Philippa & Gwendolen/Gwendolyn

Two names that have been in the back of my head for a few years, I see them being used occasionally online and am really warming up to both recently. Philippa is one I’ve been charmed with since before Josephine, I find her completely charming and she’s orange! (No clue why, either, most P’s are blue!) The other is Gwendolen (or Gwendolyn) which has been a favorite since babysitting one of the most fantastic girls (now women) I’ve ever known. Gwendolyn was 11 then, the oldest of the four kids I watched overnights and was so open, caring, friendly & poised, I loved her instantly. We used to sit and talk for hours after the other three (younger ones) were in bed & asleep. I met her again about 10 years later and she was a pre-med student on the local first aid squad, volunteer, the squad was. If I could remember her surname, I’d google her and tell her how awesome I thought she was (and still do), but I can’t.
But yeah, I love the name Gwendolyn and typical for me with Welsh names, prefer the Gwendolen spelling.
I’m only beginning to toy with combos:

Philippa Alice, Philippa Violet, Philippa Mary, Philippa Ruby, Philippa Iris, Philippa Ivy, Philippa Lucy, Philippa Lily, Philippa Daisy.

Gwendolyn Frances, Gwendolen Frances, Gwendolyn Ruby, Gwendolen Alice, Gwendolyn Oona, Gwendolen Iris, Gwendolen Plum, Gwendolyn Mina.

Like I said, just toying for now. I wonder what sort of reaction to these people would have, so I’d love to hear what you think of Philippa & Gwendolen/Gwendolyn (and of the latter, which spelling you prefer). Should I bother making full combos? C’mon, tell me! I’d love to hear!

Thanks a million!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caitlin B
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 10:35:14

    I love how Philippa feels on my tongue. She’s like.. Skittles! Colorful, sweet, a little bouncy. But only when she’s on my tongue. On paper, she looks a little more serious. I really like her with Josephine, too. Philippa Mary is beautiful, but I like Ruby and Lucy for their playfulness.

    I also prefer Gwendolen to Gwendolyn. But both are still lovely, and the ‘y’ has it’s pluses. For instance, there’s something fantastic about Gwendolyn Frances that isn’t there with Gwendolen Frances. I looove Gwendolen Oona! And Gwendolen Plum is adorable.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 13:39:00

    Thanks Caitlin!
    I asked the other half how to spell Gwendolen/Gwendolyn and even he picked the “Y’ spelling (surprised me a bit). So I guess we’re probably going to stuck with the more common Wyn spelling (even if it does feel a bit masculine to me).

    He tossed out Philippa Saskia Violet, and I have, so far, Philippa Iris June. Hmm. Still thinking though.
    Gwendolyn Mina Violet is around as is Gwendolyn Poppy Frances (Or Gwendolyn Frances Poppy?) & Gwendolen Esme Plum. How about Gwendolyn Frances Marigold? Gwendolen Oona Jane?

    Ahh, I feel like I’m really stretching after Esme Plum. I’m really digging Gwendolyn in particular but Philippa charms me to my toes.

    Anyone else want to weigh in? 😀

    Reply

  3. Emmy Jo
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 15:29:34

    Philippa is pretty, but Gwendolen is a huge favorite of mine. I have her on my list as Gwendolen Eve. Of your combos, I love Gwendolen Iris.

    My favorite Philippa combos are Philippa Lucy, Philippa Mary, and Philippa Ruby. (See a pattern here?) I think Philippa flows better with something that starts with a consonant. I love the idea of Philippa Ivy, but it’s harder for me to say.

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 08:35:07

    Thanks Emmy Jo! I can see how Philippa Ivy would be hard to say. I’m a very precise speaker, myself so it’s not a problem for me. Thanks for the heads up, there! 🙂

    Philippa Ruby is being polled today and I’m working on Philippa Lucy (I find that pair completely charming!) and am also polling Gwendolen/Gwendolyn. I think she’s really gorgeous. I’m thinking of going with the standard spelling (-wyn) as that’s how it’s likely to get spelled off the bat. And I hate enforcing different spellings, no matter how much I like the looks of -wen. (I know I would hate having to spell my name for all & sundry!)

    Thanks again, Emmy Jo! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

