Quick decision!

Trying to decide which one belongs in 10th place, here they are, you tell me:

Winifred Elinor Plum
Araminta Violet Isobel
Xanthe Iris Dorothea

Which one would you pick? Why?

 

Thanks!

 

 

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Colette
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 18:16:13

    These are all very lovely ladies! My favorite has to be Winifred Elinor Plum ~ she’s got mischief written all over her. The same way as Josephine!

    How did you come up with the colors a name is? I LOVE it.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 18:28:11

    Thanks Colette! I see them in colors. I see all words/letters as colors. It’s called synesthesia. Google it and you’ll find tons of info on it. I’ve found a good double handful of name nerds who are synesthesists, too. Makes me wonder if they’re linked.

    Winifred’s greenish blue, Araminta’s a glimmering white and Xanthe, well, she’s gold. 😉

    Reply

  3. Cat
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 19:36:07

    Xanthe Dorothea Iris is so vivid to me, but my vote goes to Winnie, too. It manages to be prim and proper but whimsical at the same time! Best spelling of Elinor, too.

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 20:19:39

    Thanks Cat! I’ve been pushing for Winifred, actually. I love that it’s family now and I’m adoring Frida as a possible nickname (nevermind Winnie)!

    But he’s giving me pressure on the other two and I can’t honestly say I hate either one particularly (I do like them quite a bit, Xanthe, especially!) but Winifred, I adore. Your inadvertent flipping of Xanthe Iris Dorothea may give me my best argument against her! Any thoughts on that?

    Reply

  5. Emmy Jo
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 01:30:58

    Josephine Rosamel Anne and Winifred Elinor Plum are perfect sisters, aren’t they? I’m not 100% behind Winifred (perhaps because I’m so in love with Frederick as a boy’s name), but I do like the nickname Winnie.

    My favorite names are found in Araminta Violet Isobel, but I think the rhythm is off in this one. Josephine and Araminta do sound good together, though.

    Xanthe Iris Dorothea is beautiful, and it’s probably my favorite combo out of the three. Xanthe and Josephine are the least well-matched (but then again, didn’t I say just a couple days ago that that really shouldn’t matter?).

    Sorry. I’m no help. They’re all good contenders. And they all have different things going for them. Winifred has the best-matched combo for the sibset, Xanthe has the prettiest combo when considered on her own, and Araminta has the prettiest first name (which is what your daughter would go by most of the time anyway).

    Reply

  6. Lola
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 08:02:21

    Thanks for trying, Emmy Jo!

    It’s coming down to Winifred (for me) and Araminta (for him). Maybe I’ll have to make room for both. I’ll have to figure that out, now.

    Thanks again! 😀

    Reply

  7. Bizzy
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 18:11:11

    Araminta Violet Isobel is my pick! I love it, and I think Araminta is tops of these as the first name, particularly. Winifred Elinor Plum is a spunky fun combo, but I’m not a huge Winifred fan. I find her a bit too clunky, but it doesn’t help that one of our long-time family friends is a man named Winfred. Anyway, I respect it but wouldn’t choose it myself.

    Xanthe Iris Dorothea is a really intriguing combo, but Araminta Violet Isobel is just lovelier, in my opinion!

    Reply

    • Laura
      Mar 25, 2009 @ 02:02:55

      I also agree with Araminta Violet Isobel. Theres something about those names together and i just love how Araminta and violet sound together

      Reply

  8. Lola
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 19:21:16

    He’ll appreciate that vote of yours, Bizzy! I mentioned your suggestion and he loved it. hence the inclusion here. 🙂

    It’s definitely between those two now: Winifred or Araminta? For me it’s family or not? but I do like Araminta quite a lot. We’ll just have to discuss the pros & cons of each tonight (if he’s in the mood). And we’ll see which comes out on top!

    Thanks a million! 😀

    Reply

  9. rockingfetal
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 22:53:18

    Winifred. Overwhelmingly. I love it. It’s familiar but uncommon, has a great nn to go along with your daughter, and possesses such substance.

    Araminta seems flighty and princessy in comparison, and I fear Xanthe would forever need correction. Though it sounds like I’m too late!

    Reply

  10. Lola
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 08:27:21

    Don’t worry Trisha! Winifred’s just moving to the wildcards for now, I still love her but am trying to give him a few spaces on the girls list. 90% of it is me, while 90% of the boys are him. So we’re trying to even it out a bit right now.

    Reply

  11. neschria
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 21:23:04

    Winifred Elinor Plum is easily my favorite, though I like Xanthe Iris Dorothea also. WEP beats it out by a nose.

    Reply

  12. Lola
    Mar 28, 2009 @ 09:13:23

    Thanks, neschria! Araminta made the list by a tiny margin, but both Winifred & Xanthe ended up on the wildcard list. 😀 I just can’t get rid of Winifred!

    Reply

  13. ysaxenia
    Mar 28, 2009 @ 22:17:10

    I typed up a long-ish critique on the three a few days ago, but unfortunately it was erased. :< I’ll tell you my thoughts on the Winifred combo, at least.

    So: Winifred Elinor Plum. I think I may love it. Winifred is distinctly feminine with her Wini- beginning , but I love the edge of -fred. I’m growing accustomed to Plum as a name; she’s lush and earthy, with a beautiful aroma. I actually think of figs instead of plums! I got a great floral/fruit image from the combination- ginger, honeysuckle, and fig arranged as if on an illustration on a fancy soap bottle. Now, I don’t know how great those would smell together, but I thought it was very pretty. :]

    By the way, I’ve jumped on the nameblog bandwagon. I’m at “Ysabeau’s Naming Persuits” – http://ysanames.wordpress.com/ I’d love it if you would add me to your blogroll!

    Reply

    • Lola
      Mar 29, 2009 @ 10:34:33

      Thank you! Winifred’s definitely my favorite of the bunch, maybe seeing this will sway him?

      I’ll pop right over and add you, of course!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

