Rosamund

Alright, I can lay this infatuation at Emmy Jo’s feet, I first realised just how much I liked it after reading her “Names that Sound Like No Other” post and have been toying with the idea of Rosamund ever since. This is one of my favorite 499px-queen_eleanor__fair_rosamund         pictures, ever.  I love the imps & the cherubs!  This is the reason I cannot stand the spelling Eleanor (or Aliénor or  Éléonore as well) and prefer Elinor.  Nevermind that Elinor is family and Eleanor is not.

Fair Rosamund Clifford has been a fascination for me since I was a small child and wow, would I love to use Rosamund up front but have hit a brick wall, in terms of nicknames. I already have a Josephine, Josie and while Josephine & Rosamund look spectacular together, and while I don’t mind full names rhyming a bit, I think Josie & Rosie is a bit much. Then again, they don’t exactly rhyme. Josie is jo-see, Rosie would be rose-ee. But that’s likely to just be here, at home, even though Josie’s already taken to correcting people at school, as she did last week.  Whether she keeps that up with her peers is something I’m leaving up to her. What I’m looking for are other possible nicknames for Rosamund. Are there any? I can’t think of a single thing but then, I’m a bit brain dead at the moment.  Can anyone help?  I’d really appreciate it!  Thanks!

I have a few beginnings, not sure if it’ll go further but here they are, see if anything jumps:

Rosamund Cora, Mina
Rosamund Ivy
Rosamund Xanthe, Sophie, Oona
Rosamund Clara, Helen
Rosamund Alice, Ruby, Frances
Rosamund Viola
Rosamund Lydia
Rosamund Lucy, Pearl
Rosamund Sylvie, Tilley
Rosamund Sibyl

 

So overall, what do you think? Am I nuts?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. appellationmountain
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 16:06:22

    Okay, I’ve been planning to sit down and read all of your posts and make some meaningful comments – but I’m too far behind!

    So I’ll weigh in and say this: I like Rosamund. (And Rosemary and Rosalie.) I’m not a big fan of rhyming names like Josie and Rosie, though, so that gives me pause.

    But alternate nicknames for Rosamund are tough! Monday??? Sammie?!

    Hmmm … I like Rosamund Viola, Rosamund Ivy and Rosamund Pearl quite a bit, but I’m not sure if she’s *your* best option. Still … Rosamund Alice Ivy … Rosamund Frances Ottilie – she does sound great.

    Reply

    • Lola
      Mar 17, 2009 @ 18:02:17

      Thanks for trying Verity. I think you’ve nailed it. Rosamund is lovely but not MY best option. I can’t control what Josie goes by for much longer but I think by choosing her name, I’ve effectively eliminated any other Rose- name up front. And she’s got a Ros- in the middle too, which makes it double off limits, I suppose! *sigh*

      Reply

  2. Emmy Jo
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 20:11:52

    This is a tough dilemma!

    Rosamund could give you Roz (like the “Frasier” character), Ro, or Rosa. Of course, those all sound much more grown up than Rosie, and you might want something a bit more juvenile for when she’s, well, a kid.

    You could get Romy out of Rosamund, though I hate to suggest that you steal Abby’s other potential daughter name.

    At least Josephine doesn’t go by Posy anymore. While Josie and Rosie have the potential to sound annoyingly cutesy, Rosie and Posy would be downright ridiculous.

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 20:32:28

    Ridiculous indeed! She informed me about an hour ago that she was Effie, so while I still type out Josie, she won’t answer to it right now face to face, Josephine or Effie get her attention.

    Romy’s sweet, I was thinking of Rosemary (for a cousin) nn Romya long while ago, but Rosemary (the cousin) is only maybe 55 and I dislike copying relatives who are still around. It’s not the family thing to do and it feels weird to consider it for me.
    I say rose-a-mund, so Roz is rather unintuitive, I think.

    I didn’t know Verity was thinking of Romy for another girl! I’ll have to put that one backburner then.

    Maybe I’ll have to rethink a few combos to put Rosamud in the middle, then. I’m liking Rosamund far too much to just push her off the list!

    Thanks, Emmy Jo, you’ve given me a few things to think about tonight!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

