The Girly Wildcards

I have far too many wildcards, those combos I love but not as much as the top ones. Or in some cases, more, but I find them a tiny bit unwieldy for day to day use.

 

Ideally, I’d have a top 10 and 10 wildcards. Recently I’ve added three names to the wildcard list, bringing the total up to 16 Wildcards. There’s already 11 girls in the top 10 (I know, I know…) so I need to cull these down to three or four at best and am having the hardest time getting rid of any of them!

 

Ottilie Alice Ghislaine – Tillie, Ottilie, Leeloo, Lina
Susanna Ottilie Pearl – Sukie, Zuzu, Zanna   
Pomeline Frances Elinor – Poppy, Polly, Millie, Molly, Lina

Laetitia Amabel Violet – Lettie, Etta, Lettice
Araminta Lucy Violet – Minna, Mina
Euphemia Elinor Glory – Effie, Mia, Fifi
Elspeth Margery Violet – Elsa, Elsie
Aurelia Romilly Jane – Goldie, Rellie
Mathilda Lucy Elanor – Tillie, Maud, Maudie
Henrietta Ruby Lilias – Hattie, Hettie,  Etta, Harriet
Lucretia Ruby Iris – Lucy, Lulu, Lux
Jemima Frances Ruby – Mimi, Jemma
Zuleika Esme Violet – Zuzu, Zooey
Zenaida Ruby Frances – Zen, Zeni,  Aida, Zinnia, Flower
Florence Lila Ghislaine – Flora, Flory, Fleur, Ren
Romilly Alice Kathleen – Romy, Millie

 

If pushed, I’d say probably the bolded 4 are the biggest loves but I’m already mourning the loss of 6 others not bolded. If you had to pick 4 from this list to use on a girl, which 4 would you pick and why? See why I’m having problems?   Any help at all would be completely appreciated!  Thanks!

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cat
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 16:26:11

    Hm, I’d pick Elspeth Margery Violet, Laetitia Amabel Violet, Mathilda Lucy Elanor and Florence Lila Ghislaine. I know, I know. No help whatsoever, I am. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Colette
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 19:31:38

    Oh Lola! You make me want to have about 47 babies to name. I love,love,love Ottilie Alice Ghislaine! May I have it? Please!!
    Oh, never mind. I’m still hoping I get a chance to use my personal favorite, Bellisant Alice Eglantine.
    My favs are: Aurelia Romilly Jane, Pomeline Frances Elinor and Henrietta Ruby Lilias. I absolutely love these ladies!

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 20:54:27

    You can have Ottilie. I think she she may be going back to second place, bumping Beatrix down to third & Clementine to fourth, but I really do love her. *sigh* she’s just so rich! Unless the next one *is* a girl and looks exactly like Josephine did (dark hair, porcelain skin and deep blue violet eyes) she won’t be Ottilie. That look is Ottilie and that’s it.

    Thanks for the votes, Colette. At this rate, I’m never going to cut it down! *sigh* there’s a huge discussion to be had over here!

    Reply

  4. audeline
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 22:25:23

    I’m a little confused. If you’re not going to use the ones on this list, why do you need to cull them? What’s the purpose of this list exactly?

    My favorite FNs from here are Lucretia, Euphemia, Laetitia, and Zuleika. But my favorite combos are Florence, Romilly, Zenaida, and wow Euphemia + Glory is just awesome. And Jemima’s is close.

    But if it breaks your heart to get rid of them – well, where do they go when you get “rid” of them, anyway?

    Reply

  5. appellationmountain
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 23:35:57

    Just four, hmmm …

    Ottilie Alice Ghislaine – because Ghislaine rocks, as do Tillie AND Leeloo.

    Mathilda Lucy Elanor – again, I love Tillie, but the idea of using Maud/e as a nn for Mathilda is just terribly appealing.

    Zuleika Esme Violet – I just like the combo, and Zuzu is a great nn.

    And Lucretia Ruby Iris – again, the combo is winning, and I love Lux as a nn.

    This is tough!

    Reply

  6. R.L.
    Mar 18, 2009 @ 08:23:13

    My picks of your lovely choices:

    Ottilie Alice Ghislaine – Love this name, love it! Wish I had an Ottilie in my family.
    Aurelia Romilly Jane – Hooray! We made it to the finals.
    Pomeline Frances Elinor
    Jemima Frances Ruby
    Runner up: Romilly Alice Kathleen

    I agree; this is very tough!

    Reply

  7. Lola
    Mar 18, 2009 @ 09:38:20

    Audeline, “where do they go”? To the “Grandkids” list I’ve been keeping since the boys were sprogs. These are the “I love these combos/names but think they may be a bit much for the girl” names. That’s why they’re Wildcards, as in “a wild chance they may get used”. Thanks for the votes, I appreciate it!

    Verity, Thanks! You’ve got 2 of my very favorites there, Ottilie & Lucretia. 🙂

    R.L. Pomeline & Jemima are the two that kill me to potentially lose. Thanks for the votes!

    We had a huge discussion late last night , on the merits & drawbacks of each name/combo on this list and we’ve pretty much cut it to six, four possibles and two “well, if she looks like…” combos. Here they are:

    Ottilie Alice Ghislaine
    Lucretia Ruby Iris
    Laetitia Amabel Violet (the urge to re-use an exact family combo is almost overwhelming)
    Elspeth Margery Violet

    And the two extra:
    Henrietta
    Jemima
    Thanks for helping Gang! 😀

    Reply

  8. Emmy Jo
    Mar 18, 2009 @ 18:46:55

    Colette — I’m glad to see Bellisant is still a top favorite!

    Lola — My personal top four from your list are:

    Susanna Ottilie Pearl (since Susanna’s in my top 10)

    Laetitia Amabel Violet (especially the middle names)

    Araminta Lucy Violet (I’m loving Araminta after your last post on her)

    Elspeth Margery Violet (sound so Scottish and sweet)

    As a combo, I adore Euphemia Elinor Glory. I don’t like Euphemia as much as these other first names, though, so it doesn’t make my top four.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Mar 18, 2009 @ 19:04:43

      Here’s the Euphemia (her folks call her Emma) that sold me on Euphemia: http://sodbusters.wordpress.com/2008/12/
      You can dig around the site, she’s a sweetie (her mom). Euphemia has a little brother now, Stephen. So cute!

      So I don’t know. We talked again a bit and Laetitia is out. He feels weird about re-using a complete name. I’m going to see if I can re-use at least Amabel Violet because they are stunning together. But I think Euphemia’s going to replace Laetitia. He’ll be happy to hear you’re charmed by Araminta. Here’s what sold me: http://araminta.wordpress.com/2009/03/05/update/

      She looks like a light version of Josephine at 2!

      Hmmm, more thinking is needed apparently!

      Reply

  9. Davena
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 02:30:00

    Ottilie Alice Ghislaine – For the n/n’s mostly. Lina and Tilly I LOVE. We are have Lena/Leni on our list.

    Althought in saying that, I just read over the name, and thought I’d typed Ghastlaine, so that gives me pause.

    Pomeline Frances Elinor – Love the n/n’s, not so sure about Pomeline.

    Laetitia Amabel Violet – Love it. *sigh*

    Elspeth Margery Violet – Yum.

    Aurelia — is sadly, as mentioned before my least favourit.

    Mathilda Lucy Elanor – Love it, as well as Lila, Ruby, and Violet.

    Reply

  10. Lola
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 09:44:54

    Daveena, Ghislaine was my Great Grandmother’s second middle, so tongue twistery and visual twister it may be, it’s staying there. (and why it’s not the first name or the first middle). But yeah, I know Ghislaine’s a bit tough.

    We talked again (well, argued is more like it) and it’s, as of now, Ottilie back to second place and wildcards Henrietta, Araminta (for him), (Lucretia is moving back to 5th place) and Imogen’s going to the wildcards. Mathilda & Euphemia (for me).

    Reply

  11. Bizzy
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 17:07:53

    Susanna Ottilie Pearl – Sukie, Zuzu, Zanna
    Laetitia Amabel Violet – Lettie, Etta, Lettice
    Ottilie Alice Ghislaine – Tillie, Ottilie, Leeloo, Lina
    Araminta Lucy Violet – Minna, Mina

    This is like a dream team with Josephine! *sigh*

    Reply

  12. Bizzy
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 17:10:08

    Elspeth Margery Violet – Elsa, Elsie

    This is my honorable mention to replace the Susanna combo if I had to choose between the combos with Ottilie in them!

    I’ve also been totally cruching on Henrietta lately. What a fun name!

    Reply

  13. Lola
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 18:07:18

    Bizzy, Glad to hear Clara’s great!

    Yeah, Elspeth made the list, sounds awesome with the surname. Henrietta is my solution for honoring a Henry. I loath Harry & Hank both (like Hal, though) and refuse to consider Henry anywhere but the middle. So Henrietta was offered up as a salvo, still honors Henry but girly. And I dig her array of nicknames, which is why she’s a wildcard. But she is so fun to say aloud and like I said, those nickname options are mighty appealing!

    I really dig Susanna but dislike the ‘h’ ending version. I’m adverse to ‘h’ on the end of any name, preferring that ‘h’ in the middle or up front. Weird, I know but me.

    Reply

  14. Catherine
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 09:14:47

    Ottilie Alice Ghislaine – never heard of Ghislaine and not sure how to pronounce it, so this is off the list for me
    Susanna Ottilie Pearl – Love Susanna, not Pearl so this is off too
    Pomeline Frances Elinor – Pomeline is interesting…
    Laetitia Amabel Violet – Adore Lettice but not Leatitia, great middle names too
    Araminta Lucy Violet – Beautiful,
    Euphemia Elinor Glory – Gorgeous but Euphemia is a big name to pull off
    Elspeth Margery Violet – Prefer Elizabeth
    Aurelia Romilly Jane – Prefer Aurora
    Mathilda Lucy Elanor – Mathilda is too over done, here at least
    Henrietta Ruby Lilias – Gosh, my least favourite I think. Ruby is not my cup of tea
    Lucretia Ruby Iris – My nick name as a child was Lucretia and I adored it, but it makes me imagine a wicked story book character somehow. Adore Iris
    Jemima Frances Ruby – Gorgeous, although Ruby disappoints me at the end
    Zuleika Esme Violet – Not for me
    Zenaida Ruby Frances – Ditto
    Florence Lila Ghislaine -Florence is another beauty
    Romilly Alice Kathleen – Swap Kathleen for Catherine (!) and this is lovely.

    Araminta Lucy Violet, Euphemia Elinor Glory, Jemima Frances Ruby or my own combination of Florence Catherine Alice :0)

    Reply

    • Lola
      Mar 26, 2009 @ 09:30:53

      Thanks Catherine! Ghislaine is jees-LANE, more or less, and it was my great Grandmother’s second middle. Which is why it ends up on the list where it does. I, like my Great, Great Grandmother, think it’s a bit much for a first name but sounds so lovely, why not stick it in the middle? 🙂

      Lettice is completely unusable here in the States, Laetitia’s a family name and I could nickname her Lettice or Lettie for every day.

      Euphemia’s a bit heavy, but nicknames Effie, Mia and possibly Emma make her lighter.

      Kathleen’s my sister, which is why Kathleen’s on the list. Catherine’s lovely but far too sedate and proper for my liking! 🙂 I like Kathleen & Katharine and that’s about it.

      Zuleika & Zenaida are his names, which is why they’re here. I’ve said it before, he’s far more adventurous a namer than I. I’m learning, but it’s a slow process for me. Zuleika is the one I really love, what an awesome name with an awesome meaning (“brilliant beauty”).

      And Araminta’s combo has changed, she’s Araminta Violet Isobel now, but may be changing back now that Beatrix’s combo has changed as well.

      Reply

  15. Sebastiane
    Jun 07, 2009 @ 18:28:34

    I adore Pomeline. I have her featured on my blog as well. She is even in my top 10.

    Reply

  16. sodbusters
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 15:37:32

    Friend of mine calls Euphemia, Euphie. 😉

    Emma, Mia, Euphie, Effi, Mimi.

    It means, Of Good Report. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

