Xanthe

Yes. Really.

Xanthe has intrigued me for quite awhile. Strong, pretty and unusual, with that X up front. I have a fantastic combo for her, up front: Xanthe Iris Dorothea too. But  next to Josephine? (never mind Leo & Simon!) I’m not so sure. I could see me using it, oxymoronically, since I have one blond and two brunettes (although Josie looks to be going blonde, herself).  Since I’ve been thinking Josephine rather stands by herself since the boys are so much bigger and how bad, really is Josephine Rosamel Anne & Xanthe Iris Dorothea?

 

If not, he suggested Xanthe as a middle for Henrietta the other day: Henrietta Xanthe Violet. I’m not completely sold, but yes, I am charmed. I think Xanthe gives the pretty but somewhat flat Henrietta a nice kick in the pants, makes her feel stylish. And Violet, well, the color’s a bit clashy but honoring’s a bit more important, I think. And since Henrietta and Violet both honor, what’s a little flash in between to humor him?

 

Just curious as to whether any of this make sense to anyone but me, what do you all think? How crazy is this idea?

 

 Thanks!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Colette
    Mar 20, 2009 @ 15:36:00

    Henrietta Xanthe Violet! She is a beauty. I grew up with a Xanthe Leilani Blossom, a blond beauty from Hawaii. She is a stock broker now who goes by Anna Lee. Horrors!
    Xanthe definitely takes the “clunkiness” out of Henrietta.

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Mar 20, 2009 @ 18:19:49

    Thanks for the vote, Colette! I’m thinking Henrietta Xanthe Violet is a keeper and will move onto the wildcard list, forthwith. 😀

    Xanthe Leilani Blossom is masquerading as Anna Lee? Horrors, indeed! If I were her, I’d be stockbroker Xanthe Anna. Betcha no one would forget me then!

    Reply

  3. Emmy Jo
    Mar 20, 2009 @ 19:31:50

    Xanthe is fascinating. While it’s not the most obvious name to pair with Josephine, it doesn’t sound horrible. And the other names (“Iris Dorothea”) balance it out to give it a more English feel. Josephine has the exotic Rosamel. (Does this mean “honey rose”, by the way?) Why shouldn’t your other daughter’s exotic name be up front?

    Henrietta Xanthe Violet is pretty, but I prefer Xanthe to Henrietta, so I’d rather see it up front.

    Reply

  4. Lola
    Mar 20, 2009 @ 20:05:53

    Thanks, Emmy Jo! Well, as for Rosamel, I was always told that, but I’m not positive. It’s what I tell her, though as it’s what Great Grandma told me. I figure, why mess with family? 😀 Keep an eye on Appellation Mountain, Verity said she’d do Rosamel in early April. So she may pull up something I’m unaware of.

    Thanks for the thoughts on Xanthe Iris Dorothea. I haven’t broached the topic with him just yet, but I have a feeling she’s odd enough to *really* appeal. And I have to admit, she’s mighty appealing to me.

    Reply

  5. Catherine
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 09:03:39

    I adore Xanthe. Henrietta is a bit too much for me. I can’t decide if I love Violet or not. I definately like your style though, my Barnaby was going to be a Josephine or Iris. His back up boys name was Felix. Lots of the names you mention in your blog I love but just can’t get past my husband. We have currently agreed on Arthur Valentine for a boy and Clementine Daisy for a girl, but we’re both wavering and not even trying for number 2.

    Reply

  6. Lola
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 09:16:54

    Catherine, your husband sounds like a tamer version of mine then! I’m the more classic one, he’s the “wild” one when it comes to names. Welcome! Mine grew into it, when I had the boys, he wanted Nicolas & Alexander (well, those were the only things he suggested from halfway around the world) Leo & Simon were my choices from the family tree.

    I’ve loved Xanthe for a long time, found it while looking for character names back when we played D&D! I think I’m putting Xanthe Iris Dorothea on the wildcard list for now, I’m liking her far too much just to toss her over! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

