she appeals to him and maybe she’ll appeal to me. Right now she reminds me of swamps or marshes (Fen does that). But I admit Fenella as a whole is a major standout in the crowd!

    India’s a wildcard for first name use, I’m not sure I could live with it full time but I admit, the urge is there. I love the sound and the imagery of India and well, if I hated Indy, I wouldn’t consider it at all (but I love the possibility of Indy, really)

    Ottilie Ruby Marilyn is one that definitely appeals. How does it compare to Ottilie Alice Ghislaine though? I’ll have to think of that!

    Thanks so much for the input. Some days I feel like such a drag! 😀

    Reply

  3. Colette
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 16:02:41

    I always think of who would be Josephine’s little sister first. Can’t help it.
    That being said, Beatrix Ruby Marilyn is the one that jumps out for me.
    Followed very closely by Imogen Ruby Marilyn.
    The only one that falls flat for me is Edith Ruby Marilyn. Edith needs something with a bit more sparkle.
    I’m a Gemini, I might see it differently tomorrow.
    Yeah, that makes me a lot of help.

    Reply

  4. Bizzy
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 18:18:38

    Beatrix Ruby Marilyn leaps off the page!

    Esmee Ruby Marilyn is next for me. I love both of these combos! They are exotic enough to keep up with RM’s flair, but they also have a familiar quality, which I see Ruby Marilyn as having, too. I really love Ruby Marilyn!

    Fenella Ruby Marilyn does have great flow, though. Maybe the best as far as flow goes, actually, for me.

    Reply

  5. Lola
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 19:27:37

    When he can tell me where the !heck! Fenella came from in that head of his, I’ll seriously consider Fenella. She’s neat but waaaay different than Josephine. It’s like Xanthe, Fenella is. 🙂

    I do like Beatrix Ruby Marilyn, quite a bit. Do I like her better than Beatrix Violet Jane? Not entirely sure yet, but stewing on that now.

    Hmmm. Beatrix Ruby Marilyn or Beatrix Violet Jane? Third thought for tonight.

    Thanks all! 😀

    Reply

  6. Laura
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 02:00:32

    Ruby and Marilyn sound really good together good choice. I as always love India so love India Ruby Marilyn. As well as Esmée Ruby Marilyn, Beatrix Ruby Marilyn and Imogen Ruby Marilyn. They are all really pretty combinations.

    Reply

  7. Lola
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 08:49:31

    Thanks, Laura. It looks as though for sheer usability, it’s going to be Beatrix Ruby Marilyn.

    India Ruby Marilyn is gorgeous but I wonder how odd sisters Josephine & India would be? Feels a bit funny to me.
    And really, Beatrix is in 4th place atm so Josephine’s sister is still more likely to be Maud, Ottilie or Clementine. (if she ever gets one!)

    Reply

    • Laura
      Mar 26, 2009 @ 00:10:12

      Well I think Beatrix Ruby Marilyn is pretty darn cute too. I guess i can understand how siblings names need to go together and Beatrix and Josephine go really well together. Does Jospehine also have 2 middle names also?

      Reply

      • Lola
        Mar 26, 2009 @ 08:30:34

        Yes, she does, Laura. As do I, her Pop and her brothers. (and my mother, Grandmother, great Grandmothers….) Family tradition.

        I’m not looking to match, exactly, but I like them to feel cohesive, like they belong together is all.

  8. appellationmountain
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 15:41:20

    Ooh … I forgot about Ottilie Alice Ghislaine. Disregard my prior comment. That’s the keeper for Ottilie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

